Booze, Bacon and Bitterness πŸ₯’ #DashOutSunday

in ReggaeJAHM β€’ 3 years ago

1606163648342.jpg


On Saturday night we did something we haven't done in a long time. And that's going to a bar at night. A friend of ours is moving to the Netherlands so that was kind of a "until the next time" get-together. It was a good night, obviously, alcohol being involved and all. We even stayed a bit over the curfew of 10 PM, but it seems the police force is not upholding these so-called rules in any shape or form. But I wasn't taking any chances, so I took a checkpoint free route on my way home. I'm somewhat of a "criminal" myself sometimes, I guess. πŸ˜‚


To combat any possible signs of hangover fever, we made sure to have a hearty and filling breakfast. After that it was a bitter Sunday. No, nobody was mad, the vegetables were literally of the bitter kind. We had a gourd-like vegetable locally called "Sopropo", better known to the world as Bitter Melon. I bought about six from the lady at the family farm around the corner. I actually wanted just one batch of 3, but she gave me a deal if I took the second and last batch as well, so of course I did. Well played lady.
Along with the Sopropo went pieces of smoked fish which we pre-shredded a week ago when got it from my mom.



Dash Out!


Let's start with breakfast! Bacon doesn't need any explanation. :)

1606163648337.jpg

I mean, look at that beauty. Can't go wrong with that.
Sincere apologies to any vegetarians watching though. πŸ˜…

1606163648329.jpg

An egg fried in the bacon fat, a leftover Indian snack called 'Barra' and some leftover white beans in tomato sauce complete the full breakfast. :)

1606163648322.jpg


The Sopropo or Bitter Melon has to be cleaned first. We didn't take a before picture, but google is full of those if you're interested. After removing the insides that are the bitter part, we just cut them into half slices which are then ready for cooking.

1606163648371.jpg

Of course we cleaned that extra batch as well and that went into plastic bag into the freezer, ready for immediate use next time.

1606163648347.jpg

And now it's time to start the cooking. As usual we throw some garlic in hot oil first. With the amount of garlic I cook with, vampires wouldn't even dare of sucking my blood. After the garlic is browned a bit, add chopped onion and chilies. And then the shredded smoked fish. This should always go in first, to make sure the frying process eliminates any fishy aftertaste that might linger. Chopped tomatoes go in after that.

1606163648366.jpg

And then it's time for the vegetable of the day to go in.

1606163648362.jpg

Bitter Melon is definitely an acquired taste. Some people like it, some don't. The trick to preparing it is to find a good balance for the bitterness with other flavors. To me putting smoked fish, tomato sauce or a bit of ketchup (for sweetness and acidity) is the best combination.

1606163648357.jpg

Ketchup it was!

1606163648353.jpg


Add salt and pepper to taste, some water and lower the heat to steam for about 15 minutes and it should be ready to go. For this dish I also decided to make an exception and join the rice cult for a day. πŸ™ƒ

image.png


This was part of the Dash Out Sunday culture in the ReggaeJAHM Community. Special shoutout to @dmilliz for starting the trend in the community.

Check out the details here and be sure to shared your culinary Sunday with us.

Thank you for stopping by. πŸ™ƒ

[ Uniquely clever sign out message goes here ] ✌️✌️✌️

Sort: Β 

I don't believe I have ever eaten bitter melon, but I would love to try it!

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

You will either love it or hate it. There is no in-between. πŸ™ƒ
But it mostly depends on the chef I think.

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

!ENGAGE 10

Thanks! I love ENGAGE tokens!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

That bitter melon is very popular in southern Japan on an island called Okinawa. I only eat it cause I hear it’s good for yah πŸ˜‚

Couldn’t tell the last time I’ve eaten bacon like that. It’s usually in bits of pieces with mushrooms πŸ„

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

Bacon and mushrooms sounds like a great breakfast to me, since I love mushrooms on anything.
Gotta love those food myths. Just like how pumpkin is good for your eyesight. πŸ˜…

!ENGAGE 15

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

Pumkin? I thought it was carrots LOL


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

You are right, I'm getting my orange vegetables all mixed up.
But hey, at least we have one less orange vegetable to worry about after those elections.

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Criminal you! hahaha

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

😎

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

!ENGAGE

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Barra or vada, Nice to know that Indian snacks have place in Suriname too.

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

Yes. About a quarter of the population is of Indian decent/ethnicity, due to the Indian contract workers coming over and settling here after slavery was abolished. Lot's more ethnicities here, which means a lot of different types of food. :)

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @rarej! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Β 3 years agoΒ Β 

Thanks for the upvote and support! πŸ’ͺ

You're welcome @rarej, nice work! 😊