You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday SkyWalk in Bakersfield, Vermont

in Drone2 years ago

I am considering the new Tamron 30-150 F2/2.8 lens have seen such good reviews of it and would be a nice lens to have would replace my 24-240 Lens which I dropped a while back and it isnt working as well as it should be. thats cool you get some real estate work with the drone

which drone did you go for?

Sort:  

This is my third Drone, started with an original Mavic to test the waters, then sold that and upgraded to Mavic 2 Pro a year later, then upgraded to the Mavic 3 now. It's all about the camera for me, and this zoom to go along with the Hasselblad camera on-board is just what I wanted starting out... That 24-240 sounds nice all-purpose lens. btw, not sure if you use them but I just love the 1.4 and 2x Teleconverters for the Sony. The 2x loses stops of light, but otherwise I have noticed any clarity difference (just need a tripod or rest to hold steady at those magnifications, lol). Not sure how well they'd work with the non-Sony lenses though.

I have read great reviews of the Mavic 3, and the cost of it is just a little more than the Tamron lens I am thinking of getting so I guess when I have saved up enough it will be final decision time, if I was ever to get one the onboard camera would be a key factor

and I dont have either teleconverter yet, I have read they sometimes have issues with non sony lenses and even then also works best only with certain Sony Lenses so I havent pulled the trigger on getting one yet

the 20-240 Lens I loved and used it a lot when walking around NYC, if I hadnt dropped it and damaged it I wouldnt be thinking of the tamron 30-150, but the 24-240 has some intermittent issues where sometimes it gets a clear image and focus where i want it other times very soft images and hence why I am thinking of replacing it

Yes, it had some minor glitches initially, but fixed with software update. It has been fantastic. It is a beast in the wind, easily flyable in 20-30mph with gusts. Of course it has the best camera. I would definitely recommend pairing it with the RC Pro controller. I had similar controller for my Mavic2 Pro and it makes a world of difference for either of them in comfort, stability, flight time, etc. I don't know I'd spring for the cine version, but the fly more package with RCPro seems the sweet spot.

Thanks for the info I will for sure keep that in mind if or when I decide to get one

Have a great day