What makes Sibiu unique: How is like to live in the heart of Transylvania

in TravelFeed4 years ago (edited)

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


FotoJet.jpg

We have a single place which can be called home and it's definitely the place where we've been born, but what happens when you finally discover the place you belong to and to which you've been searching for so long?
Can it also be called home?

Untitled-2.png

Due to the virus that is controlling the world right now, we all are in lockdown these days. Or most of us - the unlucky ones.
Which makes have more time to read, to think, to overthink, to travel between our memories, our moments of life, and most of all, think of how things used to be a few months ago.
And since some of us (also me) are not to their hometowns close to their families, it's also a moment when we can think (and miss) the place where are all your loved ones, the real home.
But what happens when you live in a completely different place which more or less makes you feel like this is your home?
I loved to travel since I was very young and I was born in the south of the country, inevitable our journeys were bringing us to the center of Romania, where you will find Transylvania, a place that almost everyone heard about since most of the people tend to think about Dracula when it comes to thinking about Romania.
It doesn't matter if we were roaming the country to the north, to the east or west, somehow, our journey was always leading to Transylvania too, which I call a bliss since there are so many interesting places that are waiting to be discovered.
And of course, slowly, this was materialized in an unknown love for this place that made me want to move and start a new life into this part of Romania right after I graduated the college.
It was a radically change in my life after I lived for 3 years in Bucharest (the capital of the country) that was literally not having anything in common with this place.
We all know how capitals are - full of people, crowded places and traffic noise no matter if it's 4 PM or 4 AM - and that had a huge impact on my lifestyle but also on my mental which was becoming more and more tired even if I wasn't doing anything and just stay in my bed the whole day.

I always belonged to the mountains and nature, most probably in a past life, I was born there or even a wolf since I find myself so much into these animals. So I didn't really manage to find my peace during that period. Of course, I was almost going somewhere every week - either in a park to delight my eyes and soul with more green and nature, or take a random train ride anywhere else just to escape and run to either the sea or the mountains. But I couldn't keep doing it over and over again, because no matter how amazing those moments were, I knew I always have at the end of the day to return to the city that brings me no happiness but actually lots of chaos in my life and head.

96249533_600529740810454_5230513139887374336_n.jpg

So now that I finally managed to think more about me and do the right move that heals me mentally and spiritually, I can finally feel how important is to find the real place you belong to and find everything you need in simple things like a walk into nature, being able to stare at the mountains every day no matter what the hour is since I live pretty close to them and I can greet them whenever I want right from my balcony and window.

No doubt I'm subjective. Because what I love doing and where I find my peace might be the opposite for you.
I already know a few persons who can't see themselves living in such a peaceful place because they are used with way more activity in their lives and crowded places to make them feel alive, while for me - a hammock, the mountains, and the noise of the forest is everything I need.
So the place where I moved and I'm currently living for almost a year is called Sibiu, which I'm pretty sure you've heard about since it's one of the most appreciated places of Transylvania by the tourists whom you will meet no matter what the season is.
Actually, Sibiu is also the first city of Transylvania which was electric lighting back in 1896.
When you think about Romania, you have lots of different thoughts, but Sibiu is different than anything else you could see in Romania before, because of the people who live here whom are definitely what makes the city familiar with the word unique.
You could take just a random walk into the park, walk your pet or go to shopping, you can stop in the middle of the street to take a picture or a selfie and no one get annoyed of it or look weird at you, you can do whatever you feel, whenever you want without disturbing someone. The maximum interaction you can have with a person is to wish you a great week or smile at you without asking for anything in return, which made me feel more than welcome at this city when I almost felt like I will never be able to find the real place where I belong to.

And while everybody is living without focusing on the others too much but more on themselves, the city keeps evolving and growing up at the same time we do, without making its actions public in search of audience or popularity.
That's how in 2007, Sibiu becomes the single city from the Eastern Europe that earns the title of European Cultural Capital, but also be recognized as the place from Romania where it was built the first Zoo, the first Universal Ethnography Museum, the first outdoor cinema, be home for the first handball team and also its matches, for the oldest herbarium of the country and for the first mountain resort, and many more!

IMG_20190101_152407.jpg
96067232_243574410301639_301143676363472896_n.jpg
IMG_20190101_161307.jpg

Despite the old buildings that you will see everywhere, they keep history active in the minds of all people even though Sibiu is the 2nd city in Romania that was activating against communism.

96390583_683921099109958_1609629025280458752_n.jpg
96267179_711391959670633_6905016254604509184_n.jpg

You can be a lover of architecture and catch eye buildings...

