Tired of Pizza? Try a home-made 'Calzone'

in Hive Pizza3 years ago

image.png


Around 2 years BP (Before Pandemic :) my wife, who is a pizza addict & I began experimentingbwith making our own home-made pie. I've shared the results, on Hive, and hope to continue to do so with other pizza lovers out there.

Emboldened by our successes over the years, we got more ambitious and have attempted to make another Italian favorite, and variation on theme. Calzone, basically, is a pizza folded in half (before cooking) with stuffing -- think of a glorified hot pocket.

As with making a pizza, the joy of creating a calzone is that you can stuff it with whatever you like or happen to have in your kitchen, at the moment. In this one, I sautéed cubed chicken , as well as broccoli with onion:


image.png


image.png


Next step was kneading the dough. Basically, it's the same as preparing a pizza. I noticed that if you dust the dough, liberally, with flour it makes for easier to handle.

The base for this calzone consisted of tomato sauce mixed with pesto and, once chicken and broccoli were prepped, I added Parmesan & Swiss cheese on top of them.


image.png


image.png


Now, comes another tricky part... Carefully, folding the dough over, again, using more flour helps (as it might be quite sticky). Try to leave around one inch of a flap on the outside, which you can then pinch with slightly moistened fingers, to seal the sides.


image.png


It helps to make a few breathing holes in this edible art and if you're feeling fancy, as a last step before popping it into the oven, you can lightly applied egg whites to the top & sprinkled more (Parmesan) cheese.


image.png


image.png


Preheat your oven to 450 degrees, and slip your pizza pocket in for around 17 minutes. The mouth-watering, golden-delicious results speak for themselves...


image.png


Bon Appétit!


img_6479.jpg

Sort:  

I love Calzones, but have never attempted to make them myself.

Yours looks SO delicious !

Cool, you should try it, at home! We're lucky in that we can pick up pizza dough and sauce from the supermarket (Trader Joe's) and the rest is ... up to you :)

That last step with egg batter & cheese makes a difference!

I wish we had a Trader Joe's nearby, but sadly we do not.

I do have a niece in another city that loves to shop there. Maybe I could get her to bring me some one day. :)

PIZZA!
@yahia-lababidi! The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Thank you, @pizzabot for your support 🤖

This looks all yummy 😋

Thanks for creating the steps and sharing it. I hope you enjoyed this as much as I am enjoying looking at the photo and hoping I could get a bite... 🥺

Happy to hear I made you drool :P It is delicious and not unhealthy.

Why don't you pick up dough from the supermarket and give it a go ?

Why don't you pick up dough from the supermarket and give it a go ?

A dough from the supermarket? I don't even know if e have that around here .... I'll check it out though

Thanks

You don’t know till you look 👀

Even frozen works ✌🏽

I'll definitely look around. Thank you 😊

Pizza omelettes are more my speed these days but that does look delicious:)

I hear you, @prydefoltz, and am not always up for a production like the one above :p Omelets work in a pinch or even just a cup of soup (out of a carton, shhh) some daze...

I can make a mean omelette in my waffle iron ... true story:):):)

No fair, you win! Just discovered air fryers, recently, and it's like having a sous chef and a nutritionist by my side. Faster, healthier, tastier food; take that, waffle iron :P

Haha ... I not I can promote the frying of air. LOL