New Zealand Adventure - Drive to Picton

in TravelFeed3 years ago (edited)

As I looked through all my pictures and memories of this part of my trip, I found some pictures and places which I almost completely forgot about.

This post is about my short but scenic drive to Picton. A tiny town nessled in a small bay on the Northern side of the Island. But honestly it's all too much to put into one post and hopefully after the next post, you'll see why.

As much as my time in Picton was memorable, the drive to and from there was an experience by itself and in my opinion truly had some sights to behold.

This is the beginning of that drive.

Not long after setting off from Nelson the road started to head back inland and towards the hills.

20180122_164652.jpg

20180122_171422.jpg

It started to twist and turn between them and before I knew it I was in a valley. There were so many places I could of stopped to admire the view but it would of litetally been stop/start round every bend. Definitely one of the top driving roads but NOT as passenger. 🤢🤮

Not long after, I drove round a blind corner and saw this.

20180122_173649.jpg

I didn't know at the time but I'd stumbled upon part of the Marlborough Sounds, something that I was going to explore in alot more detail very soon!

This part in particular is the Pelorus sound or "Te Hoiere" and heads all the way out to sea.

20180122_173851.jpg

I'm glad to see this place more or less untouched by tourism but I find it facinating that I hadn't even heard of this place before literally driving right into it.

20180122_174342.jpg

20180122_182220.jpg

As I drove further down, I started to see more boats and signs of human settlement.

20180122_183437.jpg

I like taking photos from within a car or whatever vehicle I'm in at the time. Why you might ask? Well for me it helps trigger that memory and therefore that emotion in my brain. It's the same reason I don't edit my photos much unless I'm trying to make them look like what I actually saw.

20180122_183743.jpg

20180122_183559.jpg

As you can see, despite the tide being out the view is still pretty spectacular.

20180122_183531.jpg

This seems to be some sort of logging camp?

20180122_185809.jpg

It was a bit weird to see this kind of thing so close to the coast.

Finally I arrived at Picton.

20180122_190454.jpg

I know what you're thinking. "That doesn't look that great"... yeh I agree, it doesn't. In fact the hostel I stayed at was well... not exactly first choice. I don't even think it was on the Hostelword app.

But before going to bed, I spotted something which I ended up booking for the next day!

In my next post, I will share my experience in this area and I gaurentee that you will be as shocked as I was when I discovered this hidden Gem!

Sort:  

😍 can’t wait to be travelling with u again :) x the gf x

Congratulations @tomatom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @tomatom,
Great to see you posting to the TravelFeed community! We launched the #travelfeed curated tag more than 3 years ago and have been supporting the best travel blogs on Hive ever since. But did you know that TravelFeed has evolved? Based on the feedback of thousands of Hive travel bloggers we created TravelFeed.io.

TravelFeed.io brings together all the benefits of Hive decentralized blogging with features that you as a travel blogger will love: Photo galleries, Instagram embeds, custom maps, automated adding to Pinmapple and more. We also offer many of the features you love on Peakd such as drafts and post scheduling. And if you want, you can even use our easy site builder to set up your own travel blog on your own domain which can be a great way to generate a passive income from your blog!

Unfortunately, focussing on developing the best platform for travelers means that we no longer curate the #travelfeed tag and the TravelFeed Hive community. But, you can log in with your Hive account on TravelFeed.io to publish your next travel post, and it will be posted to Hive automatically! Every day, we select the best posts and reward them with an upvote and added visibility.

We would love to see you on TravelFeed.io soon :)

Looks like you have been travelling a lot. I maintain a list of Brits on Hive and I see you have UK on your profile. Should I add you to the list?

!BEER

If you'd like to. I'm posting more often now. Also what is a BEER token and how would i check balence?

You can see the tokens here. Your LEO is adding up. To give BEER you need to stake a certain amount. That applies with !ENGAGE too. I have a few I can give out as extra rewards.

You need to have 1000 ENGAGE, in order to use this service.


Hey @tomatom, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1163.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: