My three favourite Halloween 'linked' movies. A @yourtop3 contest for October

If you like the look of this contest and fancy winning some serious Hive, you can check out the main contest post with details on how to enter. Right Here

This months topic is Favourite Halloween Movies

As I have said on a few occasions that Horror is "not my bag, baby!". That rascal Q loves a theme that links with the month and he couldn't resist this one. I'm glad he put in the criteria that the movie only needs to refer to Halloween in some shape or form because it opens it out a little to movies that I really like. Here goes.

1.

The Blair Witch Project 1999.

The Blair Witch Project.jpg

Some kids go hunting for a witch in October! That's reference enough for me!! :)

This movie scared the living daylights out of me. They created a pre story before the movie release and there was some confusion/hype that it was a real docu-type movie. The website looked very official and authentic and I bought into the initial buzz that it was based on true events.

It's shot by the three actors using camcorders and they are literally placed in a dark, creepy wood and left to it. Most of my friends didn't get it, which slightly annoyed me. The amount of times you heard the phrase "but you don't see anything"! (you do, by the way) This, to me, is the typical response of the Fast and Furious generation. Everything needs to be visual and fast otherwise the interest wanes.

For me, being scared comes from the inside. The sound that accompanies the visual is usually much scarier than the visual. Plus recalling your own memories that relate to the scene or just putting yourself in that situation. These are the things that really do the job. @crypt0wid0w and myself used to go on camping holidays quite frequently back then. Funnily enough, the camping stopped after The Blair Witch Project. Coincidence?

2.

Donnie Darko

Donnie Darko.jpg

There is a Halloween party which contains a key part of the story.

Jake Gyllenhaal, a cracking storyline and a great soundtrack, including Mad World, a Tears for Fears song performed by Gary Jules.

The plot is a little complicated and pretty weird but also brilliant. The story fuses mental illness and depression with science fiction or is it fact? It can be a little disturbing at times but moves along enough to not get too hung up on it. If your in the right mood for this one then it is a great film.

3.

Flatliners 1990

flatliners.jpg

One of the 'events' is performed on Halloween.

Great cast! Julia Roberts, Kiefer Sutherland, Keven Bacon, William Baldwin and more. There are some pretty scary scenes but mostly just tense rather than classic horror.

A brief synopsis is that a bunch of med students deliberately flatline (heart failure) and then resuscitate to experience the afterlife. It becomes an obsession and they goad each other into staying 'dead for longer and longer. All is well until Nelson (Sutherland) has a confrontation with a dead acquaintance that becomes repeatedly more physical. They all have skeletons in the closet that come back to haunt them!

Cool, creepy and gripping.

That's my three choices for this month. I hope you enjoyed them.

Gaz

Purple 2 logo divider.png

Delegate to @yourtop3:

5HP 10HP 25HP
50HP 100HP 150HP
200HP 250HP 300HP
400HP 500HP 1000HP
Sort:  

Oh gosh! Faltliners! I'd forgotten about that film. I wonder why? The others - heard of one (Blair Witch) but not the other. However, not given to scary movies, that's not surprising.

the camping stopped after The Blair Witch Project

I'm not surprised. And I'll stick to the original of Mad World - just in audio. Thank you!

Damn, I saw Blair Witch and that brought back memories. I could feel the suspense build and build as I watched it when it was first out. My friends at school were obsessed with it, I just wanted to see it and then job done... stays with you!

I remember Donnie Darko, that's a pretty disturbing film but haven't seen Flatliners although remember the adverts for it.

That will do for the horrors for me, staying out of trouble now until Nov 1st thanks very much 😆

Nice, I really like Blair Witch because it was basically just some kids with handheld cams acting and recording themselves. It was like a youtube video before it existed, their idea was definitely ahead of its time.

Congratulations @cheese4ead! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 120000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 125000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

Some great choices Gaz! I remember totally buying in to they hype with The Blair Witch Project, too. My best friend dragged me to the theater to see it and it scared the pants off of me. When we got back to her house we hung out for a while then I had to walk down the driveway in the dark with the woods looming behind the house to get to my car. I think I sprinted faster than I ever have before or since! Even after we found out the truth, the fear factor lingered. Donnie Darko is a choice I wouldn't have thought of, but definitely a great one for the mood of the month. Flatliners is one of those great ones from the "Brat Pack" era that my mom loved so much. I actually saw that one on TV not all too long ago and had to watch it again. Alright, let's see if I can't finally get my post up!