Urban aesthetics

in StreetArt2 years ago

20221002_132133.jpg

The aim of art is to represent not the outward appearance of things, but their inward significance.

- Aristotle -



I was out and about yesterday and in my travels wandered through one of the universities in the city. It's an interesting place to be on the weekends because there's almost no one around and that means one can wander a little more aimlessly and in peace and quiet. I love the mix of old and new architecture found there and despite the fact some is decidedly 1970's it all sort of works together.

I've walked through many times and have always found myself gravitating towards this mural; I'm not sure why, but I've never photographed it before and decided to rectify that yesterday...and to share it with you.

The mural is by Irishman Fin DAC (Finbarr Notte) and was created in January 2019 at the University of Adelaide, South Australia, Australia. Fin was assisted by a gentleman called Jack Fran. Apparently the model was a girl called Christina Nadin, although I am not sure how accurate that is.

Fin has painted murals in many countries including America, Canada, all across Europe, New Zealand, Tahiti and, of course, Australia - The lad gets around. He calls his style urban aesthetics and most of his artwork revolves around the empowerment of women with his style being heavily influenced by his love of Asian beauty.

The piece is called "Simchoon" and is one of two Fin DAC has done in Adelaide with the first called, “Zaluuokhin” being located in one of the city lanes - I'll go and take some shots of it one day.

You can click the link for the Simchoon, timelapse video on YouTube if you like.

20221002_132118.jpg

I really love street art and big murals like this as I feel they enhance the surroundings. I'm not into graffiti though, I find that ugly and irrelevant. Commissioned murals like this however have great appeal, add a splash of colour and, most often have a message to deliver also. This is on of the best I've seen but, sorry, my photos don't really do it justice.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Any images in this post are my own

Artist: Fin DAC
Date: January 2019 (approximately)
Location: Adelaide University, South Australia

Sort:  

There's certain types of graffitti that I love and I'm fine with tags when you're signing art with them. I otherwise see them as the shitposts of the street art/graffitti world though XD

I do love the giant murals, think they make otherwise architecturally disinteresting buildings that much better.

Painting rubbish on people's property without permission is vandalism and it costs the owner money to remove or detracts from the business, home or suburb. I fail to see the point to be honest. Commissioned art like this one is different though.

The justice you have served with these photos did just the job. They look absolutely stunning.

I have not really seen murals as beautiful as this one. They are not common here in Nigeria; or maybe I just do not go out often.

...and to imagine how long and how challenging it can be to make one mural. I saw the timelapse and I now have an idea how tough, yet beautiful the process can be.

Hopefully, you show us the other mural in Adelaide by Fin DAC someday.

I'll get a photo of the other one at some stage, it's in a small lane and difficult to get far enough away to get it all in in one shot though. I'll give it a go.

I love seeing street art, the commissioned and uncommissioned (but not ugly graffiti either) It's like giant art gives off some sort of good energy when you are close to it.

Yeah I agree, although I don't like to see people's property defaced without permission. We hav loads of street art around here and most is very good.

That is indeed gorgeous.

What a gift... to be able to create on that scale and in such a public way.

I wonder how much he has to edit himself to be allowed to do it.

Really beautiful work though. And clever. If the glasses with the Geisha ensemble is what he's alluding to...

I'm not sure how much he gets paid to do this but he does it all over the world so I guess it's lucrative. It's nice to come across pieces like this.

Well he's that good!

Thanks for sharing with us and I'd love to see the other one when you get around to it.

Happy Monday 😊🌻

custom murals like this one have great appeal, add a splash of color and, more often than not, also have a message to convey.

This beautiful mural Mr. @galenkp is a reflection of that area where it is located, I can see from my perspective an indigenous woman whose left eye cries, perhaps for discovering her social self, of a culture in full metamorphosis by the posture of her hands.

Thank you for sharing, and let me tell you that I don't like graffiti either.

It's interesting to hear what different people see in art work, some just see a nice picture and some look a little more deeply. This one is rather striking in real life and well worth the effort to go the university to see it.

It's interesting to hear what different people see in art work, some just see a nice picture and some look a little more deeply. This one is rather striking in real life and well worth the effort to go the university to see it.

The perspective of each one must be by the visual memories, and experiences as I say, the ontological filters of the human being.

Beautiful wall... And perfect to go there the weekend, you can't be disturbed to take the perfect shot. Thanks for sharing these pic on The StreetArt Community.

Thanks and yeah it's a really great mural. I will try and get to the city soon and photograph his other one as mentioned.

I really like street art. This picture is very clear to me and I really like the color combination. And to me this is a very clean color. I feel like she's waiting telling on to something.

It's an attractive piece of art and quite cleverly done indeed.

I really love the mural ♥️The color combinations and all the details make it perfect . I wish I can walk to beautiful street like this. 🙂

It's a really great mural and brightens up the area, adds a nice artistic touch. Do you have street art like this in your location?

So beautiful.. So want to see it up close :)

It's pretty cool huh?

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 70000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 70500 replies.
You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I'm a fan of street art, especially the big, bolder pieces that have a message. There is a lot of graffiti in some places, mostly defacing property, but not nearly as much as there used to be.

I went to the Metro in Paris which had incredible art there. Just like a museum.

Oh yeah, there's some mad art in the Metro at Paris. So cool huh? You know, Paris has a graffiti removal crew and when called out they head over and remove the graffiti really quickly. Like the Ghostbusters, but for graffiti...so, the Graffitibuster's.

I would love to see myself being painted in my country like this, she must be a genius to be remembered with this piece of work

It's a good artwork indeed, the man who painted it is very skilled.

When I first saw it,, I thought it was a picture..great work and nice for showing us this masterpiece