Got whitelisted on Lensy.io! First NFT

in PHOTOGRAPHY [DAC]2 years ago (edited)

I'm immensely proud to have been whitelisted as a content creator on Lensy.io (@lensy), a Hive project that I'm super excited about. It is a platform built on the Hive Blockchain, that allows photographers to mint their photos as NFT's and collectors to trade them on the digital photography marketplace that the platform provides.

I'm also beyond proud to present the first NFT in my first collection Mighty Nature, Unreal Lake Mirror that can be viewed and optionally purchased here. Only 5 copies will ever be minted.

IMPORTANT NOTICE if you are considering to purchase a copy; I intended the full resolution version to only be available to owners, but this is not the case. I made a mistake in the tokenization process, so in this particular case, anyone can download the full resolution image for free, without purchasing it.

lake1-1.jpg

My Whitelist Application / Lensy-profile

Here's the application text/biography that I sent in to get whitelisted. I think it provides relevant background to this project and why I'm doing it. I'm planning for this collection of NFTs to grow slowly and steadily. Only the photos I consider to be of the highest quality from my personal collection will be minted.

I've been taking photos since I was 10 years old. Constantly. I don't know, it's just something I do. Call it second nature. And I'm quite good at it too, in my own humble opinion.

I've been collecting them, sort of, for many years now. Only the good ones of course. The ones that looks and feels just right.

Photos of all the strange things. Things that are beautiful. All kinds of plants. I find great enjoyment in identifying exactly what their species are, and sometimes even what they can be used for, medicinally or otherwise.

I have no idea if anyone will be interested in collecting these besides myself, but you never know. I just really like the thought of turning my photo collection from years and years back (and moving forward into the future), into actual collectibles in the form of NFTs. I also really like the idea of having a permanent gallery for my portfolio. Up until now I've been using a well-known web 2.0-platform to display them, but this feels more and more off-putting.

So this is it! I'm so excited to finally have found a home for them.

Thank you for viewing/reading.
@mightpossibly

Sort:  

Deeply beautiful photo! And thank you for sharing about @lensy. #lensy is a project that I did not know about. It seems everyday there is new hive project and more to learn and follow. Which is a good thing! Also, I think the time has come for artists like yourself to move from Web 2.0 platforms that reap the benefit of your work to Web 3.0 where you are in control of your own reward.

Thank you so much <3

I'm very happy to hear that I could be the one to tip you off about this very exciting project, that I'm absolutely certain it will gain more traction/attention in the future. And I completely agree with you. It's amazing with platforms like this, that artists can finally take full ownership of their work.

Uhhhh, I like it! I was thinking about the NFTs, but creating art is not my thing whereas photography is!!! And the name is very catchy. Well done! More hivers in the future perhaps?

creating art is not my thing whereas photography is!!!

Exactly :D And thanks! I'm pretty certain this will get a lot bigger in the future. Already got plans to hang this on the wall of my futute metaverse home, hehe

An interesting idea for the NFT project. And I'm glad to see that there is an NFT project on the Hive

Hive is always the solution 😅

Thanks for telling about Lensy.io, I'd love to learn more about it. Because since I have known blockchain and crypto since 2018 until now I have always studied new things that were born.

Glad to hear it! I had a look at your blog, you've got some seriously beautiful nature macro photos in there. Gave you a follow and look forward to see more from you

That's right, I like nature. In a week sometimes I take three days specifically for hunting insects and natural mushrooms.

Three times a week, that's solid. And so good for mental health too! I don't even get out half as much lol

Yes, in the forest it is pleasant, the air is fresh. So, in addition to keeping posting consistent, the lungs are also healthy from city air pollution :)

This sounds like a really interesting project. I actually was debating how I could possibly convert the extensive amount of vintage and antique slides I find outside in the recycling into NFTs somehow, since the prior owners relinquished their ownership by discarding them. I wonder if that would fit into the lensly project at all. I've saved an entire bag of slides just in case something like this came, along, although I'm not sure if I'd qualify.

Nice photo. Were you also finishing a SPL quest from your boat or on the shore there?

That's a great idea! I'm not sure whether this would fit better at lensy.io or at the more well known sister-project, @nftshowroom. You could have a quick look into both and see what's required in the whitelist application. I guess it's all about how the project is packaged. Regardless, it should be interesting to see some samples of your collection.

Nice photo. Were you also finishing a SPL quest from your boat or on the shore there?

Thanks! Haha, I'm pretty sure that I did, yes

I'm not sure if using someone else's old photo negatives/slides would fundamentally count as an NFT if converted to digital. I'm also not sure how to prove that they are 1 of 1, etc.. Perhaps I'd just have to check into the legal side of it too if I wanted to use this idea and scale up. Thanks for the tip.