Village along the fjords

in TravelFeed2 years ago

Now that I am in Norway there is more to explorer...

One of the constraints, however, was that I was traveling by train. This of course means that it is much more difficult to reach some of the more remote places. And should I get off the station and continue by bus, I would often still have to walk for many kilometers to reach a camping place or a youth hostel... This isn't a trip that is too comfortable ;D but when I was young this didn't really bother me too much! On hindsight I would definitely do this journey with a car, but that is also a financial question. And of course traveling like I did meant that I would have many different (and perhaps more diverse) experiences, so it can also be seen in this light.

I got off of a train station in the south of Norway near Kristiansand and decided to travel a bit more inland by bus. Nature is beautiful here with the mountainous terrain, the cliffs and the forests covering them. There was a camping place here so I thought that I would make it my base for a day or two and explorer the little village which was located near a fjord. Here I am walking down a road and while I always thought how much easier it would be having a car (especially when walking on a freeway), being on foot makes you aware of much more details along the way!

CIMG2549.JPG

The architecture as well as the colorful facades made for a some easy postcard pictures. It seems so idyllic living here, although I am sure that I am only getting half of the picture, especially since it was a sunny day.

CIMG2558.JPG

I wanted to explorer the lake here in the valley and it was a beautiful day for doing so.

CIMG2569.JPG

A river feeding into the fjord (or was it simply a narrow side arm?) again highlighted the beauty in this place with the houses built right next to it. I wish that I had a boat to hop into and continue my journey from there. Maybe another day! Can you spot the little house right next to the cliff? Seems so out of this world to live here...

CIMG2547.JPG

The lake was fantastic with some fruit trees and grass at the shore. The water sparkled brilliantly with the clear skies above. I stopped here for a bit of a rest and a snack.

CIMG2559.JPG

CIMG2560.JPG

This would be the perfect place to get away from civilization to spend some time in solitude or together ;)

CIMG2556.JPG

Here in Scandinavia there are a lot of artifacts, stones and also more modern crafts which connect to the past. The Viking heritage can be seen almost everywhere. In this case there were some statues dedicated to the old gods. I liked the idea to use old/dead trees to carve them into the tree. Well actually the tree became the symbol... Here we have what could be Tyr and also Odin. Probably almost everyone knows this one through the Hollywood production of Thor and he is shown here with often portrayed one eye as well as his two ravens.

CIMG2474.JPG

CIMG2476.JPG

Bottom.jpg

⛅🌦🌧🌦🌧🌨☁🌩🌦⛅🌧☁🌤🌥🌪🌧🌨🌩⛅🌦☁🌤🌥🌤⛅🌤⛅🌦⛅

lovetheclouds_community_banner.jpg

Check out the Love The Clouds Community if you share the love for clouds!

⛅🌦🌧🌦🌧🌨☁🌩🌦⛅🌧☁🌤🌥🌪🌧🌨🌩⛅🌦☁🌤🌥🌤⛅🌤⛅🌦⛅

Bottom.jpg

Sort:  

I always thought how much easier it would be having a car (especially when walking on a freeway), being on foot makes you aware of much more details along the way!

I loved walking down the road, especially with views like the one you have in your photo...

The places are really unreal! Very cool! And the last photo reminds me of ✌️.
!CTP

I really admire this place, is so nice

Nice! 👍😊 What small town were you in?

I have to admit that I forgot :D it wasn't really a tourist attraction; I just stopped there because it had a camping place nearby 😅

Congratulations @tobetada! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Looks beautiful.

A great adventure in a beautiful place. I really like the carved statues. 😊

Looks like an amazing place :) How far did you end up walking???

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project