The Driveway Saga Season 3: Episode: 2 - "After Thanksgiving"

in Just Because3 years ago

November 29th, 2020

First Real Snow


So our first real snow of the season, (more than half an inch) was pretty much last night and this morning. We did get about a half inch of snow on Thanksgiving day, but with the snow from last night and this morning we got about two inches of snow in total and it was still lightly snowing.

Last year we had our first snow on October 28th, so pretty much a month late from the last couple of years. These were taken with my smart phone so not the best quality at all, but I did not want to chance my big camera getting any moisture on it.

driveway 1.png

That was the view before we began our Sunday outing. The day before Thanksgiving we had that slight warm up and freeze, so there is a little bit of ice under the snow. Compacted snow is not bad to walk on, but fresh loose snow over ice can be a nightmare, you just do not know if there is ice under it or not, so the shoes had the ice cleats put on to clear the snow from the car.

driveway 3.png
Still a little light snow falling, and through the windshield and it is a bit blurry, but that is the track out and I just wanted to have a picture of that view a reminder. in three months by mid February there will be piles and the driveway will be narrower.

Here is what it looked like on Wednesday.

This last picture is pretty washed out. Snow has a tendency to do that to pictures, but if you look close you can see the in and out tracks of my tires.
driveway 2.png

Over-all November was pretty barren of snow. It was nice to see some, and it may be mid week before we get another snow fall once this one is over. I just hope we do not get another slight warm up, it was a good snowfall temperature today hovering between 24F and 27F. So some moisture, and good compacting snow for snow balls and snowmen.


Season 3 links



Season 2 first post This post contains links to the five Season One post.

Season 2 last post This link contains all the links to Season Two episodes.


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 33 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I love such images with the white trees and the snow on the ground. The photos get a painterly effect in my eyes and I am looking forward to snowy landscapes here too :)


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

And so it begins! We are having dark dreary days, but the 10 day forecast doesn't show any snow. Seems a bit odd for December.

We were a bit late for the first significant snow fall, I kind of hope it stays as a warm winter, the problem with that though becomes Ice and Freezing Fog and Rain. Just have to wait and be prepared as best we can.

Over the weekend, I saw this small storm being talked about on the news. I immediately thought of you. I figured a post would be coming. Soon those thin, brown, blades of grass will be no longer visible. Now.. Go make a snowman! 😁

I am not much of a snowman maker, my idea of winter activity is clear the snow from the car a couple of hours before having to go somewhere then warm it up and get in the car as quickly as safety permits. I might try making one this winter though, just have to see how energetic I get.