Tour de Slovenia - Tamar Valley - 15 photos

in TravelFeed4 years ago

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


It is time for new part of my Tour de Slovenia series.

I still have few photos on stock from my trip to Tamar Valley which I visited on my last stay in Kranjska Gora.

You probably know Planica better, especially if you are from Europe and you are fan of winter sports. Planica is traditional ski flying event at the end of the season. It was the largest ski jumping center for a long time and had record for the longest distance, but in the past years Vikersund has this record. I would say not for long my Norwegian friends :)

When there is a time for ski flying event in Planica it is like an unofficial holiday here in Slovenia. We are really crazy about this sport as we had a lot of success in the past.

Tamara Valley is continuing from Planica, so I suggest to use parking at Planica for the hike as well.

Tamar Valley is one of my favorite hike destination as it offers relatively easy 45 minutes hike with few hills to conquer. At the end you are rewarded with great food option at the cottage which is located surrounded by mountains. I always have mixed štruklji, which is typical Slovenian dish, so that would be my recommendation for you. In winter times you also have to have some spirit with it to warm your body :)

I still have one special trip to the cottage in my memory from few years ago when we went there with friends on the first day of New Year. It was snowing like crazy, but we were young and had a lot of fun doing all the winter joys…

This time it was different as it was relatively hot, but in the valley there is never too hot so it is a great getaway from the city as well. What is also refreshing is Nadiža spring. It is about 15 minutes additional hike, quite steep but still manageable without special protective equipment. This time we didn’t do this hike to Nadiža spring, but I am looking forward to doing it in the near future as water from the spring is so refreshing…

What I like from the Tamar Valley is also that landscape for the whole trail is really beautiful. Also when you meet other people on the way they all always greet, so it gives you a warm feeling and that is Slovenian nation as well.

Enjoy in few photos with beautiful nature and see you soon with next part!

[//]:# (!pinmapple 46.463937 lat 13.722373 long d3scr)


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

I think the Slovenian tourism department should pay you a nice holiday somewhere because you have been really doing an amazing job promoting the natural beauty of you country :) Wonderful photo collection.

@tipu curate 2

Haha :)
Our government did this year :)
Evry Slovenian recieved 200 EUR to use for accommodation in Slovenia to try to save tourism sector. So that is why I will travel more around Slovenia.
But I wouldn't mind another free holiday from tourism department so hope they are active here on Hive ;)

Thank you for your support as always!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Awow, these are really beautiful place! Looks very cool 😎

Thank you for your kind words.
Our nature is really beautiful.

Beautiful. In every time of the year. Tamar, Krnica, and Martuljek gorge with Ingo Hut are three of my favorite places in this part of Slovenia.

And there is a really great trail for running and hiking at the left bank of Sava from Martuljek to Kranjska Gora. We should run there one day... 😂🏃‍♂️👍

All this places are really nice.
Gorenjska region overall is very close to me, but hey whole Slovenia is :)

My first 10 km was in Kranjska Gora from centre to Zelenci spring :)
It was great as there was really not a lot of people at that time, just before this Covid quarantine...

Thanks for stopping by and enjoy your mini vacations.

Congrats for the first 10K!

Now you are ready for the first official race event in Kranjsk agor aon August 15th :)

http://www.gorenjska-mojplanet.si/kranjskogorska-10ka/

Well that is interesting :)
If my summer in Croatia goes wrong, which is planned for these days, I might go running :)

Kranjskorska 10ka is always on the holiday, August 15th. Unfortunately, this year the date falls on Saturday.

If everything goes right I'll be in Germany at that time.

Good luck with your plans :)

Love these mountain tours of Slovenia.

I am glad you like this series :)
I hope there will be new parts finished soon...

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #891.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you, it is an honour for me.

It looks so beautiful, just like the Rockies! Seems like a nice quick afternoon hike. I like the little triangle house at the base of the mountain, what a place to be! Great shots :)

It is a really nice place to be. Nature, not a lot of people, very peaceful, calm just the way most of us want the place to be these days.
Can't wait to go there again with my family.

Thanks for stopping by!

Congratulations @crazy-andy! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@elsaenroute (TravelFeed team)

PS: Have you joined our Discord yet? This is where over 1000 members of the TravelFeed come together to chat. Join us!

Thank you very much!
Keep up your great work...

Wow, exelentes fotografias, hermosos paisajes, muchas gracias por compartir.

Thank you!

Slovenia has wonderful places and you show them magnificently with these images @crazy-andy!

This place is really beautiful. I want time to stop when I come to such beautiful places.

Great article! Truly an amazing if not a mesmerizing place! As a Slovenian living in UK for over a decade now, and making it my home, I only seldom visit Slovenia. I'll always remember how beautiful this tiny country is and its everlasting greenery...a hidden gem on the other side of the Alps.