IMG_20181117_162121.jpg
IMG_20181117_164505.jpg

Or someone who wants to find more about the history of the city, and how things used to work and look like centuries ago, but also how some people are still choosing to live in 2020...

96157937_544748439558537_6663487879655718912_n.jpg
96672706_548623092516852_7614999938048458752_n.jpg

Or someone who enjoys street art and seeing more colour in his life...

You can always find some activities to enjoy or new places to discover.
Because the city that is conquering more and more hearts from a day to another, the city that brings lots of tourists from all the corners of the world, takes care of the every single human being, that is out there exploring it.
And there is really no other beautiful feeling that being surprised with each passing day by more interesting spots that are waiting for you to explore them, more friendly faces that are smiling at you and brighten your day no matter how dark it was before, more hidden gems that are staying in silence to keep the mystery of the city, or the sense of feeling a continuous tourist in your own world and new home.
And I really love this feeling.
There is really no better word that would describe this freedom or happiness I feel but only the smile I have on my face when I take my backpack and camera and go out there to conquer a new part of the city and not let the day come to an end without learning something new.
It's a freedom and a difference that I needed in my life to feel complete.
It's a different life that I tend to believe we all need in our lives just to discover ourselves and learn to live the good life - because we don't really need anything to be happy unless we live in the right place where we have our real roots.
Of course, we all have trees, oxygen, old towns, pubs, museums and all kind of buildings but it's way more than that - it's about the kind of people who live there and how they make you feel without doing anything concrete.

It's about how the city itself shows after the years that are passing over all of us and how it makes you feel from the first moment you get down the train and you feel its embrace.
Because yes, this city truly has the power to embrace and welcome you from the very first beginning taking care of you to leave with some memorable moments and the urge of returning as soon as possible for more.

The things you can explore are pretty various as you might have already noticed.
From simple parks to buildings painted that are sharing different stories. From historical monuments and different traditions to buildings whose architecture will make you get out the phone from the pocket and take a picture of it. From unique street festivals to the silence of the mountains or the barely know Walk of Fame inspired by the famous street from Hollywood.

IMG_20181116_201913.jpg
89655827_587513535456275_5147512239762178048_n.jpg
96348539_244925309931136_6756343496342241280_n.jpg
IMG_20181117_161622.jpg

Not even the theatres or simple shops are passing without making you remember them due to the unique ways of catching your attention. So there is this shop which doesn't really have a name but the title saying I'm thinking about her that will definitely throw you back in time, and also the Radu Stanca Theater whose wall is filled with all kind of magnets, each one of them being dedicated to a unique project developed for a better living.

96407264_243862730170563_4806305709757038592_n.jpg
96792479_710033409800580_3447846427781234688_n.jpg
96418864_559635718320539_4457108912788733952_n.jpg
96580256_242124106878119_8319020656402366464_n.jpg

Source: sibfest.ro
The wall represents an outdoor exhibition of Dan Perjovschi who's adding with each passing year more street art to the same wall that represents painful stories or moments of life.
One of the deepest arts is the one called "You have ripped jeans because of fashion or poverty?"

IMG_20181117_162542.jpg

But now as the sun goes down and the city gets back in its silence, it's also time to get back to the reality we live today - the one that forces us to stay at home to protect ourselves and the others until everything will be back to normal and get to enjoy the little things, while we learned the cruel lesson of how we are supposed to enjoy the life. And we all need this lesson.
None of us would appreciate the short walk out of the house to the school, job, or market, the bliss of seeing your parents or friends, the night spent at a pub with some hot tea and lots of stories shared, the moments when you go to the cinema or simply take some friends at home and have one of those nights with marathons of movies/games... or the simple thing of getting to see the sun rays once again in the morning.

This is also my submission to the initiative of @invisusmundi of creating a post where we describe and share a little bit more of the place where we've been born or where we are currently living. And as you might already know, I can't really skip any of his contents since I'm a huge fan of them and the themes are pretty various which makes the whole challenge even more interesting! You still have a little time to submit yours since this ends on 13th May, but make sure to read the original post first.

Untitled-2.png

SEE YOU IN THE NEXT TRIP! 🗾

Untitled-2.png

All rights reserved.

FIND ME ON:
Blog: http://gabrielastravels.wordpress.com/
Fiverr: https://www.fiverr.com/gabrielatv/
Discord: GabrielaTravels#0104
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gabrielaistraveling/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/gabiivdesign
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gabriela.tv/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/GabrielaTravels
Contact: [email protected]


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Sibiu, one of the few European cities in Romania, and I have never visited it... I guess I shouldn't have said that but I'm too honest lately. It's on my list though, along with Brasov, Cluj, and Iasi. Maybe next year, maybe...
Great post by the way.

