Cruising the Hardscape of the Land of a Million Elephants

in TravelFeed4 years ago (edited)

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



Even when I had two cars, I would always prefer to ride my bicycle. Luang Prabang is one of the best bike riding spots I've had the privilege to ride. The only place that was better was Monterey, California. They have cool weather and a bike trail along the beautiful coast. 

I started my day thinking someone or an animal was being tortured. It was just these turkeys. They have such saggy necks that it makes a really weird sound when they gobble. It kind of sounds like someone drowning and being beaten at the same time.

I started my journey by this park. It looks like it says, "That Luang Park", but it's pronounced "Tad", not "That". I have a lot of good memories here. They will use this area for different events around the year. 

I don't know what it's like where you're from, but no one is wearing a mask here. Nobody has died in this country, so they're not worried. I think it is because they always eat organic food, have fresh air, and get plenty of sunshine. Even though there isn't any fear or mask wearing, they don't believe it's a global conspiracy. They just think they are stronger and healthier than everyone else.

I wonder if the great builders of the pyramids would laugh at us today with our earthquake and fire susceptible homes and weak cement that only lasts about 100 years.

I see a lot of news and social media about how The Mekong River has run dry and there isn't any fish because of all of the Chinese dams, but it looks fine here. Maybe it's because Luang Prabang is farther north where the problems are. I'm never one to defend China, but it could be due to climate change. There's an endless supply of free energy in the sky from our sun and an endless supply of water in our air which can be drawn out with solar energy for free. If every home was water and energy independent, that would be a few less boots the governments have on our necks.

Here is where the servants of the King used to live. I like how I was able to get the guard tower and the temple on the mountain in the same shot.

Here's a better look of Phou Si.

This is probably my 100th picture of the King's house.

Before the pandemic, this street used to shut down and be full of tents that were only suitable for people under 5 feet tall. I feel bad for the many people who may have lost their small businesses, but the night market is much better this way.

A white elephant is a blessing in this culture. I wonder if they know what the meaning is in English. In case you don't know, it's like a cursed gift. It got its name from the ancient King of Siam. He would give white elephants to his political enemies knowing they could not work the sacred royal animals and feeding them would make them go bankrupt. My boss gave me a Ford Mustang convertible one time as a gift. I was really happy until I realized how much gas it used and how much passing California state emissions would cost. I ended up dumping it in Mexico for $300.

This hotel with a mix of French and Laos architecture was once full of guests, but now it looks like a ghost house. Thanks for cruising with me around Luang Prabang again with me today. Say NO to white elephants. Wakanda forever! This is the way.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @jeremiahcustis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies. Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors

Congratulations @jeremiahcustis! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@invisusmundi (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now search for your travels on-the-go with our Android App. Download it on Google Play