My cactus flower should open any time now

One of my cactus growing in a basket has formed two flowers.. it had a third but appears it fell off early on. But two appear to be really growing and should be opening soon. It's already been a month since I noticed them forming. Some of the slowest growing flowers out there.
20210504_122804.jpg

Seeing all the spines on it makes it tell me it does not want to be touched and is probably quite fragile.

20210502_131538.jpg

Glad to see its flowering. This cactus has not shown much growth so seeing it bloom helps me feel it's doing good.

20210502_131650.jpg

I wonder if this cacti will put on new growth once it blooms and the flower is done growing. Maybe I will get little cactus fruits, or maybe just seeds.

20210502_131546.jpg

My ghost succulent has flowered for the first time. But it's not my first sucullent to flower. That would goto my Sedum Autumn Joy.

20210502_131601.jpg

Good to see two plants in the baskets flowering. One of the cactus and one of the sucullents. I wonder which one will be next to flower.

20210502_135055.jpg

Some of the other cacti are not flowering but they are growing. New paddles forming on many of the prickly pear in the baskets.

20210502_135108.jpg

The Optunia Fragilis has new growth as well. Though its growing into the coconut choir. Hope it wont rot or otherwise I'll need to cut off the part growing that direction.

20210502_135046.jpg

This succulent seems like it's going to produce more leaves soon. It formed a thight cluster after winter was over.

I will post pictures when the cactus indeed flowers. Could be a few days or even a week or so. But really looking forward to seeing it open.

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

They are looking good!
They make us wait for so long and the few days of blooming and that's it :p
Worth the wait though!

Hehe so true. Maybe it will bloom at night.. not really sure. But I am ready when it does.

How beautiful!

Thanks alot

Cactus flowers can be so damn beautiful. 🌵

Sure can be.. cant wait for mine to bloom

 3 years ago  

The spring growth is looking very good. I'd never try cacti and succulents in coir baskets in my climate but it's clearly working well for you

Hah yeah I was worried about the coir but so far it's been working for me. We shall see if they have issues in the future with it.