STREET ART #106 - Still in «the manga street-art alley» in Port Louis (Mauritius)

in StreetArt2 years ago

DSC_01.JPG

As I wrote in my previous post, this small alley has lots of amazing murals. Allmost all the walls on one side of the street is completely covered, so I will continue with a selections from this alley. Because of probably around 40 pieces if I count all the small ones, I have to divide the post and I chose to make a selection.








This part of the wall is located right at the entrance from Sun Yat Sen Street and has a lot of details and small pieces reaching down to street level. It says «New Chinatown Foundation» on the wall. This is a non profit organisation formed by a group of young people who wanted to renew the rather run down Chinatown. The foundation is behind the project in this alley. When the renewed Chinatown a couple of years ago, they invited artists from China who worked together with local artists to make the roject possible.






To get a good look at all the small paintings and details, I took some close ups. An amazing wall! Now I do not know the names of all these comics, but it is quite clear to me that these characters are similar or might even be portrait some of the characters appearing in the Japanese comics.






I haven't checked all the artists yet, but see that most the walls were done in 2020. I do think they are all local artists. Mauritius was closed for many month last year because of the pandemic. I don't think any international artist came during that year. They certainly have been creative and very active.

You like street art? Join our street art contest ->
CCC's Street Art Contest #67 | 100% Liquid Payout as Prize Pool & Winners of #66


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or reblogs are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #105 – The «manga « street-art alley in Port Louis (Mauritius)


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)

[//]:# (!pinmapple -20.171416 lat 57.505171 long STREET ART #106 - Still in «the manga street-art alley» in Port Louis (Mauritius) d3scr)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Article, Poetry

Sort:  

What a cool place! That street art is awesome, especially smiling Kaonashi <3 <3 <3

 2 years ago  

Yeah, that little alley certainly took me by surprise!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Great selection again 👍 I like all the works representing Studio Ghibli (Spirited Away, Totoro...)

@tipu curate

 2 years ago  

Thank you for the link to the videos! I am not very familiar with the characters... but after checking the videos I think I have missed something here... :)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!