Blooming cactus - Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

in Succulent growers4 years ago

More orange flowers?
Yes!
But they are all different you know :).

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756


Aylostera Flavistyla FR756 2020 4.jpg

This small cactus can also be found under the name Rebutia flavistyla. It can be natively found in Tarija region in Bolivia. Grows on rocky slopes getting a lot of sun!
It is a rather small cactus and I noticed it likes to hide itself in the substrate. Since it is living on my balcony in the most sunny spot I suppose that is it's way to protect itself from overheating and sunburn. A thick layer or very tiny spines also create a nice protective layer.

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756 2020 9.jpg

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756 2020 8.jpg

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756 2020 1.jpg

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756 2020 2.jpg

Last year I had two small plants growing in one pot and I got about 7 flowers opening almost simultaneously. This year they had to be split as they literally broke to pot with the roots. But for some reason one didn't bloom at all, the other one (the one on the photos) had two flowers only. I wonder if it is due to repotting stress, or they don't like the new soil mix...

I am still happy to see those 2 flowers. Such bright orange (yes - different that other orange flowers I have) and light center are so pretty! The flowers stay very close to the plant creating a cute parasol. They are about 4 cm in diameter which is about the size of a cactus now :p They last a few days and the party is over. I am not sure of one didn't get pollinated and there is a small fruit forming.. will have to watch it and maybe I will have some seeds :) Sowing cacti is always fun!

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756 2020 5.jpg

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756 2020 6.jpg

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756 2020 7.jpg

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756 2020 3.jpg

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana

Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King

Gymnocalycium Brushii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana
image.png
Chamaelobivia no ID
image.png
Rebutia Albiflora
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri
image.png
Gymnocalycium damsii var. tucavocense
image.png
Notocactus Ottonis

cactus banner.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Q banner.png

»»-------------¤-------------««

Sort:  

Wowww.... This looks very vibrant. The Orange and Green combo is always catch your eyes...never seen them.before but now it looks like to have one must at home

Oh yes.. the combo is great :) And the flowers are so bright, that you see them from a distance.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 9 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
8

I like so much the shades of color of this flower of cactus. 🌵

Thank you! Me too :) It's so bright and happy.

I love this deep orange bloom.

I don't think I have ever had a cactus bloom. I haven't owned many inside, but when I lived in Texas, I bought one in a average sized pot, that grew and grew on my balcony. After several happy years, some sort of tiny white fly?.... made a colony on it and destroyed it. I didn't know they were there for the longest time.... well.... till too late.

Ohhh poor thing.
Yea, bugs love cacti! It is a constant battle for me too. Always something shows up that want to kill them.

Very nice!
I transplant cacti, even if they have buds.
And these buds are blooming.

I try to do it before they grow buds.
But when I get a new one I do it straight away.

Lovely orange petals looking like a Japanese lady in a kimono! So orderly and prim!

What a fancy comparison! :)

It just appeared in my mind!