DashOutSunday - Ramen and Some Caribbean Treats

in ReggaeJAHMlast year (edited)

3A6716DC-1642-4878-900A-7918EEF46DA1.jpeg

Adding a paste of garlic and pepper to flavor the soup.

Hi Hivers and members of the @ReggaeJahm community.
I hope you all had a great week. This week in particular was a little lighter than usual for me. My students had exams so I had a little time “out of the classroom”. I had several errands to run. If not careful, at such times, I can end up being even busier than usual. Going into the weekend however, I enjoyed a lovely bowl of ramen and my Saturday afternoon lit up🔥🔥 when I received a package of Caribbean goodies. Believe me when I say I didn’t hesitate to pop the box open and get started. Stay with me as I tell you more and share visuals of the delights.

2723C6E3-4DEE-4545-87D8-D5F6DB9707EB.jpeg
The ramen set was a good one. It had lots of vegetables. There was a serving of gyoza 🥟 (fried dumplings). Soy and miso sauces were provided for the dumplings. To that plate I added a small bit of of garlic and pepper paste and a bit of sliced ginger (colored pink).
F9F267F2-C978-4DCE-8EE6-05BCDCB14B97.jpeg
Regular ramen size
BC7B6729-72DD-4BE6-8787-BFB9AFA8FCEF.jpeg
Slice(s)of pork
C637480D-E812-43DC-95F3-20C08FCF6AE7.jpeg
Small strips of carrot

Temperatures here in Japan dropped over the past few days. Winter has certainly arrived. A warm bowl of ramen is a great meal for the stomach at this time. The meal was quite delicious and filling. I actually had to get the dumplings wrapped for take out.

Caribbean Delights

Patty

31F2F9FE-527E-4AA2-B5D0-10908CA751F6.jpeg

EAA9B6C8-7547-48DF-B71B-285F71DE2915.jpeg
Jamaican style meat pies

Anyone who has been to Jamaica, has a Jamaican friend, lives near to a Jamaican or Caribbean neighborhood, should know, has eaten or heard about patties. Yes, it’s a meat pie. Yes, it’s similar to empanadas but for a Jamaican, there’s something special about the word “patty” itself.
We were expecting the package. When our door bell rang, I rushed to the door. I was quite expectant. Shortly after collecting it and without sitting, I opened the box and saw the frozen patties. Though I’ve ordered patties before, it was our first time to get this type. The package gave a true Jamaican, caribbean, reggae-ish vibe.
3FF0F70E-CE47-41FE-8FFF-75C3C051D8E8.jpeg
0CEF3F49-5FB5-4C15-A570-3300C1DA68E5.jpeg
6C82BACC-4096-4DCC-AB6B-363925E4FC03.jpeg
It was slightly overdone in the toaster oven but was still flaky and tasty.

I noticed “spicy” on the package and wondered whether my kids would have been able to handle it. There was one way to tell. I put a few in the microwave and then the toaster oven. It was a little bit spicy but the kids enjoyed it and asked for more. The flaky crust, well-seasoned meat, the rareness of having such a treat stimulated my taste buds and took me right back to my days at elementary school when I’d often order a patty for lunch. I seriously had a nostalgic moment. In Jamaican terms, “Di patty a occur! It wicked! It shot”. In other words, they were very delicious.
Each patty had 370 calories. Hmm…quite high I thought but what a lovely treat. 😂

Malta

D8276887-8138-4822-954A-FE0F42542FD8.jpeg

A5440004-A00A-4667-A475-9167497ED86C.jpeg

Malta (a malted, non-alcoholic beverage) is one of my all-time favorites. It’s maybe our second or third time locating it or something similar in Japan. It was quite refreshing and heartwarming.

Plantain Chips

1DF2844B-DABD-4A37-A17B-334681D1109B.jpeg

9F444C39-19C4-4411-B205-63415B379A46.jpeg
Front side of the package
575612C2-7FB3-45C8-8819-CE60A63DEEE0.jpeg
Opposite side of the package

The chips were crispy and delicious. Growing up, it was more common to have banana chips as snacks but plantain chips were also commonly eaten. One of my kids had just a few pieces but we all enjoyed the lovely treat. We thought about leaving some for a later date but that plan did not work out well. Lol

It was an Irie weekend.
What’s your favorite Caribbean or Jamaican treat?
What Jamaican or Caribbean treat do you crave?
Thank you for reading my post. Have a great week. 😃

Sort:  

Yay, enjoying Saturday and ramen :)
That is definitely a good weekend then!

I have never tried that patty, but empanadas yes. Well, it is quite popular here in Spain, empanadas, and in so many versions.

 last year  

😃Good weekend indeed. I love empanadas. What are the most popular versions in Spain?
Thanks for stopping by. Have a great week. 🎶

The most popular is tuna empanada. And tomato. There is also with onion but I don't really like that one.

 last year (edited) 

Okay interesting. Tuna and tomato must be good. Traditionally beef patties were/have been most common. Now there’re many varieties. Now, chicken, soy, vegetable,seafood and so on are widely available.

Really, it has suddenly turned cold. Plus it has been raining and very cold in Tokyo since yesterday and I don't want to go outside❄️
This is the first time I have heard about Patty. It looks very tasty😍

 last year  

We had a little rain in Kobe yesterday evening. I didn’t feel like going out this morning but had to fight it. Haha!! I took out my heavier jackets just this morning too. 🤣😂At first I couldn’t locate them but had to because the temperatures now seem steadily low.
Patties are really tasty. I love the flaky crust.
Have a lovely day. 😃🎶

Congratulations @fruityfruitz! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 3
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 last year  

😃Thank you. I hadn’t realized it was my birthday.

Happy Hive Birthday @fruityfruitz
🎉🎈🎂🎉🎈

 last year  

untitled.gif

Hehe 😂

 last year  

😂Have a great day. 🎶

Glad we could remind you @fruityfruitz

BTW, your support for our current proposal has been much appreciated but it will expire soon!
May we ask you to renew your vote for our proposal so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248

Thank you!

 last year  

untitled.gif

Dear @fruityfruitz,
May I ask you to review and support the new HiveSQL Proposal so we can keep it free to use for the community?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner

Thank you!

 last year  

Completed. 😃
Have a great day. 🎶

Thank you for your support @fruityfruitz, really appreciate it! 👍
Have a great day too.

 last year  

😃Thanks for your support as well.

untitled.gif