Amsterdam by night

in TravelFeedlast year

I haven't been in Amsterdam city centre actually since Hivefest last year. Sure we head down to Amsterdam for various reasons every now and then, but actually never stepping out of Central Station.

I think I spoke to a couple of people about this at Hivefest. That I was astonished by when you go on a tourisy day over there exactly how many people are walking in the city centre. And also that it is not the most of appealing place to be, because it is just way too crowded with cars, walking people bikes and trams passing all on the same intersection.

Intense....





I had forgotten this for a little bit when we decided to meet up with a couple of friend in the 'Jordaan' region because one of them lives there. And the easiest way to go is just to central station and walk from there for about 15 minutes. Not a big thing.

But when I left the south of Holland to get there, the skies were grey and kind of drizzly. So I had no idea to expect that Amsterdam had just the perfect weather for a day of strolling around and hanging a bit on the streets and in the terraces. A

Apparently, I wasn't the only one in the world having this idea, and the whole city centre was just jam packed.




Having some music on I just decided to take a couple of small alleys to finally end up where I wanted to be, while actually I just wanted an easy stroll to take a good look around for a bit. But this wasn't attractive at all as it turned out, so I turned on the walking turbo.

Fast forward to later on in the evening when I was walking back that is when the city came to life in the way as that I wanted. Lights are reflecting on the water, and a lot less people are walking by. It was crowded at all, but there were still a lot of people walking around in town looking for their night program and standing in line for this.

I was thinking about the guys living on the boats and wondering how much oise they would get in there, as well as how often it would occur that drunk people try to enter their boat to see how this works.

I love these boats, but I do wonder how often they actually move.




The night stroll was great and now there was really some time to take a good look around and actually enjoy the scenery when it was so tranquil. Now this looked like castles everywhere and as if they were entered to all of these little boats.

We didn't do a boat ride as with hivefest back then, but damn that would even be a better one to do with how nice the weather was. I guess with pass Kings day earlier in the week that Amsterdam was also packed until the point where the city was literally too full to get into.

That wasn't the deal now, and especially in the night. It was just perfect.

Sort:  

I'm more of an Utrecht guy but I loved every bit of Amsterdam. I'll be in the Netherlands this August for two weeks but I'll probably stick around the South half.

I surely have not been in Utrecht enougj to have a decent opinion about it honestly! Yeah...the south in general in the place to be hahahha

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @karinxxl.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more