Sort:  

Hello @justinparke
What a life experience, reading you makes me think that life has strange purposes for each one of us, things in the world are changing, but I am afraid that not necessarily for a better life, with less borders and limitations, but rather for a world in which politics tries to limit everything with superfluous excuses. But as you say, we may at some point find that point in the world where consciences are not so corrupted, and being and knowing are valued more than having.
Blessings to you and your family.


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Give thanks for the kind words. I know you are in a tough situation as well my friend. We just have to do research to see where a better place for us may be. If Cambodians were eligible for Colombian visas, we'd be there with you my friend. For now Ethiopia looks very promising. It has a cost of living similar to Cambodia, delicious food, and an most importantly, an economy not in freefall.

Things are getting tighter here. I had to get permission and a written note from the Western Union agent which allowed me to go to a nearby Cambio and exchange for the "proper rate," whatever that is. Inflation is at an all-time high, a year ago 8 Suriname dollars were equal to 1 US dollar, but now the exchange is 18.50 to 1. This would actually be great for us if the shops hadn't increased prices by 200% to 600%. !ENGAGE 40


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Give thanks @thekittygirl and @innerblocks, truly blessed. !ENGAGE 15


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

This post is deeply inspiring and also chokes me up. I will stop feeling sorry for myself. You and your amazing, loving and talented family teach me how to have strength.

Well, don't get too choked up, we were clowning around and having a good time there regardless. We have a feeling we are stranded here because it is our duty to find us a nation, and more and more I-thiopia beckons. Maybe only Zion will take us now, but still there is some unfinished business in Suriname. !ENGAGE 15


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

That’s a grim view but a great reminder that is one life. A graveyard for fresh air? How the kids feel being there? At least they will not fear life or death.

Your daughters have the global mindset, this visa and passport thing really put up some walls around the world that separate and complicate but make Babylon great ( Australia tief $200 from me in visa fees and I didn’t get a visa, the amount of poor people that happen too)

I think your US fam and friends would have come to Cambodia eventually, its more exotic, but what do I know 🤷🏾‍♂️.

Lose everything to know Jah, it sound like you literally living out Vaughn's words. The song is heavy conscious.


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Ecuador had tons of public parks and free spaces, but they are almost non-existent in Suriname unless you have your own car. Suriname is certainly no place for a pedestrian. Cambodians are so used to death it doesn't even phase them. Most rural Cambodian kids have washed a dead ancestor's body in preparation for a funeral, so they are well aware of the cycle of life.

I remember seeing tons of backpackers with wallets full of cash in Cambodia. I would ask them where they got their funds, and it was always working on an Australian farm for a year. Apparently there was a special working holiday visa, but by the time I researched it, I discovered there was a 30-year-old age limit, and I was 34 when I discovered that, big bummer.

Because of the genocide and Vietnam War, too many rednecks that fought in Vietnam have only bad things to say about SE Asia, especially Cambodia. I tried for 10 years to lure a visitor, but it never manifested. It was frustrating to see young kids who'd only been in Cambodia for a half a year have their parents come visit for a month. I guess that is the difference in being from California vs Kentuckiana.

Give thanks for the visit and support @dmilliz. !ENGAGE 55


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Another song that might give you some comfort is "If Jah is by My Side" by Tony Rebel:

If Jah is by my side
I won't tired, no I won't tired
If Jah is standing by my side
Then why should I be afraid
Of a pestilence that crawleth by night

I do wish the best for your family. Your love seems to be strong enough to conquer all the dragons that fly towards you. Blessings to all of you! ❤️

Tony Rebel is classic, my favorite tune from him is the "Nazarene Vow." We've started from scratch so many times in life it's nearly our wheelhouse now, and we no longer fear it. Thanks for the positive vibes @thekittygirl. !ENGAGE 50


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.