Kriss Knife Dagger number 3

in Knives4 years ago

Here is my 3rd Kriss knife in my collection. I actually found and bought this one from a Steemit post. Custom made with nice Damascus steel blade. The Kriss blade was considered to have both spiritual, magical significance as well as defensive uses. It was often used in short sword configurations as well as daggers.

Krissknife0301.jpg

Krissknife0302.jpg
Here's a close up of the blade steel. Funny, even though this one has the best steel, it has the worst edge. I think the guy that made it put more of a larger angle edge on it. More like an axe angle lol. I haven't this one out in a while, and haven't tried sharpening it on the new belt sharpener I got for Xmas last year. Sounds like a good test project for the sharpener to re-angle a lower edge that will sharpen better.

Krissknife0303.jpg
The Handle is just wood, but I liked the two tone brown. I kind of wish it had just kept the brown tones, not really a fan of the green. If it weren't for the nice Kriss blade that would have turned me off. Also, the pin in the bottom green part a little dinged up. This one I may re-do the handle at some point.

Krissknife0304.jpg
It's a decent size for a pointy stabby thing, and could certainly be damaging for self-defense.

Sort:  

I agree with you about the two toned handle. But the blade is nice!

 4 years ago  

That's such a cool looking blade! I'm wondering how the sharpening process is going to go though. It'll be interesting to see how difficult it may be due to the contours.

Name related or not, I have the impression they are not very practical - for whatever they meant to be used.
The damascus steel looks nice, but else... Without a finger guard it can be very dangerous, especially in a stabbing move. If you hit something hard, the hand may slip forward over the blade - not good.
And as someone mentioned in the comment, I also assume its rather difficult to sharpen such blades. I tried sharpen a blade similar to a Roman Gladius and that was not easy, with less curves than this kind of knife.
Yeah, the green bit in the handle looks weird... but that can be helped, I guess.

Quite handy to open letters and boxes, but not much other practical everyday use. They were originally designed more as short sword ceremonial, prestige, and magical use. These do function well as daggers and slashers, causing more damage and open wound bleeding than a traditional straight edge dagger would. Your comments about a missing guard are valid, although this one is particularly wide at the base of the hilt, giving a very solid thumb rest with a reverse style grip which is common to many knife fighting techniques.

As far as sharpening goes, I guess you've never tried one. While the curves look challenging, it actually draws quite nicely across a belt sharpener, stone, or sticks without much difference noticed from a traditional double edge dagger blade.
Enjoy!
K

There was a video (which I can't find right now) of a guy wanting to show off his new super duper tactical folding knife, with some high tech steel blade and all. So he tries to ram it into a tyre. But it stops dead after a few mm and instead his hand slips down the blade. He was bleeding like a pig and had to be rushed to a hospital, because he had cut the muscles and ligaments in the fingers. It needed surgery to avoid that his fingers would remain stiff.
Thats how to learn it the hard way...

To the sharpening: I dont use machines, only stones. A portion of blade that is bulged outwards is not much of a problem, but if its bulged inwards it is. The stones are not really shaped to deal with that. Yes, it can be done, but it takes far more effort and time than a regular blade.

Really nice I do Filipino martial arts and I really enjoy seeing Southeast Asian blade designs.

I also have a thing for butterfly's but only have a few, nothing special.

Absolutely I've done Filipino martial arts for 24 years now and today I just barely got back from escrima practice.

I happen to have a Benchmade model 51 as well as Benchmade model 67 that I really enjoy

Well c'mon and post them up!