Travel Pro Places of Interest #210: The Biggest Open Air Market in Bangkok! Part Six (9 photos)

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


This is Klong Toei Market. It's the biggest fresh food/open air market in Bangkok. It's been here for seemingly ever. It's big, it's smelly, it's grungy, and it's raw! And I mean that in all the good and bad ways.

Vegans, Vegetarians, and Animal lovers.....please turn the page and don't come here unless you don't mind having nightmares. Blood and guts of all sorts of things can be found in this place. I wore my water shoes here on a sunny day! They don't call it a wet market for nothing!

Now if you don't mind looking at a cage of turtles next to a table full of suffocating live fish than this place makes for one hell of a cultural experience. Besides all things wet and slimy you do have a lady in the back selling soft drinks of the bizarre kind.

Besides the cultural experience and photo op, we came for the huge selection of fruit and produce at prices half those of the big box stores. I'm also a meat eater, but not in these sanitary conditions. When it comes to meat it's either too fresh and you may have to bring it home and kill it yourself, or you may need to wash your meal down with a bottle of antibiotics to keep the salmonella at bay. Refrigeration, who needs that? So to error on the side of caution, watermelon was looking good and safe!

It's looking like 1912 up in here! Maybe I should have edited the photos in black and white just to fool you! Now come along on a wild ride through food heaven or hell, you decide; here at the Khlong Toei Market in Bangkok Thailand!

THANK YOU

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Check Out My Free E-Book!

How to Live Travel Pro! An In-depth Guide on How to Budget Travel Around the World.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @world-travel-pro! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@invisusmundi (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach out more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

I have finished reading all of the #MarketFriday posts, and I admit that I am so humbled by so many wonderful people out there that take the time and energy to put one together. They always give me a snippet of what your life and culture is like. I have always loved to read every #MarketFriday post, and most times, at least twice, sometimes more if it is long and very involved. I never like to miss anything in it. I cannot even begin to tell you how much they mean to me, that you take the time, As always, I am happy to have you participating in the challenge! I am so inspired the way many of the #MarketFriday posts are presented. There have been some really interesting ways that #MarketFriday has been presented, all of which adds all the more charm to the mixing bowl. The challenge points out our differences, but, then, it also shows many things our cultures share. When the day is done, it shows off how human we all are and how we basically all care about our families and others. I love the experience of it all. I appreciate the love and support given to #MarketFriday! Thank you! Truly! Your participation adds a piece of your world, and I have to say, people are interested in is seeing it. This entire challenge has opened up the world to me and so many others. Thank you again for being a part of all this! I hope you have a fabulous day! Hive on!!
Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:
How to Participate:
Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, clothing, plant, or animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for any kind of service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture.(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community #196308 to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them.
As always, please remember! #MarketFriday loves you!
Upped and reposted
!tip .20

NOTE: Please forgive the not so personal reply that you normally get from me. Although I have enjoyed them, I unfortunately have a family funeral to attend on Friday and I have been preoccupied at the moment. Please understand that it was the unexpected death of my brother, who was young, and it was before COVID, but, he was waiting to be buried in Arlington National Cemetery. COVID put his burial off, and now I get to relive it all over again. :/ He will be buried on Friday, with full military honors. There will be no #MarketFriday on Friday October 2. However, if you put one up, or it is scheduled, I will get to it as soon as possible. Thank you for understanding.

#MarketFriday loves you!

🎁 Hi @world-travel-pro! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.