New Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta

in Succulent growers2 years ago (edited)

Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 7.jpg


There is this Polish online shop with a bunch of nice cacti and other succulents on sale. I keep lurking there checking what they have. This Echeveria caught my eye a while ago, but they do not send abroad so all I had left is lurking. I have never seen it in stationary shops..... until about 2 or 3 weeks ago :)

Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta


Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 9.jpg


And not just one little rosette like we can get pretty often, but a whole pot of them! All tucked together.

It is not a very big plant, not like other echeverias that grow their rosetted to a lettuce size. But it does produce ofshoots eagerly and fills up the pot this way instead.


Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 1.jpg


A regular setosa is seem very similar to my hairy pilosa where the leaves are fully covered in tiny fur. Deminuta (also found under name rundelli) seem to have hair just on the tips of the leaves, like Lynx cats :P which I find freaking adorable.


Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 4.jpg

Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 5.jpg


Looking at the photos in google I see the leaves on some shots are nice and pink. I suppose I will have to wait until winter to see that as this is probably due to lower temperatures. Many Echeverias and crosses change colours depending on temperature or sun exposure. It is always a nice feature.

My one - as it was grown in perfectly mild conditions in a nursery is this perfect light green for now.


Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 3.jpg


I bought it already with the dried up flowers, but at least I could see how it blooms and the colours. The fiery red and yellow is really nice.

The stems are already gone and it is just waiting to be repotted. I need to remove all the turf or whatever it is planted in and put it in a proper succulent mix (which is almost the same as my cactus mix). For the past days it has been slowly adjusting to the balcony light so after it is in a new pot it will join the rest of the plants.

And while at it, I will remove a few leaves and drop them in a community pot to see if this one propagated this way. Some Echeverias are very stubborn, some grow new plantlets in a bling of an eye. I'm just curious to know which one this is.


Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 2.jpg


Yes I know it is a lot of flower shots, but they very photogenic and I couldn't stop.

You can see the little leaves around the buds also have little hair. Also the flowers stems are covered in them.

Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 8.jpg

Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 10.jpg

Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 6.jpg

Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 12.jpgEcheveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 13.jpg



Here she is is. In all her furry glory.

Echeveria Setosa var. Deminuta 2022 11.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.


separator echeveria.jpg

Sort:  

And she is a beauty… stunning. Great you found her close by. Yay
The flowers are stunning 😁

She really is :) I am glad I got it.

 2 years ago  

Yay! I got one recently too, I'm looking forward to the flowers

Nice! :)
I can't wait to see the flowers actually open. They remind me the ones from E. Agavoides with colour and shape.

Hawwww.... That little plant is an "enchanting creature".... What beautiful pictures!.... The flowers are beautiful, really a beautiful thing to see in macro mode.... Thanks for sharing @ewkaw friend !...

All the little flowers look just great in macro. Especially when they are also as hairy as this one :p

Beautiful pictures, that dark side who puts in light your plants by contrast.. I love it !

The one ready too bloom, seems delicate an robust at the same time, great diversity, I need to practice more !

Next weekend, operation succulents seedlings :)

Thank you!

Next weekend, operation succulents seedlings :)

Now you're talking :D

hahaha ! 🤞🏼I hope we’ll find awesome ones :)

Wow! Enchanting. I think I have a cactus similar to this one. But I'm not sure if it's the same.

Take a photo and show :)

I entrusted my flowers to my father. :) I'll take a photo as soon as I get there.

I love the first one, I hope I can also grow that kind of cactus.

Thanks :) Fingers crossed!

it's a very beautiful cactus, what is the best price for that flower.

Thanks. The cheaper the better :p

hehehe, of course the same as me who is always looking for cheaper but good quality.😁


Happy July! It's #gardenjournal time! Write about your garden - progress, successes, failures, tips, hints, plans and dreams - to connect with other gardeners and win HIVE. 🌱

Adobe_Express_20220701_0728030.4969320563758577.png

Find us here!