From Damariscotta, ME to Amherst, MA

in TravelFeed3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210911_121844.jpg

My father dropped me off at my brother's in Damariscotta on the way to catch a flight to Texas (I had earlier blogged about staying at my other brother's house in Thomaston) We had a delicious lunch with fabulous views of the Damariscotta river. We shared fish and chips and nachos and had a lovely talk; mostly about nuns. (don't ask)

IMG_20210911_123257.jpg

My mother met me at Joshua's and we had pizza and watched "Wonder Woman" and "The Mandalorian" before bedding down. The next day we got ice coffee and headed to her place in Portland. We did a lot of shopping for our trip the next day to Amherst to see my uncle and when we got to her apartment we were exhausted.

In the elevator was a sad reminder; so many in the building have been sick, died, or lost loved ones.

IMG_20210913_155357.jpg

It was 8 hours before we finally left for Amherst. I won't say why but Monday was a hard day. The drive as well was long and the traffic was nauseating.

As we came down from Vermont into Western Mass the sky was dark and moody. I have always loved those spooky drives through Satan's Kingdom; the tall trees looming like forgotten gods.

IMG_20210913_194929.jpg

After that long day I had to spend an hour blowing up an air mattress before I could finally rest; however I was rewarded the next day. We woke into a magical fairyland.

IMG_20210914_070726.jpg

The Airbnb was in a beautiful location. I had a coffee outside and strolled around. It gave me a burst of creativity and I began to write a poem.

IMG_20210914_070901.jpg

My mother was still sleeping so I went for a walk. This beautiful scene was less than ten minutes away from our BNB at Mt Pollux.

IMG_20210914_100455.jpg

This lonely tree was once one of two named Castor and Pollux, based on the twin Greek Gods of Horses; one who sacrifices half his immortality for the other. Ironically, one of the trees was struck by lightning and had to be taken down.

IMG_20210914_102005.jpg

The view up on the hill is so peaceful and beautiful. I sat down for an hour and did something embarrassingly creative that might not turn into anything but I had to. Someday maybe I will share.

IMG_20210914_102134.jpg

IMG_20210914_102310.jpg

We spent the rest of the day with my uncle. We went to the goodwill and a large farm store and then had a lovely dinner.

I have no idea what we will do tomorrow yet; I will share more adventures as they come:)

Sort:  

Hi @twirble,
Great to see you posting to the TravelFeed community! We launched the #travelfeed curated tag more than 3 years ago and have been supporting the best travel blogs on Hive ever since. But did you know that TravelFeed has evolved? Based on the feedback of thousands of Hive travel bloggers we created TravelFeed.io.

TravelFeed.io brings together all the benefits of Hive decentralized blogging with features that you as a travel blogger will love: Photo galleries, Instagram embeds, custom maps, post scheduling and more. And if you want, you can even use our easy site builder to set up your own travel blog on your own domain which can be a great way to generate a passive income from your blog!

Unfortunately, focussing on developing the best platform for travelers means that we no longer curate the #travelfeed tag and the TravelFeed Hive community. But, you can log in with your Hive account on TravelFeed.io to publish your next travel post, and it will be posted to Hive automatically! Every day, we select the best posts and reward them with an upvote and added visibility.

We would love to see you on TravelFeed.io soon :)

Looks wonderful! Just read the follow up - what a contrast :)