Doing the Laundry, VanLife Style ๐Ÿš™

in TravelFeed โ€ข 3 years ago

Our Penny as a clothes line ^^
Our Penny as a clothes line ^^

Yesterday was one of those days.ย 

You know, when nothing seems to work, you drop everything you touch and constantly stub your toe on something.

So of course at the sleeping spot we finally arrived (after quite some hours of searching and driving around) our phone wouldn't get any internet connection and I couldn't post an article ^^

But today we're at a good spot at the beach again, so I can tell you about that one thing that was fun and worked out quite nicely before Universe decided to give us challenge after challenge.

Because yesterday was washing day!

It's always quite the mission to wash clothes on the road ^^

You can look for a campsite or shop to use their washing machine for a few coins or you can do it like we did: right by the side of the road at a well in the middle of a small village.
Both works ^^

You can find wells like this everywhere on the Balkans. Very convenient for getting drinking water, too!
You can find wells like this everywhere on the Balkans. Very convenient for getting drinking water, too!

We have one big multifunctional bowl with us that we use for making salad, storing vegetables and all other things that require a big bowl.

For example our laundry!

There's space for one or two shirts (depending on the size) in that bowl, so it takes quite some time.ย 

But it's actually a nice meditative task :)

Good old orange bowl ... youโ€™re always in the way, but Iโ€™m still happy we have you with us <3
Good old orange bowl ... you're always in the way, but I'm still happy we have you with us <3

We use baking soda for washing our clothes.

It's natural and organic, so I don't have to worry about using it in nature. And it works great!

This is another multifunctional thing we use for a number of purposes. Brushing teeth, doing the dishes, as deodorant ... I could write a whole post about it, maybe I'll do that one day :)

This is me washing one of my manโ€™s shirts. We were actually already about to leave when I remembered that I needed another photo for a post ^^ Everything is fake on TV ๐Ÿ˜‹
This is me washing one of my man's shirts. We were actually already about to leave when I remembered that I needed another photo for a post ^^ Everything is fake on TV ๐Ÿ˜‹

All the time there were people from the village walking by and filling their own bottles with water from the well.

Even a flock of sheep came along which is always something special to me because you usually don't see something like that in Germany.ย 

And again I noticed how very friendly and open the Albanian people are (the sheep too, I guess, but we didn't communicate much)!ย 

Of course they found us a bit odd maybe, washing our clothes on the street, but nobody was angry about or bothered by it.ย 

Instead they were curious, tried to talk to us or at least smiled at us :)

Great experience!

Thank you Albanian sun for drying our clothes so super quickly! โ˜€๏ธ
Thank you Albanian sun for drying our clothes so super quickly! โ˜€๏ธ

Thank you for reading! <3


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort: ย 

It's very nice to know that you can do what you need to do on the road with limited resources. How is the weather there?

It's great! September is a good time to travel Albania, the tourist season is over, but the weather and water are still super warm and holiday like :-)

You learn so much living on the road on limited space and limited resources. Life gets simpler but somehow more interesting ^^ You have to find solutions for problems that you've never thought of at home.
It's a good life, I've grown so much during the last two years <3

Thank you for sharing. I can well imagine this as an educational adventure!! Best wishes always!

Best wishes to you too and all the best on your own adventure <3

โค thank you!

Congratulations @anafae! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. ๐Ÿ˜

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: Have you joined our Discord yet? This is where over 1000 members of the TravelFeed come together to chat. Join us!

Thank you so much! โ˜บ๏ธ
I love using the TravelFeed app, it just works perfectly and looks so pretty!
I haven't joined the discord, I'm taking a break from it, because it got a bit too much pressure with all those different channels ^^

Cool! I would feel weird washing my clothes right on the street like that, but you do what you have to I guess :)

I love that you use the same bowl for making salad, and doing laundry!

It does feel a bit weird at first ^^ But when the first five friendly people come by and don't seem bothered it's alright.

The van is small, so it's great to have things that you can use for more than one purpose ^^ Life gets a lot simpler on a small space :-)

Yes, it certainly does. I have even less space than you, with my little old Subaru. Perhaps that's why I prefer the laundromat - no room for big salad bowls in my car :)

Ah, I've just checked your profile! That's really a lot less space than in my Penny. Your journey seems super interesting, I'm gonna keep an eye out for your posts! :-)

Actually we need a laundromat too quite soon. Our salad bowl is great but still too small for washing our bed sheets ^^

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.