An Experimental Shot and Some Reggae (APART)

in ReggaeJAHM4 years ago

Good night, fellow Rastafarian friends!

A few months went by since my last entry for the APART initiative by @dmilliz. (Read more about it below.)

The time went passing by and this initiative never picked off... Still, I enjoy doing a post for it, from time to time, so here you have a brand new entry. 🤗

This is an experimental shot I took last December, when the weather wasn't as hot nor as sunny as it is now. 😎

It was raining outside and I was a bit bored inside so I picked up my camera to do a few experiments.

I was testing and messing with some settings and I set the focus to the raindrops on the window instead of focusing on the outside world. The result was quite interesting and it ended up looking like a painting done by a crazy artist. 😅

20191221_111254.jpg

The view outside is nothing special... but since it's all blurred out it looks a little better.


Now... what song goes well with this shot?

There were a few I could pick from, from Dennis Brown - Raindrops Keep Falling to The Pioneers - Raindrops... but since these songs don't have a videoclip, I decided to go with Rain Drops, from Stxnga. I hope you like it.

Stxnga is the artistic name for Markland Morley Morris, a Reggae singer born in Jamaica who was the front man of the Reggae band Charmskwad, a group which enjoyed a great success in Jamaica from 2006 to 2010. Afterwards the band dismembered and each of the band's elements went in separate ways, since they all believed they were good enough to start solo careers. It looks like success got into their heads, eh? 😄

Stxnga has been performing since 2015 and the project is almost like a reboot to Markland's career. He's still trying to get a contract with a big label, so... for now, he's been recording as an independent artist.



"APART is a simple concept we came up with to use a pic (any pic) and relate it to a Reggae tune. Music is life and our experiences bring out memories & the melodies." - @dmilliz


CameraMicrosoft Lumia 950 XL
PhotoEdited with GIMP


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 18 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Thanks for showing some new reggae to me. I rarely move past the 70's with reggae and rocksteady. He's got a different style. Rain here is a blessing because then its not so hot!

Oh, I get it... sometimes it's so hot we even wish it would rain instead! ... and then when the rain starts, we wish for the sun to come out again! 🤣

Thanks for your visit and support!

Exactly, well now is monsoon season. I love it because intermittent sun and rain. If you don't like the weather just wait 10 minutes haha. High season is just sun all day and hot as all ;) But rain in colder climates is not fun at all. I ran from Seattle after summer was canceled by rain. Wait 9 months for summer and then rain? Hell no!

Good work dear friend ♥️

Thank you very much!

 4 years ago  

Hehe nice ganja song. Yeah the pic turned out great. Feels like the droplets are actually on my screen.

You should revive this initiative. It was such a cool idea! 😎
Thanks for dropping by!

 4 years ago  

You know I really like it too. I wish someone would take over though so that way I could start this easy food contest I was thinking of.

0A79BB9D80E84753B2B6EFA133C5376D.png

Nice and artist photo, cool idea to take it like that.

Thank you very much. I'm glad you liked it.

I hadn't heard of this particular artist nor the APART challenge from @dmilliz. I must've missed it somehow, but awesome initiative, thanks for sharing @trincowski.

Feel free to participate. It was such a cool idea. It's a pity it never took off.

Cool shot. You can almost feel the rain. Am not so much into reggae as I prefer the oldies of the '70s and '80s lol. Never got past that, I guess.

I don't listen to much Reggae as well... but sometimes I return to it. 😎
Thanks for your visit and comment.

Hi friend @trincowski

Excellent, both photography and selected music.

I really liked your post.

A big hug

Thank you very much... Some experiences come out better than we originally think they will! 🤭

Cool try 👍

Thanks a lot!

A few months ago I have done a similar type of shot playing with droplets. I love this type of photography a lot...

Nice! It came out pretty well! 😎

Hello friend @trinkowsky
That's a very good picture, actually the photo experiment went very well. The blurring of the background and the water drops in the foreground give a good contrast.

And the song, very good, I didn't know it. This initiative of APART from @dmilliz, maybe it could serve to attract more people to the community, there are many good photographers in hive, very probably more than one apart from the photography likes reggae, ska, etc... maybe if some kind of promotion is done about it, it could work to activate more the community, it occurs to me.

I hope you're okay.


Posted via ReggaeJahm | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Thanks!

This initiative of APART from @dmilliz, maybe it could serve to attract more people to the community, there are many good photographers in hive, very probably more than one apart from the photography likes reggae, ska, etc... maybe if some kind of promotion is done about it, it could work to activate more the community, it occurs to me.

Yes, I also think so. Feel free to participate or to invite some of your friends to join. 🤗

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency