Don't do it at home

in Succulent growers3 years ago

There is this common belief that cacti and succulents love sun and heat. So the more sun we provide them, the better they will grow. Especially if we see them getting all long and pale green when kept at home in not very bright spot.

So in hope to have them all happy, we put them in a summer spot in summer and we do our thing, just to come back few days later and find pile of ashes (it is never this dramatic, but sounds cool doesn't it?)

The truth is, that yes - they do like sun and warm temperatures (most of them anyway). But the sun they are used to in nature is usually dappled. So they are protected from constant exposure by bushes, trees or rocks. Some cacti can be even found growing in leafy woods, so imagine the shade they get there.

The secret is to provide bright light with some (preferably) morning sun. Later in the day they can stay in light shade and they will be happy. Of course there are some that will handle the sun. The secret is to know which one you have.

So what went wrong here?
Well.. I am stubborn and I learn best from my own mistakes. Or I like to push my luck and see how much the plants can handle. Whatever it is. You can see the results here:

echeveria sunburn.jpg

echeveria sunburn 2.jpg

pachyphytum oviferum sunburn.jpg
Pachyphytum Oviferum

They will be fine. The bottom leaves leaves with the damage will eventually drop and there will be no sign I messed them up.

The one below is dead as dead can be though. First some summer sun, then autumn rain and that was it.
It was pretty - one of those very light blue ones. No ID, but it didn't matter.

dead echeveria.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.


separator echeveria.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 44 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

My condolences! It's a pity that it happened ...

Happens... Shame, cause I liked that last one.

See if you can remove the leaves and trim the stalk and regrow from that part.

The last one is dead. No saving there. The rest is fine :)

 3 years ago  

Oopsie!

Yea... big oopsie..

Could it be a fungal disease?

I don't think so. I just forgot them on the sun.