Saturday: A Multiple Sit Meditation Day!

in SpiritWeb4 years ago

A meditation day

I treated myself (quite literally) to a 'special meditative day' last Saturday. I would have posted about it sooner, but other stuff seemed more relevant. The thing about meditation is that it's timeless, so you may as well post about it any time!

20200513_165417 3.jpg

By coincidence the actual timing of the day for a meditation day was perfect - a slightly overcast day in Mid May - absolutely nothing special, perfect!

The scheudle

I got up around 6.00 a.m went for a walk, then did a 30 minute starter meditation session and then spent the rest of the day tidying the house and doing minor DIY and other physical chores.

I also did an additional two sits during the day, before meals, only of 10 minutes, but just these tiny extra 'out' periods made a huge difference.

I also spent the day mostly offline (although not the evening!)

First meditation session - I spent a lot of time thinking about Hive, according to my notes, although I can't remember about what - I guess it really doesn't matter, but reminds me that defo the online life that is distracting.

The second 10 minute session before lunch went amazingly quickly. I experienced a few waves of semi-tired fluctuating qualities of consciousness, haven't had those for a while, if you know what i mean! Hard to describe, but it's good to get back with them

Later in the afternoon I sat with a cup tea and enjoyed my newly very clean living room, not sure if that counts as sitting meditation or not?

By the third meditation session around 15.00 I was wondering whether I needed to shift to more not doing, although my doing (household chores) had kept me focused. Maybe a day of not doing is a bit next level!

By evening I folded a bit - ended up playing some Splinterlands, but I didn't get drunk like I often do on a Saturday night, so I'll call that progress!

Final thoughts

Or lack of them - less doing next time!

Sort:  

u know what! i think im going to try this tomorrow~ sounds like a great way to deal with the day.. and right now im in an apartment.. shock horror~!

congrats on staying sober.. yeah i undetstand! <3

A meditation day is always a good day, even if you only manage a morning or an afternoon!

An apartment? Must feel weird!

Thing with meditation is your ability to stay focused, I think, hence it doesn't matter whether it is achieved with activity or without.

For instance running has become my new meditation

Oh I have to disagree.... seated meditation is hardcore, it's the only way to get in touch with the shit down there.

What I call soft-meditation is a very important partner - without that general daily life focus meditation proper isn't as deep.

You need both I think. The dalai llama does full on sitting for 4 hours a day.

I think you also need the other steps of the Noble Eight Fold Path.

Of course quality of life is still improved without actual meditation, but there's something different about it for sure I think.

Not that I'm disciplined enough to do it most of the time!