Blooming cactus - Mediolobivia atrovirens

in Succulent growers3 years ago

Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri 2021 3.jpg

This is a 3 year old cactus grown from seed. I was so hyped about some older ones that decided to finally bloom, that I almost forgot about this little guy. And this little guy was already blooming last year at the age of two!

Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri


Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri 2021 10.jpg

Only one flower this year, just the same as last year. It last a few days only so it was a short lived joy. But I am glad. Don't think that I am not. I just cannot wait for it to grow bigger and show a nice bush of blooms!

This one is native to Bolivia and argentine and can be also found under a name Rebutia ritteri. A rather small cactus with very bright orange flowers.
I have only one like this so it better start growing some little offshoots, or fruits so I can sow another generation.

Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri 2021 5.jpg

Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri 2021 6.jpg

Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri 2021 8.jpg

Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri 2021 9.jpg

I was planning this year to actually get some cuttings from the cacti I like and make sure I have replacements. Last events just ensured me that I better do it fast. One day they are fine, 3 days later they are one.

And speaking of this one.
Do you guys (@nikv, @ludmila.kyriakou?) know why it has that yellow skin all over? I start to think that maybe I water them too little during the summer and they start to grow some kind of protective layer that prevents them from losing too much moisture. I am just a bit afraid to water too much when it is very hot in case they all cook.
Or is it a sign of some bugs?

Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri 2021 1.jpg

Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri 2021 2.jpg

The same thing happened on other types too. They grow this year normally, r at least trying. But this shell doesn't let them strech and they stay deformed.

Last year it looked like this:

image.png

Lastly just some Blurry artsy photos. Because I like them and I didn't want to just delete them. Now they gonna hang in the blockchain for eternityyyyyy....

Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri 2021 4.jpg

Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri 2021 7.jpg

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana
image.png
Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King
image.png
Gymnocalycium Bruchii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana
image.png
Chamaelobivia no ID
image.png
Rebutia Albiflora
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri
image.png
Gymnocalycium damsii var. tucavocense
image.png
Notocactus Ottonis
image.png
Gymnocalycium Friedrichii
image.png
Turbinicarpus Viereckii
image.png
Rebutia neocumingii
image.png
Notocactus Rubrigemmatus
image.png
Lobivia no ID
image.png
Sulcorebutia albissima

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

It reminds me of the corking you get on euphorbia after fungal infection but it could also be totally normal. Maybe a very close pic of crown and sides? I'll look into it.
But it also makes me think of calcium water stains

I'll take some more photos tomorrow.
I doubt it is normal though. Maybe if it was just at the bottom of the plant, but it is all over and often more intensive in the crown. The new growth seem to have hard time to get though it.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Perhaps you have thrips or red spider mites, those little buggers go for the softest parts. Go and stare at it through the strongest macro lens you have to see if anything moves and if you see any bugs, try insecticidal soap

Looks like I found some tiny mites. But only on one.
Seems that last year I didn't notice them. Dammit.

DSC_3171.jpg

Some others look like that:
DSC_3163.jpg

DSC_3164.jpg

DSC_3166.jpg

The fresh green tip is from this year.

DSC_3169.jpg

 3 years ago  

Little bastards! Best way to get rid of red spider is to mist the plants regularly, or put them in a place which has better airflow

Yeaa... nasty looking scars.
Thanks! I will mist more. The air flow is good. They all stand right near the fence where they get fresh wind.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 59 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11

Wow. What a great collection. It looks like a gardening catalogue. 😊


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Haha almost :D
Thanks!


Hey @ewkaw, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Wow, that's a very beautiful flower dear. Amazing shots, thanks for sharing. Let's hope its grows more beautifully till next year. Keep it up 😊🙏

I hope so too. I like the colour :)

wooo!!! what a lovely flower, who would have thought that those spiny plant could bare such beautiful flower..

I know, right? They look so mean.. until they bloom :)

And my cacti don't want to bloom.
What's the secret?

Cold and dry winters. They need to rest before spring.

Do you think that there is no winter in Russia? ;) We may not have summer, but winter always does. 😀
Do you have cacti growing outside?

hahah cold for them doesnt mean they want to freeze :D :D

Yes, I keep them outside all year round, but I have much milder winters (Portugal)
What they need is about 2-8 degrees C for maybe a month or three. Depends how long you can keep them like this. At the time they should be completely dry, or they will rot.
I normally stop watering mine in October and then I start around February-March when the night temperatures don't drop below 10-12 degrees.

I know that people with your climate keep their cacti outside in the garden from spring to fall. Then when the nights get cold, they store them in cellars, or some cold attics in temperatures around 5 degrees. It is enough to put them in boxes and just leave them there. When it is cold and dry they will not grow.
In spring, when it is warm enough they go outside again and start to bloom.

OOO, this is very useful information! I'll try it this winter. My employee at work had a cactus in bloom every spring. We were surprised by this. And the secret is simple! It stood on a cold windowsill in winter and she didn't water it.

Ohh see? I guess that window was enough :)
Please keep us updated and show what cacti you have.

I will try. But they are without flowers.

The beauty of small cactus. Too many beautiful blooms 🌈

Thank you :)

Oh my these are some really wonderful shots and damn you have a crazy collection of cacti 👌🏼

Crazy person needs a crazy collection :D :D