Work Horse

in Knives4 years ago (edited)

All the fancy damascus steel knifes are good and pretty to look at. But sometimes, it takes something simple and reliable, that gets the job done.
For instance, if you are a cowboy, and need to clean the hoofs of your horse from cow muck, open a can of beans or chop some fire wood and prepare your steaks (if possible not in that order).
Whatever you need a knife for - this one won't let you down. It stainless steel, rock solid, sharp and big enough to kill a bear, with the 21 cm blade and the 13 cm handle. And its not even very expensive, I payed less than 50 bucks I think.
The blade is 5 mm strong and goes almost all the way back to the end of the handle, which is made from Hickorywood. The finger guard is solid brass, same as the insert in the handle for the lanyard.
And the name speaks for itself, I guess...

Winchester Bowie.jpg
The sheath is again made by @irrer_ivan, the original sheath is a durable but ugly chinese nylon thing.

What else do you need.... A few things may be... :)
winchester bowie colt waterbag.jpg

Till next time, your
Big Al-0026.jpg

Sort:  

Personally I really enjoy my Gerber coffin hilt Bowie. I'm pretty lucky to have 2 and one is exceptional...

I got some other Bowie style knifes (although that label is debateable, but thats a story for another post) which are posher, bigger, and so on. And a lot more expensive. But the one from Winchester is the best value for money, I would say. Thats why I bought 3 of them.

Sometimes the best knife is the one you can use.

Well, some knifes are for usage, some are for being admired in a glass cabinet. And the best among the useable one are those, that don't cost a lot. Since you don't want to lose or break a $500 knife, right?
I have a few knifes, that are really made to be used and don't stress you out from worrying either. Like the Winchester Bowie, which cost just under $50, or my Glock Austrian army knife for a similar price. And that has even a bottle opener on it! :)
The Austrians know whats important... :)