The first flowers of my Cotyledon mucronata/undulata! - I primi fiori della mia Cotyledon mucronata/undulata!

in Succulent growers4 years ago (edited)

Hello,

I am very excited because one of my succulents, which I discovered to be an Cotyledon mucronata/undulata, has finally produced its first flowers!

This plant is recognized for its gray, fleshy, large and curled on the edges leaves. The leaves are covered with a light, white, powder-like hair, which should not be removed or washed off.

Being a succulent plant, it hates water stagnation. Therefore, it is good to water rarely. Personally, I leave this task to the rain. If the plant is kept indoors, however, I recommend watering every 3 weeks/1 month.

The flowers took a long time to develop, since we are now in the middle of summer and all the other succulent plants had them in the spring: never lose hope then!

I leave you with some photos that testify to this epic event.

55a.jpg

55b.jpg

55c.jpg

55d.jpg

55e.jpg

55f.jpg

55g.jpg

A hug to all plant lovers!

See you next time,

Delilha

PS
Edit: At the time of writing the post I was convinced that this plant was called Echeveria shaviana, but then @ewkaw and @nikv illuminated me on the true identity of this beauty. Epic fail lol


ITA

Ciao,

Sono molto emozionata perché la una delle mie piante grasse, che ho scoperto essere una Cotyledon mucronata/undulata, ha finalmente prodotto i suoi primi fiori!

Questa pianta si riconosce per le foglie di colore grigio, carnose, grandi e arricciate ai margini. Le foglie sono coperte da una leggera peluria di colore bianco, simile a polvere, che non va tolta o lavata via.

Essendo una pianta grassa, odia i ristagni idrici. Per cui, è bene annaffiare di rado. Personalmente, lascio alla pioggia questo compito. Se la pianta è tenuta all'interno, invece, consiglio di annaffiare ogni 3 settimane/1 mese.

I fiori hanno tardato molto a svilupparsi, dato che siamo ormai a metà estate e tutte le altre piantine grasse li hanno avuti a primavera: mai perdere la speranza dunque!

Vi lascio con qualche foto che testimonia questo evento epico.

55a.jpg

55b.jpg

55c.jpg

55d.jpg

55e.jpg

55f.jpg

55g.jpg

Un abbraccio a tutti gli amanti delle piante!

Alla prossima,

Delilha

PS
Edit: Al momento della scrittura del post ero convinta che questa pianta si chiamasse Echeveria shaviana, ma poi @ewkaw e @nikv mi hanno illuminato sulla vera identità di questa bellezza. Epic fail lol

Sort:  
 4 years ago (edited) 

Beautiful! I think that it isn't Echeveria but Cotyledon mucronata. Those flowers look like Cotyledon, not Echeveria

Oh!! You're absolutely right. I need to correct it :( I was confused by a forum discussion. Anyway, the most important thing is to find out the right name <3 thank you!

That is gorgeous! I had it, but I managed to kill it.
It is called Cotyledon undulata :)

I had it, but I managed to kill it.

What a pity! I must admit that I do not give this plant much care, no more than the minimum necessary, but it is fine. Most likely it depends on the weather conditions and a little luck. Anyway I'm studying to be a better plant mom lol

It is called Cotyledon undulata :)

Thank you very much, I need to correct it! I'm happy that I found the right name, even if I thought I already found it ahah. It can happen when you're a beginner at gardening. Thank you <3 :)

And of course thanks for the support and for passing by on my blog :)

Questi fiori sono bellissimi! I complimenti per il post, davvero ben fatto

Grazie mille :) gentilissimo!

WOW! Che bella... ma non fa per me. Penso di aver ucciso tutte le mie 5 orchidee, accipicchia.

Oh no! :( :(
Però possiamo dire a tua discolpa che le orchidee sono molto difficili, soprattutto nella fioritura... Quindi non preoccuparti eccessivamente, muoiono quasi a tutti ahah!
Grazie per essere passato sul mio Blog, alla prossima :) :)

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!