Camping Solo For The First Time

in TravelFeed2 years ago

Last Thursday I received a message from my friends. They said they were going to camp for the weekend and asked me if I wanted to join.

The next morning I went to Tunis for a German language lesson, then checked the guys up to see if we could go together. It turned out that some of them are going that evening and some the next day. The ones going that evening had no spare place in the car, so I had to rely on public transport.

It was a hot afternoon when I left Tunis towards the Google Maps location they sent to me. Rumors say it was over 40°C. I reached the beach by 6 PM after an interesting journey and I sent them a photo of the beach.

20220701_180536.jpg

20220701_184704.jpg

20220702_064453.jpg

Barkoukech

As soon as I left the microbus that got me there, I started feeling a friendly atmosphere. See, usually, when I travel alone, I tend to seem like a local and avoid attracting any attention. Cause, in my mind, with attention, can come a great deal of danger. Though I have no proof of that theory. But this time, my huge backpack and my camping material were screaming "he's not from here".

Still, everyone in the area was greeting and smiling and made me have this strange feeling of "no harm will get me in this place".

And so I started the 3Km walk to the beach. I walked half of it and a guy on a van picked me up and gave me a lift for the rest of the distance.

The misunderstanding

The location they send me in a beach with sunshades installed and a coffee shop... a whole complex for families to hang out and swim. Not particularly a camping site. But there are some fishers who were camping in the area. I checked out my friends. They said they were having a flat tire and they will get there later than expected.

By the time they got there, it was already dark and I have already swam, explored the area, ate my dinner, hanged out with the fishers a little, had a headache, took a pill, and started feeling sleepy haha.

20220702_064552.jpg
20220701_193232.jpg

Besides, there was a misunderstanding. whoever sent the location sent me the famous beach in Barkoukech instead of the spot a few Km from it where they decided to camp. So when my friends shared their location with me, my google maps said I need to walk 6 Km to get there.

I called them and told them I'll just finish the night where I am and join them the next morning to spend the next two days with them.

The sunset was beautiful. The night sky disappointed me at first, as a selenophile, because it had no moon. But then the bright stars made up for that. I hanged out a little with the fishers then I went to sleep.

The unplanned hike.

When I decided to go camping I didn't expect to be hiking a lot. So I didn't bring any good shoes. But when I woke up that Saturday, I decided to further explore the area I'm about to leave, wearing my flip-flops haha.

20220702_064959.jpg

20220702_065011.jpg

20220702_064921.jpg

20220702_084855.jpg

The forest behind me looked like this. I kept going deeper and deeper but then I remembered I was camping alone and left my tent out there unguarded. I mean, the area was safe, and "no harm got me in this place" but let's not push my luck.

I gathered my stuff and prepared myself for the 6 Km journey.

20220702_072451.jpg

That's where three guys with motorcycles offered me a ride. I recognized them from the night before. They were camping not far from me. I rode with them to a coffee shop where I decided to have a cold drink, recharge my phone, and stare at this view.

20220702_084600.jpg

20220702_084556.jpg

I found out that the three guys came on their bikes from Sidi Bouzid, a place hundreds of Km away from that place. And they were going back home after a few nights of camping. I found it interesting how much trouble they had just to come to the place I went to by mistake.

I walked the rest of the way on my own, following google maps' instructions until it left me not far from my friends' location, but across the river!

Screenshot_20220702-094451_Maps.jpg

20220702_094312.jpg

20220702_094338.jpg

My friends were right across those fields, somewhere in the forest. But to get there I had to, somehow, come down the cliff that comes down from the old abandoned train rails.

I had to improvise from there. I went closer to the beach and climbed a hill to have better visibility of the area and, to my delight, I saw this. Suddenly the whole journey made sense and I wasn't complaning about the 40+°C or the long walk with no proper shoes ar the heavy backpack... I was enjoying the moment, grateful for all the mistakes and missunderstandings and the coincidences that led me there.

20220702_094908.jpg

I crossed the mountain and the small forest on it and went to the beach to get to cross the river where it meets the sea. Crossing the forest, at first I followed some human traces. That gave me some comfort. But then, suddenly, the human traces disappeared and were replaced by some animal traces, big ones.

20220702_065011.jpg

20220702_095206.jpg

Only two possible explanations came to my mind at that time, both scarier than each other. When the forest started looking like this, I held a small rock in my hand for comfort and kept going. Soon after that, I had all this beach to myself. But not for long.

