Family Matters ❤️ Honor Your Father & Mother 🎶 #APART

in ReggaeJAHM3 years ago (edited)

2.jpeg

The "hill" we started with.


The last couple of days my parents and brothers came over; sometimes unannounced, but all in good fun. Here in Suriname - and then I'm talking about my family and especially the older generation - family sometimes drops by without an "appointment", because they were "in the neighborhood" and in my family's case, they literally live a couple of minutes away. This has it's perks, because if we ever need anything, we could rely on each other: be it needing a babysitter, a tool, some lemons, we could fall back on each other. Another thing is that we regard family as "hoso s'ma" (housemate in Sranang Tongo; our lingua franca).


1620078558455.jpg

Midway through.


There were a couple of reasons why they came by, but one that stood out was that they wanted to help out with something @rarej and I were putting off. It's been more than a month since we've bought sand to elevate a part of our garden and my folks found that if everyone helps out, the faster we're done with that heap of sand and they even brought their own tools. Today, they came by again to help out and that "hill" we had in our backyard has now become a small pile of sand.


1620177189679.jpg

Whoohoo! Almost done.


So I'm very thankful for my family, who helps out without even asking. They really want the best for us and they keep telling us that they helped us get ahead of others, so that we could have a better life than they have and I'm taking their life's lessons with me everywhere I go.

Desmond Dekker's song Honor your Father and Mother is a nice classic reggae song, teaching us to honor our parents (family) and be thankful for everything they have and are still doing for us, because without them we wouldn't be where we are now.


Chasse into the backstage! 💃

image.png
Click to learn more about #APART


ReggaeJAHM.com

Sort:  

I love this post and everything it represents! Many hands indeed make light work, but there are so many more layers to the healthy relationship that your family enjoys. It does my heart good to read about the multi-generational cooperation that is happening where you live. As an American who feels strongly that every family and village/neighborhood should work this way, it is often challenging to live in a society that places so much emphasis on individual versus community and focuses more on the opposite of this healthy attitude.

Communities or tribes were originally largely made up of family dynamics, such as you describe. The symbiotic relationships that are fostered in this atmosphere helped everyone to succeed, whether it is raising the children or making sure the elders still have enough to eat, or homes are in good condition. These values were passed down from generation to generation; when you walk past grandmother's house you check in on her, etc. There were not "appointments" to check in on family, it was embedded in everyone to look out for each other and stopping in was a symbol of love and caring for all.

Thank you for sharing this moment in your life. I have lived my entire life feeling that what your family does is the right way to live, despite feeling trapped in a society that absolutely has degraded, destroyed, and discouraged this healthy and holistic view of what living should be. There has been no shortage of personal heartache and struggle in working to rebuild the family and community mindset in a society that has traded the wisdom of tens of thousands of years of humans for a cold and detached, lonely existence that thinks only of selfishness at the cost of all families. I am grateful to see examples from other places on Mother Earth where the wisdom has not been discarded, and I am hopeful that through this new global community of technology and travel these pearls of wisdom can become treasured again, and taught to the generations to come, to bring healing and healthy living back to the millions who have forgotten the way.

 3 years ago  

!ENGAGE 25

Wow... That could've been a post haha
But really, so true. Here in Suriname; in my family at least; it's tradition that family members settle as close as possible, so that they have/had each other to fall back on. Be it financially, socially, etc. Sometimes they also took in the kids in their homes, when the parents were still trying to settle a home.

I'm proud to be part of that community and that my parents teach us those values, because at the end of the day we're products of those choices.

Looking forward to know where in the world those values are also held and if not, how does it differ.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Cheers to family for saving the day and providing some manual labor. Low ground is a common problem where we live too, landlord just got a dumptruck load of sand the other day.


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

 3 years ago  

Yes, where you are now is close to the coast and lower lands. Most fertile ground in the country, but actually not suitable to urbanize as the sea level is rising. Multiple studies have recommended to urbanize more to the south, so that the eco system of mangroves could protect the coastal areas.

!ENGAGE 15

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

 3 years ago  

I really miss having family near by, even though there will be fuss times and arguing at the end of the day the vibes always comes back even stronger and everyone helps each other to better themselves. Plant up unu garden 🪴 yes. Cause can’t get no healthier than food that you grow yourself.

