Tis the season. The season for gaming.

in Hive Pizza2 years ago

For me, this time of year brings around the desire to wrap up in my favorite blanket, make some hot tea, and settle in for some serious gaming. The good ole fashion "blanket burrito" technique. I know it's time when I find myself wanting to play a very specific set of games. Almost making it a seasonal ritual!

I figured as I launch into each of these games this year I would take a moment to share them!

My first launch of the year is queue drum roll... 🥁


Red Dead Redemption 2

Screenshot_61.png

This is a pretty popular title and definitely, one that I felt gave me "my money's" worth. I'm not sure how many hours I have in the game but it's a lot. It's a major bonus that this game has enough playability (and new content) to keep me returning, even after taking a year-long hiatus. Even though in reality I keep finding it's the little things in this game that have me coming back.

Screenshot_38.png


There is a story mode in Red Dead Redemption 2 but most of my hours have gone into RDR2 Online. This game mode offers most of the features story mode offers AND gives you the ability to customize your appearance. Meaning, I didn't have to be the main default character "Arthur" anymore. Instead, I was able to "cowboy-up" in a skin that felt a little bit more immersive to my experience.

Screenshot_21.png

Although, playing in this mode does provide a few hurdles.

For example, to be able to access the "cool stuff" (such as clothes, better weapons, and horses!) you have to spend time grinding to level up. That combined with the fact that earning cash can be slow too. One way around this is to find yourself a posse to run missions for your profession (professions are jobs like moonshiner, naturalist, and bounty hunter). That is by far the fastest way to get that money.

Certain things are paywalled by in-game purchasing. Meaning you have to spend real cash to get them. This usually only applies to cosmetic items - like clothing. Not things with stats like in-game weapons.


The map has a full range of biomes to explore. Although I am rather fond of taking expeditions into the mountains. It's fun to go through the motion of collecting supplies and some of the things I need for a hunting/ photography trip. Your character will need the right clothes and plenty of food for you and your horse. Blizzards frequently storm in the Grizzly Mountain range making visibility almost impossible at times.

Screenshot_56.pngScreenshot_50.png

The longer you're in the cold the more your clothes become frost-ridden. Steam even rises from your horse if you make them sprint in the snow for long periods. Your character starts to shiver and lightly cough. The horse will grunt as it pushes through snow that is piled up to its chest. Brushing against the leaves of a snow-covered tree makes the snow fall to the ground. So many small details that add up to one amazing and beautiful game.

Oh wow. Much immersions.


Screenshot_51.png

Exploring this map is one of my favorite activities. I spend the majority of my time leisurely riding my horse across the map, looking for new things to check out (occasionally wandering into a bandit stronghold). Rarely do I push my horse into a sprint unless I run into an obnoxious pack of wolves or a malicious player.

I also take full advantage of the cinematic mode that is natively built into the game. Giving some amazing views and even better screenshots.

rd1.png

For a solo player, RDR2 Online can be daunting. Yes, there are hackers, Yes there are folks who will shoot you just because you were the only person in proximity - but I will follow that up with, I rarely run into actual players unless I choose to go to town. In my last session of 4 hours, I ran into 1 person on 'free roam'. There is also a camp feature that grants you damage immunity as long as you are standing in it. This prevents other players from harassing you.

Screenshot_22.png

Red Dead Redemption 2 hits a lot of high notes for me. Between the dynamic elements of the map, the interaction and bonding that can be done with your horse, and even the NPCs, the world becomes so full. I get that "pretending to be in a western" isn't exactly for everyone! And that's ok! I do know that there is a lot of attention to detail and hard work poured into this game and I enjoy every minute of it.


All screenshots were taken by me, huzzah, and are from the game: Red Dead Redemption 2


Check out my friends and fellow collaborators on HIVE!

Hive.Pizza hosts events every week! 🍕
Events like Movie Night, Trivia Quizzes, Poker, and Chess Tournaments!
With the potential to win free $PIZZA and NFTs! Make sure to check out the discord linked above for more information
.

resize2.png

🌟Huzzah🌟

Sort:  

YEEHAW COWPOKE :)
See you on the other side

of my six shooter :D
!pizza

 2 years ago  

Yeehaw!

