CCC's Street Art Contest #111 Unknown Artists, Salt River, Cape Town

in StreetArt2 years ago

I took these photos of that Mural during a walk through cape towns salt river, a suburb next to woodstock which are the main two street art hubs.

I´m pretty apolitical and non-religious but I did like that one. So I just did a bit of research. While I could not find out who the artist is I found out some other interesting facts about this painting.

In the streetart scene it says: "No Wall design is untouchable. If you think you can to it better, go ahead."

IMG_1142.JPG

This is not what the original mural looked like. During some Israel-Palestine unrests in 2021 some south african artists modified a few murals in town and this was one of it.

Before they modified it the only colour was the green in the prayer beads. The artrists then added colours to the scarf, added a red tear in the woman´s eye as well as the text, saying: "From salt river to the sea, palestina will be free"

IMG_1144.JPG


While this is by far not the best mural I´ve seen, it transports one of the strongest messages I´ve ever seen and that's why this modification was perfectly fine.

IMG_1143.JPG


Kopie von HIVE Photography.png

Sort:  

I love the quote and it was followed to the letter with this addition of color in support of the Palestinian people 👍 Thanks for sharing these pics on The StreetArt Community.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Beautiful find. Thank you for sharing. It's beautiful, I love it. the images you took are fabulous. Good luck in the contest. Best regards @betterthanhome 🌈

thank you so much. Glad you like it.

Great find with indeed a powerful message…
Thanks for sharing.
Have a great day 👋🏻😊

Thank you. Same to you...enjoy your evening

You are welcome 😎 thanks a lot 🤓