 3 years ago  

Hahaha yeah, I didn't mention the arguing part in this post, but it also comes with it. It's family after all 😂. But indeed, I wouldn't know what I would do without them in my life.

And yes, we will. The options of greens keep growing.
!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

De: @mundomanaure
Para: @tanjakolader

It is good that you can have your family near your home, it is the best in cases where something is being built in the house, the family support is incomparable, I congratulate you for being able to advance in the construction of the Garden, I hope you can complete everything early.

 3 years ago  

Thank you for the support 😊 and it's indeed a blessing to have family nearby. It's kind of tradition here; especially in my family; for families to live and settle nearby for the support. I can know this happening since my grandparents time... and the elder helping each other looking after each other's children, etc.

And yes, we want to be able to grow more veggies and fruits, so we need to level the ground first 😊.

!ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

Congratulations on making another step towards the completion of your garden. My dad always says “When all is said and done, all we have is family.”

Some really solid advice there from Desmond Dekker. I wonder what was the motivation for the lyrics.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Thank you and wise words from your father, which are so true.

So some part of the lyrics sound like verses from the Bible, so I was also wondering what he went through when writing those lyrics, but I'm thankful for this song. I just "discovered" it and quite enjoyed the tune; distinct Reggae and also something else that I can't explain.

!ENGAGE 15

 3 years ago  

No problem. Yeah the words suggest that the song writer was reading Exodus 20:12 and Ephesians 6:1-2

Honor your father and your mother that your days may be long on the land.

This is a direct quote from Exodus 20:12 and is the 5th commandment.

Children obey your parents in the Lord for this is right.

Ephesians 6:1. The entire chapter actually gives advice on relationships in the context of that time.

The rhythm is actually SKA (late 50s) which is a pre-cursor to reggae. Since I wasn’t around at the time, lol 😂 I checked and this particular song was written in 1963.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Ah nice. Thanks for the fact checking. I did see from the cover and the sound that it was something before my time.

Happy I've found it though 😊 and listened to more of this musicians music and I've got to say it has a nice relaxing vibe.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Yeah I recall hearing a lot of this kind of music 🎶 on the radio 📻 on Sundays in Jamaica. It somehow has a nice 👍🏻 Sunday vibe to me.

Hi @tanjakolader
It's a very family highlighting publication, no doubt that the united family has a positive impact on what we do.
I am in Bogota, far from most of my family, who are in Venezuela, here is only my sister, and the truth is that this has made us more united, because it must be so.
Trabajo en Familia usually allows us to be more together, and I'm sure that help was for you (rarej and you) a great contribution.
Happy weekend.

 3 years ago (edited) 

We will always need family I think and even if we don't, we would want them close.

What I know of some of our ancestors is that they also settled near each other when going to new places and not so long ago when my grandfather moved to the city from the plantation, he also settled near family and vice versa. It kind of became tradition.

And in regards to you and your family, I think it's also next to the familiarity, also for security reasons that you settled near each other.

Stay strong!

!ENGAGE 15

 3 years ago  

ʙɪɢ ᴜᴘ ʏᴏᴜʀsᴇʟғ ʙᴇᴄᴀᴜsᴇ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ɪs ғᴇᴀᴛᴜʀᴇᴅ ɪɴ ᴏᴜʀ

JAHMin' Posts Of The Week [May 3rd - May 9th, 2021] Children's Day in Japan, Music Memories, Family Strength, & Some Delicious DashOutSunday Posts

manually curated by @JustinParke on behalf of @ReggaeJAHM

77.png

⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ɪʀɪᴇ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ʀᴇɢɢᴀᴇᴊᴀʜᴍ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ʀᴇɢɢᴀᴇᴊᴀʜᴍ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ғᴏʀ ʀᴇɢɢᴀᴇ/ʜɪᴘ-ʜᴏᴘ ᴄᴜʟᴛᴜʀᴇ & ᴄᴀʀɪʙʙᴇᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ | 50 ʜᴘ | 100 ʜᴘ | 500 ʜᴘ | 1,000 ʜᴘ


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

 3 years ago  

Thank you 😊.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 3 years ago  

Thank you. Greatly appreciated 😊.