Throwback in Time

in Telokanda4 years ago


Your memories make me smile



Worries about Rowan started today a year ago

A throwback in time. Today is a year ago when Rowan first showed he wasn't feeling well. Worries about Rowan started today a year ago, and as everyone knows by now… the outcome of this story is not positive either.

A memory that made me smile

I don't want to keep repeating how great Rowan has been to me, what he has meant to me, and how much I still miss him. This will recognize anyone who has ever had to say goodbye to an animal that you have lived with, and loved for so many years.

Therefore today a memory that made me smile when I looked back at my memories on facebook.

Big wound on his butt

This was when Rowan had just had surgery. That operation was, of course, a major attack on him. He was 11 years old when he had an operation, an anesthetic is always hard for a dog and that was no different for Rowan. Luckily he got through all that well… but after the operation of course his wound was bothering him. And that wound was on his butt ... He could easily reach it himself. That was not so useful, so unfortunately Rowan had to wear such a cap to avoid licking the wound or even worse, biting.

He found a solution

But Rowan wouldn't be Rowan if he didn't find another way to get rid of the itching / irritation on his butt. He was just going to rub the bottom with his butt. What a panic caused immediately the first morning after waking up. I had thrown a bed on the floor to be with Rowan, and he had. But he'd also been rubbing my blankets very quietly on my blankets right away. The result was blood everywhere.

And a problem for me

I got a panic attack and immediately called the vet. Fortunately, it was found there that the surgical wound was still closed, but that Mr. Rowan had caused a large abrasion. And that caused the bleeding. All blankets had to be removed, and that posed a problem for me… because if I slept on the bed on the floor, Rowan would go scouring there. If I went to sleep upstairs he would not be supervised, and if I lay down on the couch, he would make every effort to get to me. In the end, everything for your dogs, so I decided to sleep with a sleeping bag on the floor. After all, Rowan has never been daring to lie on me.

No blood, happy me

This did work well, but he was still not exactly calm that night… He banged his hood into everything and we both didn't sleep very much. But no blood that morning so I was happy. On to recovery!

White blanket

That next night I threw a white blanket over Myla on the couch because she needed some warmth from a TOO cold dip in the water. And that's where it started. I wear contact lenses, but of course you don't have them in your eyes at night. Myla had thrown the blanket off her and scratched it up to lie snugly. A piece hung off the sofa and when I woke up to a sound I saw it, and thought it was Rowan. I thought he wanted to climb onto the couch to scrub and whispered “Rowan down”, no response… a stricter “ROWAN DOWN” still didn't get the response I expected. The white had to go down, and then sigh ... then I knew he would go back to sleep. A very strict ROWAN GO DOWN DAMNIT still did not provide the desired response… so now I got up off the hard floor to find, to my surprise, no Rowan there. Just a blanket flap… and two meters further a Rowan who clearly looked at me very surprised and clearly wondered who was so crazy. He or I!

We did sleep better

I gave him an extra hug and lay down next to him again. That third night we slept better in the end… Unfortunately, Rowan is gone.

But the memory of him lives on in my heart.

Sort:  

Beautiful Rowan, I know how much he means to you, how he is such a huge part of your life. He will always be there with you Hetty, keep sharing these memories. sending you love xx

Ahw thank you for your kind words. It brings tears in my eyes and a smile on my face at the same time. Yes Rowan will always be here with me... I know. And I sure keep sharing his memory. He meant the world to me.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 17 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4