The Driveway Saga Season 3: Episode: 11 - "A Chilled Out Weekend "

in Just Because3 years ago

March 15th, 2021

A Front-end Snow Load

While a lot of the world is talking Spring or Fall, we are still in the thralls of winter where I live. We have had a pretty mild winter when it comes to temperatures. We missed all the minus temps until this weekend. Thursday morning minus 1, Friday and Saturday mornings minus 6, and that 6 degrees in the morning got just a tad bit colder on Sunday at minus 7 for the lowest I have seen this season.

Not only was it cold but late Saturday it started to snow a little bit, by Sunday morning only about 2 inches of very cold dry snow.

The snow fall took a short break on Sunday morning, but by Sunday afternoon it was snowing again. Very fine float in the air snow that causes white out conditions on roads, we still had to go out but it was just a very short trip and not far at all.

There was quite a bit of traffic which surprised me, but maybe everyone was thinking back to the last Sunday snow we had a month ago where it turned wet and messy. Important thing is we made our trip successfully for the few items we are always out of on Sunday, and made it home safe, I really dis-like driving in those conditions, but it is slow down, and be careful, and things will be fine.

So on with the Picture Show:

front pile

The pile grow in front of where I park. Parking area and driveway in general are getting pretty thin. We have had a lot of snow this last month and a half. Today due to all the snow, difficulty pushing the snow and having a place to put it, he came with his D8 front end loader.

View from the parking area

A two image pano of the driveway view from where I park, you can see how large the piles have grown especially just to the right of the bird pole there. The roof snow finally let go on I think it was Wednesday so looking out the slider about five feet of piled crushed and compacted snow on the deck. I don't have pictures of that, but perhaps tomorrow I will show a few static shots out my upstairs window.

Driveway area

A four panel shot of the driveway. It is getting pretty bleak looking at all the snow this late in the season, secondary parking area is pretty much gone,he had to put the snow somewhere, so next time if there is one, I will have to do like the previous snow removal and just wait on the street.

In and out driveway view

The road part of the driveway at least the edges are well marked and it is now pretty hard to get over far enough to be in the little ditches. Last view is just a big pile of snow.

pano22 big pile crop ul_00001.jpg
So that was our weekend, cold and snowy, with one pretty warm day this week. I am not sure when March is going to start going out like a lamb, but I hope that poor lamb has already learned to swim, because we have a lot of snow left to melt.


Season 3 links


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 48 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

7 years I have been here and this is the worst March ever. Not as much snow as you but still not pleasant. Must be the global warming hey, wait sorry "climate change"...

A very odd start, only needed to be plowed out once in December last year, No minus temperatures until March...now that is very unusual. Cycle of the north pacific oscillation going away, so possible a pretty nice spring and summer for us, with maybe a return of the El Nino for the middle pacific. I am not one that believes in climate change caused by man, just long term cycles. Of course they will still say it was all man made.

If it makes them money they will say it is man made indeed.