You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I want to go to America?

My lamp's Genie @patriamreminisci The Chinese, whom @patriamreminisci especially loves, gave @patriamreminisci kindness and love because America is richer than China! 😆

Your sarcastic descriptions of my "delightful" days in China are always hilarious.

When @valued-customer speaks of the "war between Americans," he's not exactly wrong but he is exaggerating it a bit. America's political extremes think they are at war with each other until they go overseas and see what war actually is. Then, frankly, America's political snarling seems petty by comparison. Of course, you'll never convince an American, who thinks the fate of civilization depends on his next election, that this is the case. I remember in 2020 watching the Floyd Riots by Leftists and the anti-mask riots by Rightists and shaking my head saying "none of you idiots have a clue what you're fighting for other than 'someone told me what to do and that ain't right!' "

As to your concerns about making a living in North America, it's... well, it's complicated. If all you want is the bare necessities, it's not hard. But there's social pressure, LOTS of social pressure, to make sure you've always got the coolest phone and fanciest car and most up-to-date clothes etc. That's why a lot of Americans think they're "impoverished" when they live better than my son does in his middle-class family in the Philippines.
The other complication is "you can make good money in America, if you're willing to spend a year in Hell to make it." All the best paying jobs in America require a year or two of some form of apprenticeship (sometimes by name, like with electricians, and sometimes they don't call it that but the pay reflects it, like OTR truck driving), where you're paid peanuts and treated like dirt, before you finally start getting paid well. And even then, the best paying jobs are the ones no one wants (plumbing, and again I refer to the example of OTR truck driving). So...
In America, you can make a good living. Or, you can like your job. But doing both? Meh, that's asking too much. I left America because I always thought liking my job was more important. I'm at the point where I'll probably go back soon and become a damned truck driver, because as I get closer to the age of 40 I start to realize money is more important than job satisfaction.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Dear @patriamreminisci!
Thank you for advice!
I will reply after translating your comments in the future.
I hope your happy and health!😄