Street Art - Local Tagging Crews

in StreetArt2 years ago

Hello lovely Hiveans !

PhotoCollage_1635179459784.jpg

I recently came across a tunnel, under a pedestrian bridge, that was completely tagged by sprayers. This place was not like many others that I already saw in the past, which usually show countless small and rather unprofessional tags and motives on it. Instead, it featured around 20 individual zones on both side of the road, which had just a single name tag on it. This appeared far more structured and organized. In addition, the tags looked really nice and well done. Thus, this time I decided to picture them and compile them into a little tour for the Street Art Community 😉

Let's Start the Tour

The entrance to the tunnel looked already interesting. The best thing is, that there were overall three trash bins around where the sprayer could get rid of their spray cans. I looked inside and figured out that it was exclusively used for this purpose.

IMG_20211024_211926.jpg

Right at the beginning, there was a very long thematic tag on the wall. It looks like it was a crew of four people who decided to create a nice crew tag together. The basis was a HALLOWEEN THEME with many little details on it, such as pumpkins, bats, wolves, old trees, many little graves and more. This was then topped with the name tags of the crew members.

IMG_20211024_195837.jpg

IMG_20211024_195729.jpg

Another tag that I really liked was this one here, showing a DEEPSEA THEME. It shows a really cool frogfish in the middle and one jellyfish on each side. The Theme is really nicely represented with the dark background on one hand and the shadows of the blue letter color that is playing with the light of the frogfishs lantern on the other hand.

IMG_20211024_200050.jpg

The next one that I like to show here seems to be and 15 years anniversary tag of two different people. It's held in black and white on a gray background. It's probably the one with the fewest colors used, but I like how it came out. There are so many details on it, such as the "15 years" line, the little "CREW" letters below, and the colors that seem to splash in between the letters or drop from them in some cases.

IMG_20211024_200216.jpg

Then there were two tags that are made from the same artist. They look very similar to each other, but the interesting thing is, that after some closer looks there are many little differences detectable, but still an overall style, such as the sharp ends of the letters.

IMG_20211024_200326.jpg

IMG_20211024_200551.jpg

The last one was interesting to me, as it gives a hint of what was behind all these individual tagging zones that are used for name tags nowadays. There seemed to be a really nice octopus behind the actual paint. I don't know how it looked like before int his tunnel, but believe that it was already used many times by different sprayer for their creative hobby.

IMG_20211024_211711.jpg

There were many many more name tags sprayed in this tunnel, but I only focus on these here that I found most interesting and mentionable. I am actually no expert in tagging, so I don't know which ones to choose ideally, but I was lead in this decision by the impression that their artwork left in my mind, which is probably the intuition expected when watching art -- I hope you like it too ^^

I have one last one for you. It's not a name tag, but I like it nevertheless ^^

IMG_20211024_200738.jpg

THANK YOU FOR WATCHING !


All pictures were taken by myself, @adalger, with a Xiaomi Redmi Mobile Phone. All shown tags are sprayed inside a tunnel at the Ruhr-University Bochum in Germany. They were recorded in October 2021.


AmBan.jpgClickable Banner that redirects to the Community ^^

GIF-210420_030217.gifClickable Banner that redirects to the Community ^^

IMG_20200208_120948.png
Clickable Banner that redirects to the DNA Discord server, the home of the nature communities on Hive ^^

Terminal banner.pngClickable Banner that redirects to the Terminal Discord server ^^

Support @dna.org

    


If you want to know more about me, just look up my Introduceyourself post or follow my blog ^^

Learn more about @adalger here !


Best wishes,
Adalger

Sort:  

Tagging is not my favourite style... but I like some of those drawings, specially the octopus! 😎

Hehe, luckily they left the eyes there too admire 😉 .. from what I saw the drawings before were all really nicely done too .. maybe I should check this place out every few months 😁

Absolutely epic artwork and that is definitely not what we are seeing here in Portland with the massive amount of vandalism graffiti that just looks horrible.

Art is art and there is places for you to do that. Thank you very much for posting this and I was incredibly odd by the amount of artistic talent in these works!

There are some places here too where you find these trash tags around, but overall, people here in Germany respect this artwork a lot and put in a lot of effort .. there are always some places where spraying is allowed and people use them for getting creative .. these crews here under this specific bridge are really good in what they do .. it looks so difficult, especially when I consider the big size of these tags, and these artist earn my respect for this .. all this little details in some tags are just amazing to watch .. I wish I could spray like this 🤣

Absolutely I think that there should be designated artistic spaces.

And I also have to agree that this is some phenomenal artistry. I am pretty amazed at the difference in quality and effort that I'm seeing as opposed to what I normally see in Portland Oregon which is a bunch of trash garbage broken windows and boarded up buildings.

Special areas for tagging are really good ! .. artists have a spacer to live their passion without fear of getting arrested and without any pressure in the neck .. and it hinders that people just tag randomly on buildings and elsewhere .. prohibiting anything was never a good solution ^^

Here in Portland there is so much graffiti vandalism that it has reached an epic proportion and really trashed the city.

It is a shame because there is so much artistic space in the Portland area that is acceptable to work with however the individuals that decided to vandalize my home on wheels didn't really care and destroyed city parks and targeted businesses as well as private individuals.

I am all for art. I'm just not for vandalizing and destruction.

Stunning works in this tunnel, especially the Halloween mural (perfect at this time of the year). Thanks for sharing these pics on The StreetArt Community.

I found it really well done too 😊 .. It's nice to see a Street Art community here in Hive and thought that you may like it 😁 .. this Halloween Theme is really nice indeed. Must have been a lot of work and paint that they used on it 🎃