The Postman Always Rings Twice

in Succulent growers3 years ago (edited)

The Postman always rings twice.jpg

And that is how it was that day. The day when the babies arrived. The atmosphere of that Monday morning was not the best one as I was struggling with my second day of migraine-nausea condition. Writing a long post, organizing the afternoon schedule and thinking about what to prepare for the lunch didn't help to be better either. I had to concentrate, not to be distracted by the sound of ringing, so my husband opened after the doorbell made its music. It was the postman, delivered a car crane. My husband ordered it because a tire on our car had recently punctured, so while he was putting on a spare tire, he saw that the crane was not the best, just in case he bought another one. That arrived, he picked up the package, I kept writing. But that bell again signalled that someone wanted to come in or had something for us to hand over. And then I knew, I clearly knew, that is the package for me!!

IMG_20210426_125353.jpg

I left my work and picked my package, which was travelling exactly for one week. Oh, do you know how happy I was? I left everything and started to unbox the treasure. And it was a treasure packed and sent with so much dedication and love. First, there were some small packets of newspapers, organized with perfection in that box. And not just that. Each one was sealed with care. Look here:

IMG_20210428_104327.jpg

Carefully, I placed them on the table on the balcony, and was excited about opening them.

IMG_20210428_104409.jpg

I opened the first newspaper pack. Oh my, my first impression was: They are babies!! When you see when the babies are born and covered in this way, only to have their heads sticking out. I had the same feeling watching these rolls of cactus. I called them Elmo babies ❤️

IMG_20210426_125649.jpg

Following the procedure, I opened each one and the result was a lot of plant babies covered in the same way. The roots were wrapped in napkins to protect them. Only this one plant that was not packed was only with a small root, the others all already had larger roots.

IMG_20210426_125750.jpg

Unfortunately, I had to go back to finish my writing and go to work, so after coming home I get prepared to put the plants into the pots and soil. I was prepared...yes...there were a lot of plastic pots waiting for them. It means a lot of other killed plants who lived there before..? No, better to think that those which occupied before them, now are lot bigger so needed bigger pots. Let us stay with this version.

IMG_20210428_105048.jpg

The first two plants I planted got small clay pots, just for their size. They fit well. The first is the jelly plant, officially Haworthia Cooperi, and this post is where everything started. Those jelly plants were looking for new home. I thought it was just a joke, but that lady was serious in her intention to send them!

IMG_20210426_201004.jpg

The next which got a new home was Echeveria Runyonii, and the same kind of small pot was found for it. I suppose they will both grow it out in near future, so I will move them to bigger ones, but at the moment I felt they are nice in these grey small ones. Let us hope they will grow, if not, I will be in trouble.

IMG_20210426_202315.jpg

I could not take a photo of every step, but I was choosing posts for plants that I had. Those are a bit bigger plastic pots than they would maybe need now, but I wanted to give them soil and water as soon as possible after that long trip. I finished that evening the planting and I was calm. They will be good. I gave them water after and said them good night :))

IMG_20210426_204043.jpg

The first night they slept well, I checked on them in the morning, all were there, all alive. Good. I wanted to buy them nicer clay pots so the search for them started. I couldn't find some smaller, nice ones, so they are of different colours and size, but ok, they don't have to be uniformized right?

IMG_20210427_142014.jpg

Only the small snowball cacti stayed just in plastic pots, there were not so small decorative posts for them. According to their real mom, their official name is Notocactus mueller-melchersii, but I will still call them Elmo cacti, as they are now my adopted children. I have to take care of all of them now, no plant shall die with me!!!

IMG_20210428_092707.jpg

Jelly plant taking first morning sunbathing:

IMG_20210428_092323.jpg

Stapelia variegata also taking a bit of morning sun, although I was adviced not too much sun for it:

IMG_20210428_092526.jpg

IMG_20210427_142054.jpg

IMG_20210427_141807.jpg

IMG_20210428_110007.jpg

Kalanchoe Lucky Bells, lost a number of leaves while travelling, but the green ones are good, it will be great. I put them together, I could put the tiny stems separated as they all had roots, but at the moment they are together, like in a kindergarten.

IMG_20210428_105831.jpg

So in total, 7 different types of plants arrived at me, to take care of them, to love them and be a good new succulent mom. They will be good, as I will try my best not to bring sorrow to @ewkaw, who is actually responsible for the sending of them. Thank you so much for sending them, for your careful packaging and checking out the tracking number if they arrived, lol. 50% of this post is going your way, to help at least a little bit with the shipping fee.

IMG_20210427_142352.jpg

I am required to write a post when they grow, so pray mipiano, pray, they can grow without any loss.

P.S. I received one cat hair too, so if not Suzi in her full size, at least one hair that I got :))))

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Congratulations. You have just started an addiction :) Don't worry, help is at hand, people will always give or send you new plants 🌵🌵🌵

Hahah thanks 😁 oh,nooooooo, a new addition 😱🤣 Although a very very nice one :)

I already had some succulents, and the big aloe vera that was saved from death thanks to the help from here, but yes, now those babies have special attention!

And thank you for your support and extra curation 🙌💚

 3 years ago  

Pleasure! I love enabling succulent growing :)

Ohhh!! <3
They are looking awesome! I am sure they will be supper happy in new home.

And I really like those little grey pots :)

Suzi was helping to pack them 😂

Hopefully they will be, at the moment I am checking on them every time I can 😁

And thanks again 🙏💚
I will see if I can manage to have some more sandy soil for the cacti :)

@tipu curate 🌵

Rozku, thank you 🌵🌵🌵🌵🌵

Elmo plants! {LOL}

I received one cat hair too, so if not Suzi in her full size, at least one hair that I got

Must have been the biggest surprise of all ;)

Elmo cactus name (for me it is now the official name of it) comes from this post:

https://peakd.com/hive-183841/@ewkaw/snowballs

:D

Must have been the biggest surprise of all ;)

It was :) but I asked for the cat :D and got one hair of it. Fair enough, as maybe it was really meant to plant it too. Unfortunately, lost it during the process of unboxing and choosing the pots for succulents 🤷🏻‍♀️

🤣🤣🤣

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Están Hermosas!!! 🥰

Oh? Seeing that you have green fingers, plant the cat hair and grow a cat 🤣

Only joking and we are lucky as the cacti and succulents grow wild here in out garden.
South Africa is one of the biggest succulent and cati biomasses in the world.

Good luck with your plants and I am sure that they will grow well. a great thing is that they do not require a lot of care.

Blessings and !BEER

plant the cat hair and grow a cat 🤣

Hahaha, that would be purrfect 😅

A lot of succulents are growing here too, the climate is probably that they like. Not the same maybe growing wild and in a pot, but I will play them some music 🎶 so they will be special plants. 😁

Hahaha, so you will grow dancing succulents. Not a bad idea at all as they will like your music 😜

Have a great weekend my friend,
!LUV

Hahah, I hope that they will like it. :)
Have a great weekend you too Zac 🎶🎶🎶

Thank you and all blessings to you.

Hi @mipiano, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @papilloncharity. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Вау, які гарні кактуси! Я б собі хотіла теж такі! 🌵🌵🌵

Hey @darine.darine, how nice to see you! How are you?

Yes, the cacti are so cute and the succulents too, I hope they will grow well :)

I'm OK. I think they should grow well because cacti have endured plants.

They can survive even with me 🤣🤣

Hopefully 😁


Hey @mipiano, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.