Banksy, a DJ, 12 monkeys, flowers and a dog

in StreetArt2 years ago



cl58o433q003a0imz8t13bm60_20220704_141806.jpg
The Mild Mild West by Banksy
cl58o4cxu00360xmz4aja4gif_20220704_204057.jpg
Naked Man by Banksy
cl58o4nbx002c2dmzew9nf00v_20220704_153731.jpg
DJ Derek by Haka
cl58o4tj3003d0imzh4whauz2_20220704_155923.jpg
No. 12 on Christmas Step
cl58o50vm00390xmz4g8b7jqg_20220704_203649.jpg
The Florist by Jody
cl58o5am1002f2dmz40cb420l_20220704_204748.jpg
cl58o5l8100311hmz0bqzf9xd_20220704_155050.jpg
Gromit

Bristol is a city in south west of UK that is pretty famous for its street art. It probably propelled to the international scene in the late 90s when Banksy started painting all over the city, and then it mushroomed from there. Now Banksy and Bristol are pretty much synonymous. One of Banksy's earlier works is The Mild Mild West from 1999. Yesterday I dropped by a cafe that's next to the mural. How many places in the world can you enjoy a cup of coffee right under such a cool masterpiece?

Following my cup of coffee, I spent the afternoon wandering around Bristol city center immersing myself in the various forms of street art. There's another one of Banksy's famous works called the Naked Man. This mural was painted in 2006 and has been defaced twice. The first, said to be by one of Banksy's rival who shot 7 blue paintballs at it. Most of the paintballs have been removed, apart from the three you see. The second time, someone sprayed over naked man's foot and tagged the mess underneath.

Across the road from The Mild Mild West, is a beautiful mural on two sides of a house, It was done in two stages. The first was by Haka in 2016, and is a tribute to a well known local DJ, DJ Derek who died in 2015. That's his face at the bottom right corner. The geometric pattern were added after wards on the other side of the house. I couldn't find information about who did it, and it looked pretty new, maybe the street art scene hasn't written about it yet.

In Bristol, there is a very old street called Christmas Steps that dates back to the 17th century. The street itself has historical significance and the buildings are listed, thus street art is not a present here. However I did see this very cool drawing on the front door, which is not actually no. 12 on the street. The 12 monkey seems very apt for the video shop, yup, that's what it says on the sign - video!!!

Next is The Florist by Jody, a local Bristolian artist. It depicts a girl's face covered by a big bunch of flowers and was painted in 2018 when the restaurant was opened. No prizes for guessing what the restaurant is called!!! Due to the positioning of the mural, it doesn't get much sunlight, good for keeping its colour, but not so good if you like sharp bright flowers like I do. Nevertheless, this is really impressive.

Last and not least, here's a couple images of art on the streets of Bristol. Not urban "street art" such as graffiti, but I think any form of artistic presentation in the open can be called street art. A few months ago, I saw something crop up on internet news feed about some of the roads in the city centre being painted with flowers by the local council. I didn't pay much attention to it at that time, just thought it looked very pretty. I remembered that bit of news yesterday when I saw the flowers yesterday, and wish I knew what they were for. They were on quite a few roads, mostly junctions, and it wasn't to identify a pedestrian area. I've tried to google its purpose but to no avail, and that's quite annoying.

And finally, when it comes to artistic creation in Bristol, Gromit needs a mention as well. Wallace and Gromit are an animated duo who's creation studio are Bristol based. These Gromits are part of an outdoor exhibition from previous years that were placed around the city as part of the Gromit Unleashed trail. I couldn't resist taking a photo of him as he looked so cute and innocent, almost as he was begging for a photo. Gromit, now you are on the Hive blockchain forever!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Too funny. I had to zoom in on the video shop. The L i in flicks looks like a U!

Shocking!!!!! What your mind sees!!!! But now you mention it 😄😄

My favorite pic was the one with the girl holding flowers: The Florist. It brings "happiness" to the restaurant where it was painted.

And the fact her face is covered it nice as well, you can imagine what she looks like

The naked man by banksy is fantastic. I've never been to Bristol, but I now have a reason to visit. Thanks for sharing!

What!!! How is that possible?? Bristol is cool, come on over some time.

Btw, it's been ages since I've been able to post from Liketu, everytime I try, the images never load. Is the platform all sorted now?

Images never load from where? The uploader?

From where I write the post, is that the uploader?

A couple of times it kept on uploading and wouldn't finish, and most times I uploaded like 10 images then a few just disappeared. Last week I uploaded the images, started writing then hit save draft, It kept on spinning for ages so I hit refresh and lost everything (luckily I had my draft elsewhere). I tried it on both FF and Chrome and it was the same. Today I uploaded all the images and text and hit post immediately. It felt a bit like waiting for exam results, and I passed at last 😄

Very cool selection of Street Art. I really like the Florist done by Jody 👍 And with a Banksy, Bristol is a city to be visited 😀

Thanks for sharing these pics on The StreetArt Community.

Lol 😆😂🤣. I can imagine how Gromit looked when begging for a photo.

I also do like the flowers painted on the road. Kinda strange for there not to be a reason for the drawings on the internet. We don't know, maybe a local might know why.

Btw the Cafe is looking beautiful!

The café is by a busy road but is quite well shielded so great to chill out

Great pieces of art that you found. It's too bad some idiots like to deface work like that with crap - tags or paintballs. I loved the original Wallace and Gromit movies. I had videos of the first 3 in the series.

Sometimes I think defacing graffiti is part of the parcel, you'd almost expect some jerk to spoil it because a/ they think they can enhance it by adding their own piece or b/ they're jealous of the work coz they can't create it themselves.

Yes that is true and both examples are very likely.

Awesome shots! I really like the naked man. That is probably my favorite one of all of them. It is very innovative and it has that definite style that is "banksy". What a great place to take a stroll!

The naked man has been around forever, and initially the local council wanted to remove it, then I think the locals protested and demanded for it to stay. Now I think the local council understand and appreciate the value in his works...

Amazing shots😍I love it ,the place looks quitr and other thing I like it the clean soroundings.

Thanks for dropping by

Wow, what a juicy graffiti! Dove as a bird of peace

I never found out who did the Dove as my main focus was on Banksy piece. Maybe I should go back another time to check it out

Wow… great works of art and so cool to see one of the earlier works from Banksy
In Paris, where I was the last 5 days… so haven’t been that active 😉, I found some amazing works too also one of banksy his red horseman. (What is left of it…)
Thanks for sharing @livinguktaiwan
Love the flowers on the road 🌸🌸🌸

You've been a busy little bee!!! So we shall see some Paris travels from you!!!

Yep I have hehehe 🤭 in the next days and weeks some Paris will come by @livinguktaiwan 😁
Love that city, we had such a great time.
Posted a little walk past the canal and saw a boat go through it already 😉
It was also great the nights were cold… so early mornings and evenings it was fresh… such a nice breather from hot 🥵 Spain.
Have a wonderful day today 👋🏻☀️

Bristol is a great place to visit, can't argue. Bastard of a place to drive through though!!!!

Maybe it's my local city, so I'm ok with it, but I always hate it when I have to drive to another city that I'm not familiar with, stresses me out!!

gosh! that is what I love about travel new places and getting lost cursing and swearing at Siri !!!!

It's fascinating to learn about these arts, their stories, and the people who created them. Love those street arts. They makes the place more vibrant and unique. Bristol definitely has a thriving art scene ❤️

Congratulations @livinguktaiwan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 56000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 58000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day
The 7th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!