The story of my Favourites

Why Favourites? Why did I bring out this collection so soon after joining the NFT space? Why have I priced them the way I have? What’s the future of Kieran Stone?

https://opensea.io/collection/kieran-stone-favourites

Baobab Sunset_1.jpg

This collection was really made 2 years ago. When I thought I’d give selling prints at markets a go. Markets were never really my thing, but I’d never know unless I gave it a go. The logistics of all the market set up and design and pricing etc is a whole other story.

IMG_20191124_092546.jpg

I selected my Favourite photos and gave each one accompanying words. That selection process was not easy as I had a large selection from around the world. It took a lot of time, but I got there in the end. The selection process came down to what I personally liked, a range of my work and locations, a range of colours, shutter speeds...so many factors to consider. Everything had to stand out on its own as an individual. I curated my entire batch of work down to 20+ images.

IMG_20191011_080500.jpg

I got myself a fancy printer and fancy paper and put everything together at home. I learnt a bit about printing and ripped up anything with the slightest blemish. I even tested out the marquee setup at home to see how it would all look. I came up with a lightweight and cost effective system of Velcro dots and strips as a gallery style hanging system. I was quite proud of myself for this!

IMG_20191009_112512.jpg

The whole experience was fun. I got to chat with everyone that bought a print and overall it was a successful endeavour. With proven popularity and success IRL it was the natural choice to make it an NFT collection. I could have made a new one with all the same subject matter or colour (like waterfalls with muted colours...) but the Favourites collection was just simply "me".

IMG_20191018_152923.jpg

Why did I price them so low?
If I minted each one individually on somewhere like Foundation, I might have priced higher. As a collection I felt like I could keep the prices down. For a 1/1 print of the same photos at a large size, you'd expect to pay way more than 1ETH.

Why did I price them so high?
So they are priced higher than other photography collections. This is based on the view that photos aren’t trading cards. They are 1/1 and once they sell they're out of my control. I’m looking for collectors that want a strong long term investment, not a quick flip. I want my art to go to someone that appreciates it as art, and not as a bargain they can brag about and immediately list for something higher. I understand this style of thinking is big in the NFT space and there is nothing wrong with it, I would do it myself if I could. But that's not how I want to represent my work.

IMG_20191210_212129.jpg

The future of Kieran Stone.
I’m aiming high. I want a Stone in every home. I keep pushing my art during any time I can. Sometimes I may move slowly and other times I make big leaps, but I'm always moving forward. I’m here for the duration and I’ll make sure I don’t let anyone down that believes in my art. Because the greatest believers in my art are my family, and there is no way I’m letting down my family.

IMG_20191019_090039.jpg

favourites collection.jpg
https://opensea.io/collection/kieran-stone-favourites

Intro Post
Website kieranstone.com
Twitter @kieranstoneau
Instagram @kieranstoneau

Sort:  

The trees in the first shot are amazing. I love the architectural shapes, there is nothing even close to this in the UK. There is much energy and colour and life in this collection. Wonderful!

The Boababs of Madagascar are amazing. I felt lucky to see them!

I bet you did. They're incredible! 😀

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Interesting to hear the whys of your pricing. Super fun to see your baby growing up! Good luck getting Stone out there.

If no one wants to buy it at this price, I'll just keep working on my name until they wish they had that chance ;)