Sounds like a rootin' - tootin' time!

!PIZZA
untitled.gif

Wow! These screenshots are awesome. Is it First Person or 3rd person? Obvs I can see the screenshots look 3rd person, but you mention that it is so immersive. I'm sure my brother plays it. Hubby is into 1st person and VR. I must ask my bro as if he hasn't then this may turn out to be a great recommendation for him !LOL !PIZZA !ALIVE

 2 years ago  

That's a great question. The game can be manually switched between 1st and 3rd person views. I like to use 3rd person for screenshots

VR is not a default feature for this game (although I wish it was). I do believe a 3rd party came out with a mod to make the game VR compatible (for pc only). But I haven't looked into that too much.

If either of them does end up picking it up, I hope they like it! This game has given me hours of entertainment!
!PIZZA

fab, thanks for the reply. I shall let them know about it! May even look at it myself at some point...but time??? lols

 2 years ago  

Lol, I hear ya. Free time is the hardest thing to come by!

If the stars ever do align and you all have it on the same platform (example: PC) you can all form a party and roam the old west together! The game is pretty great that way. Plenty to do solo or with friends!

Good luck! May there be more time for hobbies and fun things in your future!

Plenty of time for fun...there is just too much choice of what to do...and too much we want to do haha but yes, one day I hope to free up some more of the workday and take the time back for myself. !PIZZA !ALIVE

@huzzah! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (8/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Did you hear about the Irish guy who was assasinated at the antique store?
It was a knick knack paddywhack!

@huzzah, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @samsmith1971
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (2/4)

I can't believe the definition it has,😱 it seems real hahahaha

 2 years ago  

Riiight? It's so beautiful! A lot of detail was put into the ambient nature of the world. When you add in sounds and the moving NPCs (like a rabbit darting across the road) - it just makes it so much better - it's a fantastic game.

!PIZZA

One of my favorite "gaming moments" is in the first RDR when you ride into Mexico for the first time. A quiet song from Jose Gonzalez slowly sets in as the scenery changes around you as you enter a new chapter of the story. I always thought that was very elegantly done!

I've been meaning to take some time for part 2...looks to be an epic beast indeed.

Keep making Eastwood proud!

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

Ohhh I totally know the scene you're talking about. Man, RDR was so phenomenal in its own ways. Its sequel doesn't disappoint.

You definitely should launch it when you can! I know free time is scarce - but a moment to recharge the batteries (and ride out on digital horseback) is definitely worthwhile!

I think if you started the story mode you may have a hard time putting it down.

!PIZZA

Awesome I loved rea dead haven't gone back to it since I beat it but this looks amazing you captured some beautiful pictures
What do you think !PIZZA was like back in these days I wonder how far Pizza has evolved over the years haha

 2 years ago  

Thank you! The game has so many "pretty" moments. I took way more screenshots than I ended using. 😅

That is a great question about pizza. 🤔
In all my history lessons - I don't ever recall reading about !PIZZA in the old west!

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!
@huzzah! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
huzzah tipped evelyn.micaela (x1)
huzzah tipped nyxlabs (x1)
samsmith1971 tipped huzzah (x2)
drabs587 tipped huzzah (x1)
@huzzah(1/14) tipped @sephiwolf (x1)
huzzah tipped samsmith1971 (x1)
sephiwolf tipped huzzah (x1)
huzzah tipped drabs587 (x1)
huzzah tipped dadspardan (x1)
nyxlabs tipped huzzah (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

!PIZZA

image.png

 2 years ago  

Heck yeah! Love Cowboy Bebop! Shame about the Live action show, but the original is amazing!

!PIZZA

Ho Ho Ho! @huzzah, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Merry Christmas and asked us to give you a new badge!

The HiveBuzz team wish you a Merry Christmas!
May you have good health, abundance and everlasting joy in your life.

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends