Here's My Top 3 Lockdown Essentials - What Are Yours? Submission Deadline 9th April!

in Your Top 3 Contest β€’ 4 years ago

YT3 Apr 2020.jpg

Your Top 3 Contest Moves To Hive 🐝

It certainly does! In true community fashion, we asked those who have previously entered which site they'd like us to host the contest on via an emoji poll and, although some voted for both, the majority of the votes were to move to Hive. Some weren't sure and wanted to talk about it but no-one voted for STEEM outright so the community had spoken!

We're still going through a few minor changes and realise that we need to tweak the logo designs now with the move - hopefully by the end of April we'll have that done as we need to get funds together to pay for it - but the contest everyone has come to know and love will carry on as normal! With coronavirus badly affecting businesses and income for most of the team, we ask for patience but we will get through this as we have done with the many challenges we've faced in our first year. Speaking of which...

Purple 2 logo divider.png

1 Year Anniversary πŸŽ†

Yeahhhhh!! What a milestone we've reached this month as we celebrate 1 year of @yourtop3! In that time we rebranded and came out of beta, created our quarterly and Champions leagues and have dished out over $200 in prizes!

Considering all you need to do is write a post telling us your top 3 choices about the chosen topic and why each month, it's not too bad! Speaking of which, here's our topic... (think I've found my phrase for this blog πŸ˜ƒ):

Purple 2 logo divider.png

Top 3 Lockdown Essentials

Purple 2 logo divider.png

Since the beginning of 2020, we've been trying an assortment of different topics with input from you legends who join the fun but given the current state of affairs across the globe, our Top 3 mascot - Q - chose this month's topic! Probably because Q wants to get some ideas to help get through lock down as well!

I've assumed that the basics such as food, drink, toilet paper and cleaning products are already available in the house plus we can still go outside and exercise in the UK, otherwise these would definitely be in the essentials! Speaking of which, here are my nominations...😁

Please Note: Q has forbidden me to enter the contest so these are just my ideas to add some spice to the conversation and of course the liquid HIVE generated by this post will be added to the prize pool so there's more for you to potentially win!

Purple 2 logo divider.png

Man Cave

Damn, this is where my life is right now and I've spent the last 10 days of lock down de-dusting, tidying shelves and generally upgrading this beast because I have a feeling we'll have the lock down period extended by another 3 weeks in the UK. I don't have a problem with that, lives need to be saved by not spreading the virus and I'm a hermit anyway.

So, in "Havey's Cave of Dreams" is; an Xbox 360 with some classic games on there like Burnout, Forza and Call of Duty; a cleaned and upgraded PC which has my music software and now Counter Strike: Global Offensive (thanks to @acidyo for the inspiration there); my DJ controller for making live mixes for the monthly Drum & Bass Music radio shows I'll be getting involved with again on the Platform Project and; a whiteboard which keeps me organised about all these projects I'm involved with! πŸ˜ƒ

I'm currently waiting (impatiently) for a new gaming/office chair so I can spend even longer in here whilst keeping comfortable and I have a new wireless keyboard and mouse coming today hopefully which will help with the cable orgy at the back of the PC πŸ˜„!

DSC_0052.JPG
And that's it, end of blog, I don't need anything else 🀣

Purple 2 logo divider.png

Drinking Water

Anyone who knows me in real life will say that I am basically water with a layer of skin over the top of it. I drink so much of the stuff and it's pretty essential for living that I would definitely have to include this in the list as well. Besides, we can only live 3 days without water and with the above Havey's Cave of Dreams to attend to, 3 days just doesn't cut it, I need longer! Thankfully our tap water is drinkable, which I'm grateful for, so I just top up that pint glass you see when it gets empty so I can continue wasting my time being productive in front of the screen(s) πŸ˜ƒ

DSC_0055.JPG
Better top that glass up Havey!

Purple 2 logo divider.png

Toasted Cheese Sandwich

In recent weeks I've found a new favourite food thanks to my Dad who started having toasted cheese sandwiches for lunch. The smell permeates throughout the house and not even Havey's Cave of Dreams can contend with its allure. After a hike or a bout of exercise, nothing hits the spot better than this. It's so filling as well that you really only need to have one, maybe two at a push, and you will be fine until dinner, when you can have another πŸ˜†

The butter does go everywhere when it starts melting though so you do need to clean it up... if you have time in between gaming or posting on Hive πŸ˜› Speaking of which...

whiteandbluesteamiron2751840.jpg
Our toastie is a little more advanced than this old fashioned method! Image Source

Purple 2 logo divider.png

Now It's Your Turn

So there you have it, my top 3 Lockdown Essentials and if you need me, you know where to find me haha! If you wanted to enter, make sure you follow the rules set by Q so that you're eligible to enter, speaking of...🀐

1 - Create a blog post with your top 3 nominations along with your reasoning behind them. Entry posts must have:

  • A minimum of 250 words total and
  • The #yourtop3 tag MUST be in the first 5 tags used
  • The deadline for submitting entries is the 9th

2 - Set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the HP and then transfer the HIVE and/or HBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @yourtop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

You must send your entry fee in by the 19th of the month, otherwise you won’t qualify for the final standings for the month and won’t get credit for the entry for the league standings either and that would make me very sad - don’t make me sad...

image.png

Please don't make Q upset, I don't want to have to clean up that mess again - @simplymike will understand πŸ™„

So what are you waiting for! You have until the 9th to get your entries in! Can't wait to read them πŸ˜ƒ

Catch you soon

Nicky

Sort: Β 

Butter in a toasted cheese sandwich...... πŸ€”

You have to butter the outside layer of the bread that's in contact with the heated plates, otherwise you're left with a miserable pile of bread and cheese that doesn't even resemble a Cheese Toastie. Didn't you learn this in Marlow? πŸ˜›

OH!!! I thought you meant butter inside!!!

The last (and only time) I went, The Hands and Flower didn't have cheese toastie on their menuπŸ˜ƒ

Haha hell no, I'm not a Sadist! πŸ˜‚

Well, once this lockdown period finishes, I'll be making sure I recommend them to add it to their menu. Can't believe it's not on there... they call themselves a Michelin Star restaurant as well πŸ™„

Haha, it was meant to be! My new keyboard and mouse just arrived at the same time as I posted this! Can't wait to assemble it all πŸ’ͺ What a life 🀣

The man cave is certainly top notch! Looks like there's not much more you could ask for in your private lair, especially now that the cozy new keyboard is set up. Water is a must, as well. I highly approve of that choice of course. Now that we have the mint and lemon balm going crazy in the garden, I am adding those lovely herbs to my daily intake of the wet stuff. I used to be a big fan of the grilled cheese sandwich myself. I might just have to get some vegan cheese to relive that glory during my own lockdown here... ;)

Well, it's certainly complete now with the Throne of Games you see now! Ah yea, I could definitely do with lemon in the water too, does add an extra sense of refreshment to it doesn't it! And yes, definitely get the vegan cheese going, twice a day every day for the foreseeable future haha πŸ˜ƒ

Yeah, we don't want to upset Q - we had enough cleaning to do πŸ˜‚

Haha exactly! And there's not much cleaning product left in the supermarkets these days to absorb that excess fluid... it's a delicate situation haha