hive-183841 cross-posted this post in Succulent growers 3 years ago


[ENG/ESP] Cactus San Pedro, alguien muy importante en mi jardín. / Cactus San Pedro, someone very important in my garden.

in OCD3 years ago

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-1.png

Como andan mis queridos amigos Hivers?!!

Espero que hoy tengan un ratito para conocer sobre alguien muy importante en mi jardín😁.

Pues les estoy hablando de San Pedro!

No, no es un santo ni una persona! Simplemente es un cactus, una de las especies más imponentes al mundo!

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-16.png

How are my dear friends Hivers? !! I hope you have a little while today to learn about someone very important in my garden😁.

Well, I'm talking about San Pedro!

No, he is not a saint or a person! It is simply a cactus, one of the most imposing species in the world!

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-15.png

Es un cactus muy común en todo el Sud America.

Su nombre científico es Echinopsis Pachanoi.

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-3.png

It is a very common cactus throughout South America.

Its scientific name is Echinopsis Pachanoi.

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-5.png

Su forma es columnar y presenta de cuatro a ocho costillas.

La característica principal y por la cual llama tanto la atención es su impresionante altura que puede llegar a medir hasta los 6 o 7 metros de altura con varias ramificaciones.

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-6.png

Its shape is columnar and has four to eight ribs.

The main characteristic and for which it draws so much attention is its impressive height that can reach up to 6 or 7 meters in height with several branches.

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-8.png

Yo tengo la fortuna de tener tres ejemplares de esta especie.

Tienen que saber que muy pocas veces en mi vida e comprado plantas.

Aunque no lo crean o por ahí para alguien no quede muy lindo, la mayor parte de mis plantas las recogí de la calle de gente que las había arrojado aunque estas estaban en perfectas condiciones.

Bueno, en mi pueblo había un ejemplar de San Pedro en el patio trasero de una casa, tan, pero tan alto y ramificado que se veía de lejos y cuando florecía era un espectáculo observarlo al pasar. Todo el mundo lo admiraba.... o casi.

Pues un día esa vieja casa abandonada se vendió y empezaron a restructurar.

Como siempre a la mañana temprano, yo cargo mi cochecito ( fiat vivace) con la mercadería de prepizzas y panificados que fabricamos, y salgo a repartir a los comercios del pueblo.

Cuando de repente pasando por esa vieja casa veo sobre el costado de la calle, una montaña de pedazos de cactus. Lo habían cortado en mil pedazos con una motosierra.😱

Yo sabía que los cactus pueden crecer por esquejes pero estaban verdaderamente demasiado cortado y mal. Además no tenía lugar en el coche.

Me fui a repartir triste y a la vuelta cuando pasaba por ahí justo estaban los chicos con el camión que recolectan la basura y al verme parada a observarlos entendieron enseguida que me hubiera gistado mucho llevarme un pedazito.

Uno de ellos ya había seleccionado algunos tronquitos sanos y menos dañados porque también èl se llevaba alguno y entonces me cargó 4 en mi coche.

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-9.png

I am fortunate to have three specimens of this species.

You have to know that very few times in my life I have bought plants.

Believe it or not, or for someone it is not very nice, most of my plants were collected from the street by people who had thrown them even though they were in perfect condition.

Well, in my town there was a specimen of San Pedro in the backyard of a house, so, so tall and branched that it could be seen from afar and when it flourished it was a spectacle to observe it as it passed. Everyone admired him ... or almost.

Well one day that old abandoned house was sold and they began to restructure.

As always, early in the morning, I load my pram (fiat vivace) with the prepizzas and bakery goods that we manufacture, and I go out to distribute to the shops of the town. When suddenly passing by that old house I see on the side of the street, a mountain of pieces of cactus. They had cut it into a thousand pieces with a chainsaw.

I knew that cacti can grow from cuttings but they were truly too cut and bad. It also had no place in the car.

I went to deliver sad and on the way back when I was passing by there were the boys with the truck that collect the garbage and when they saw me standing to observe them they immediately understood that I would have been very excited to take a little piece.

One of them had already selected some healthy and less damaged logs because he also took some and then he loaded me 4 in my car.

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-2.jpg

Enseguida los planté en unos tarros de lata que tenía y ahí los dejé esperando que echaran raíces.

Las semanas pasaban y los cactus seguían siempre verdes. Tenía miedo que de un momento a otro empezaran a secarse.

En cambio florecieron!!!😍

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-2.png

I immediately planted them in some tin jars that I had and left them there waiting for them to take root.

The weeks passed and the cacti were always green. I was afraid that from one moment to the next they would start to dry out.

Instead they flourished !!! 😍

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-4.png

Que belleza, y que grandes flores!

Salían una detrás de otra. Sus flores son nocturnas y duran solo una noche.

Un espectáculo!!

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-7.png

What beauty, and what great flowers!

They came out one after another. Its flowers are nocturnal and last only one night.

A show!!

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-16.png

Después del periodo de floración empezaron a crecer con una velocidad increíble.

Tuve que sacarlos de los tarros y ponerlos en el terreno.

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-11.png

After the flowering period they started to grow with incredible speed.

I had to take them out of the jars and put them on the ground.

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-13.png

Uno se lo regalé a mi papá. Así que ahora tengo tres guardianes en mi jardín.

El más grande ya será alto como dos metros y medio y le crecieron tres columnas más a la base.

Yo los llamo sus hijitos.

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-14.png

I gave one to my dad. So now I have three guardians in my garden.

The largest will already be eight feet tall and three more columns have grown at the base.

I call them his little children.

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-12.png

Amigos, espero que hayan disfrutado de este ratito juntos.

Les mando un abrazo virtual a todos ustedes!

A la próxima, chau!!

06.-Cactus-San-Pedro-5.png

Friends, I hope you have enjoyed this little time together.

I send a virtual hug to all of you!

Next time, bye !!

hive wallpaper-personalizado-fin-post-750x422.png