You definitely have to! It's a great loss if you are not doing it!

That´s a wonderful presentation of your beautiful hometown Gabriela :) I totally understand how you felt in Bucharest, just like me in Prague where I also lived for 3 years ;) I am so glad that you found your happiness and inner peace in Sibiu :)

@tipu curate

thank you so much! I'm glad I finally see someone that understands how I feel! Maybe you will get to visit Transylvania soon and fell in love with it just like I did 😀

Thanks for reading and living a comment and also for the curate! 🤗

Yeah, absolutely ;) I have been having this urge to leave the city and move closer to nature for long years... I call it "the call of the wild" :D ;)

Gorgeous presentation right there!
👏👏👏

Thanks so much!!

Sibiu city center is the most beautiful place from a Romanian city and is swarmed with people that enjoy history and living a peaceful true life. Amazing article as always!

Indeed. Thank you!

One of the things I like about the internet and blogs Is that I can get to know many places in the world, even if it's only through photos.
Your post is very good, the photos are excellent. But the most important thing, is that the readers realize, that you feel passion for what you do.
Successes!

Thank you so much! I really appreciate your kindness and time to check out my post! Good luck!

I am so glad for you Gabriela! Finding a place that feels more homey than your home town and most importantly, finding people that you love to spent your life among them, is a major achievement!
And you got me very intrigued to visit Sibiu and Transylvania. I'll have to add this to my to do list :)

Indeed, is really very important to find a place where you actually feel good to spend every day of your life. And you definitely need to visit this someday! 😀

Congratulations @gabrielatravels! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 67000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 68000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Hive Revolution - Call for missions

Congratulations @gabrielatravels! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@invisusmundi (TravelFeed team)

PS: Why not share your blog posts to your family and friends with the convenient sharing buttons on TravelFeed.io?

It looks like you have the perfect balance there between nature and "city" life. Seems like a close community with the various different activities around and I'm kinda jealous you can see the mountains from your balcony... that's something I'd want but we don't really have mountains in the UK, just big hills haha!

Hope you're staying safe during this time little sister and good luck in the contest! Gets my vote 😃

The contest ended and I was in top 3, which is pretty good I guess :D

Yep, I'm really blessed to live here, and I totally understand how you feel since I was the same until I made this change in my life. And I regret nothing :)

It ended already? LOL, shows what I know 😂 This post is only 3 days old so you must have squeezed it in just before the deadline! Congratulations on Top 3!

I'd kinda want to live in New Zealand I think if I had a chance to transfer in the job I have, even if for a short time. Hiker's paradise being near mountains 😃

Yeah, I submitted my post with just one day before the contest was ending haha. New Zealand is so beautiful! I can see that from the pictures, most likely I'd be left speechless if I would see it in real life too!

"There's no place like home!" is a saying here in America, @gabrielatravels. Do they have a similar saying there in Romania?

You have done an excellent job portraying this area. I have some idea of all the effort you have gone to in creating this post. That is after you have gone to all of the trouble of capturing these images on your camera (phone?)!

Keep up the great work. I really enjoyed "seeing through your eyes" on this post! 👍


P.S. No, I am not too kind ... 😉

Yep, we actually do have the same saying, which can be translated: "Nicăieri nu-i ca acasă" 😊

As for creating the post, it was really very easy to write about this place. It didn't take too long because the words were flowing and flowing without even noticing how long the post turned out. I guess I just passed the post to be written with my soul instead of brain and that's something I should do more often. 😀

All the pictures are taken only with phone and edited in Photoshop.

Very good @gabrielatravels. What Hive UI do you prefer to use, when writing your posts?

No doubt it's peakd. Seems like the most friendlier and easier interface to use

Amen! 👍 😉 While I sort of "get it," it is challenging to have to create posts through all of these other community UIs, like TravelFeed ...

Maybe someday, they'll "combine forces" ...

Transylvania.

I don't recall that I knew there was a place named Transalvania.

I remember the name of this place from the animation Transalvania.

The post looks great and I'd like to visit Transalvania someday.

Transylvania it's an entire area composed of 10 different counties. But with lots of places to see! Thanks for stopping by.

Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful and insightful blog @gabrieltravels It is all the more special because it is so much a part of you.

I love your thought provoking introductory paragraph also. We can travel to many countries, cover thousands of kilometres searching for those elusive dreams but when we take a good look at our own homes towns, we 'discover' treasures galore.

No doubt about it! In the end it's all about find the right place that truly represents us and make us feel home. And I love that!

Thanks so much for taking a moment to read my post and leave a comment. Really appreciate your kind words!