Cause I saw a bunch of morons coming down the opposite forest. I knew at once that they were my friends.
20220702_095237.jpg

20220702_095350.jpg

20220702_095356.jpg

And this would be the little rock that got me through the day

20220702_095451.jpg

Sort:  

What an adventure! But I didn't expect anything less from you. 😀
Love the beaches and the views! 😍

Heyy
Missed you!
yeah they're lovely. wanna come visit? 😉

You know I would love to visit but it's just not happening, haha. xD
But I would definitely like to avoid big animal traces, if possible! :D

Haha
When hive is up to 5$ we will visit each other
Ok I'll take you to 5 stars hotels instead 😉

Hi @hazem91,
Great to see you posting to the TravelFeed community! We launched the #travelfeed curated tag more than 3 years ago and have been supporting the best travel blogs on Hive ever since. But did you know that TravelFeed has evolved? Based on the feedback of thousands of Hive travel bloggers we created TravelFeed.io.

TravelFeed.io brings together all the benefits of Hive decentralized blogging with features that you as a travel blogger will love: Photo galleries, Instagram embeds, custom maps and more. We also offer many of the features you love on Peakd such as drafts and post scheduling. And if you want, you can even use our easy site builder to set up your own travel blog on your own domain which can be a great way to generate a passive income from your blog!

Unfortunately, focussing on developing the best platform for travelers means that we no longer curate the #travelfeed tag and the TravelFeed Hive community. But, you can log in with your Hive account on TravelFeed.io to publish your next travel post, and it will be posted to Hive automatically! Every day, we select the best posts and reward them with an upvote and added visibility.

We would love to see you on TravelFeed.io soon :)

Noted. I'll surely explore this world of travelfeed 😊

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Still, everyone in the area was greeting and smiling and made me have this strange feeling of "no harm will get me in this place".

I can imagine how confused you were looking 😂
These kind of situations are always funny when you are on the observing end

But in the end you really enjoyed your outing..I would've been scared to camp alone though
Popped in via @dreemport

I normally don't camp alone either
But I'm glad I did it at least once
Now I can scratch it from my bucket list (not that I have one)
Maybe that will be my only solo camp ever haha

A bucket list indeed 😂
Imaginary one at that matter

Nice experience nevertheless

Bunch of morons.....😂😂😂 That got me laughing hard.

You must have been so mad at them because it was a wrong location they gave you and trying to find your way through the thick forest..... You really tried but the rock was your companion.

I think it would become fun to you with the wrong location, misunderstanding, hiking etc. The pictures are looking awesome.

I came through Dreemport 🤗

Heyy princess
Thanks for the visitgoot to see you always active on dreemport 😀

Hehehe! I am always active 😎
Thank you too.

What a brilliant time you had! I did chuckle about your flip-flops and going exploring!
Popped in today via dreemport

Thanks for reading and commenting
Yeah that was a very unewpected and I wasn't prepared at all fo such a hike haha

hehe yes I bet the hike was not expected, and them sending the wrong place did not help!

What's up, old friend? Haven't seen you in years!! Found you somewhere on Dreemport! I love flipflops! haha. Cool journey @hazem91

Haha
Thanks
Good to see you !!
I miss the gratefulvibes days 😍

Wow... Talk about adventure 😜
I admire you going solo camping, I would feel lonely and get lost
😂 Hahahaha
But I do love the beach and walking there alone enjoying the view.
I looove camping to and your pictures are absolutly amazing 😍
Cool you got a ride from the guys with motorcycles, if that was me I give you a ride to...
Only I would totally kidnap you and camp you out in the woods by water fall 😜 Buwahahaha

Looks like a successful trip 😉
Thank you for sharing and have a wonderful week twin.
Much love 🤗😘🥰

Would love to be kidnapped by you haha
Waterfalls sound nice 😉
Yeah let's do it 😀

Hehe so you have to do adventure of 6km because of friends or google map 🤓 flip flop footwear hmm you can swim easily if you want. Don't know looks like I have visited these weeds place one in a while. 😹😁🥴

OMG is this is gold inside this rock which you are holding haha kidding for fun. Actually I have to search for you Hazem 🥺 look my ears got teary in your search 🤣 then I matched your discord username and give attention to my fingers and got you. 🤣 you were not active before, what could be the reason??
Might be you would be trapped on the same beach or in the same jungle, or your motorbike run out if petrol 🤣 ROFL. Just creating fun which is out of context.

Haha
Still the playful funny girl 😀
Thanks for the visit 😉
See you on discord

Congratulations @hazem91! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 115000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 120000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!