hive-183841 cross-posted this post in Succulent growers 4 years ago


The Appealing Mystery Of A Cactus

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Cactus.png

The Appealing Mystery Of A Cactus ..

When it comes to a cactus plant, there is just something that appeals to my senses. No, I am not talking about the sense of touch and the moment one wishes they wouldn't have placed the tip of their finger to the tiny splines. Rather, I am speaking of the visual beauty and mystique that lies beyond the sense of touch.. a mental zen if you will. It really is undeniable and deserves the respect and attention it longs for.

IMG_2700 2.JPG

I am fond of taking photographs of my cacti on occasion when the conditions are right and their beauty is "speaking" to me. Sometimes the morning light shines through our open windows and into a space where our cactus plants live. It's at those moments that I can see the hard outlines of the plants soft skin silhouetted against the wall. Tiny, sharp splines protrude outward to fend off any foe. I can almost see the wrinkles of time embedded in her towering statue like form.

IMG_2695 2.JPG

No matter where your opinion lies on the cactus plant, It's hard to deny the visual mystery that surrounds them. It may just be a mystery that I never do solve. For now I will admire her from afar, behind man made digital equipment, and with little risk of impalement. I will study her movement, texture, color and light, waiting for the perfect moment. Moments that beckon to be documented and preserved, or so I think. With the light touch of my finger to the shutter release of the camera, I hear a click and my adventure begins.

IMG_2693 2.JPG

Okay.. Enough Of The Fluffy Stuff ..

I never said I was a terrific writer, but I believe I am getting better at that with each post. Really the purpose of this post was to share with you a little something that was going on with one of our cactus plants. It was growing a flower bud and wanted to bloom.

IMG_7216.JPG

IMG_7213.JPG

IMG_7214.JPG

IMG_7215.JPG

We watched the bloom grow over the next several weeks. It started off as a tiny little thing, only about an inch long, and eventually growing to about 6 inches in length.

IMG_2698.JPG

IMG_2696.JPG

IMG_2697.JPG

IMG_2699.JPG

IMG_2688.JPG

IMG_2690.JPG

Everything was looking good, then the unfortunate happened. The flower began to wilt before it had a chance to open. The stem started to turn brown, with the rest shortly following suit.

IMG_2704.JPG

IMG_2730.JPG

One morning following the disappointing observations, I came to find the bloom turned entirely brown and fell to the floor below. This particular cacti is a cutting from a much larger plant, that eventually died. Before it's life had expired, It produced several blooms; beautiful white to light green petals that appeared as thin as silk. The flowers would open and close, late at night to early morning, for several days before eventually wilting away. I have faith that this plant will bloom again someday.

For now we will just have to sit and wait, admiring the beauty of the cactus as she is; A statement of mystery and of enchantment.

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

IMG_E3230 3.JPG

“The east says it's dawn

My mouth speaks a yawn
My bed clings to me and begs me to stay
I hear a work song
Say winter is long
I peel myself up and then make away”
― Shannon Hale, Princess Academy

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocdb, @art-venture, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @theluvbug, and @helpie - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png