My Astrophytum CAPUT-MEDUSAE

in Succulent growers4 years ago (edited)

Astrophytum stellate Astrophytum asterias Latin name Echinocactusasterias.
This is my second Astrophytum CAPUT-MEDUSAE.
I was very glad that I was able to buy it, as it is very rare (at least with us)
The first one did not survive for me.
Maybe I made a mistake in caring for him, or maybe because I did not transplant him ...

Therefore, having brought the second home, I immediately began to transplant it.
The cactus should be transplanted carefully, trying not to damage the root system, as new roots grow with difficulty.
Add sand, brick chips and eggshells to the soil for Astrophytum CAPUT-MEDUSAE.
But I only added sand and some charcoal.

The homeland of Astrophytum CAPUT-MEDUSAE is the semi-desert of Mexico, it grows up to 19 cm.
Its stem is colored light green, densely covered with gray specks.

It grows very slowly, but blooms very early.
Long bloom, from spring to late autumn.

The flowers are large, up to five centimeters in diameter and in length, located on small tubercles.
Sometimes flowers are interspersed with red.
Flowers usually wilt after 2-3 days.
The flowers have a very pleasant aroma.

Astrophytum tolerates high temperatures well in summer.

Watering is desirable from the bottom.

The photos I were taken with a Lenovo TAB 2 A10-70L tablet

IMG_20190915_173919-40+.jpg

IMG_20190915_172628-40.jpg

IMG_20190915_172633-110.jpg

IMG_20190915_173919-40.jpg

IMG_20190915_174118-40.jpg

IMG_20190915_174331-140.jpg

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Wow! I never knew those existed

I have been looking for this astrophytum for a long time.
The first time I saw him was in a private collection.
I am very interested in rare cacti.
But, of course, it also depends on their price.
When I become a millionaire, then I will not think about the price! :-)))
Blooming Astrophytum CAPUT-MEDUSAE photos from the Internet:
Astrophytum caput medusae.jpg

Astrophytum caput medusae-2.jpg

Wow tat is a weird looking one!
Did it bloom for you?

Did not make it.
She started making a bud.
Then a very small caterpillar attacked her.
I didn't see her right away.
And my Astrophytum almost died.
I hope so.
He wilted, I tried very hard to save him. Now (it seems) a very small process appeared.
I will try.
I cannot find the name of this caterpillar. I've already sprayed my plants. Since I find them almost every day and they have already eaten several of my plants :-(
I took a photo.
Blooming Astrophytum CAPUT-MEDUSAE photos from the Internet:
Astrophytum caput medusae.jpg

Astrophytum caput medusae-2.jpg

Wow very pretty!!
Good luck with your one.

Many thanks!
I will try very hard.
I've been looking for her for several years :-)

This plant is a dancer! I hope this one will grow very big!

I also really, really hope!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @solominer & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server!

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!