Blooming my Eriosyce Napina

in Succulent growers3 years ago (edited)

I really like this cactus.
He comes from South America.
The name of this cactus has changed several times.
But I will call him Eriosyce Napina.

This cactus is difficult to care for.
Especially in watering, which depends on air humidity, temperature, lighting, ventilation, soil composition, pot size.

I came across Eriosyce Napina by chance, when I visited a plant nursery, he was alone and in such a deplorable state: half-dead or half-dead, as you like.

For a while I looked at him in hesitation: to buy or not?

I like not only the Eriosyce cactus itself, but also its flowering, also the fact that it is practically not sold in flower shops, and the fact that it is very much appreciated by collectors, this all played a role in my decision.

Having brought it home after 2 days, I transplanted it.
It is a pity that I didn’t take a picture of its roots, I didn’t think.
You need to be very careful with the roots so as not to damage.
Its root is turnip, so the pot will need a deep one.

The cactus itself was quite hard to the touch, I even doubted that it was alive.

Eriosyce Napina changes its color in direct sunlight from brownish-greenish to blue-purple.
Under normal lighting, its color ranges from ash-white and gray-greenish to brown-red, chocolate and, less often, violet-black.

During the period of activity, it can bloom several times.
Can open up to 15 buds at the same time, mine opened 7.
But I am very happy about that, too. I did not count on its flowering at all, I doubted even that it would survive!
When the flower is fully opened, its diameter reaches 4 cm.

Eriosyce Napina grows very slowly, so you can change the pot and the soil in it every 3-4 years.

The photos I were taken with a Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70L tablet

IMG_20210306_123751.jpg-30.jpg

IMG_20210306_123811.jpg-75.jpg

IMG_20210306_123811.jpg-30.jpg

IMG_20210306_123751.jpg-105.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful cactus flowers! 😊

 3 years ago  

Beautiful, it's great when the neglected plants succeed :)

Many thanks!
I will wait when it becomes more beautiful :-)

So soft and pretty... glad you saved it! :)

Yes, thanks a lot! :-) @ackhoo Thanks a lot for your support!

You're very welcome, @ludmila.kyriakou! :)

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

@ackhoo and @qurator Thanks a lot for your support!

😊👌

Wow! Such sweet flowers! They would be delicious in my salad bowl! Hahaha.