πŸ‘» My Top 3 Halloween/Scary Movies πŸŽƒ

in Your Top 3 Contest β€’ 4 years ago

Image Source

It's Horror Season

Or should that be horror year? Sadly, I don't think 2020: The Movie is an option for this month's contest, let's hope the sequel next year is a bit more positive for everyone but in true @yourtop3 fashion, the contest mascot Q has decided to propel us in to the realm of horror after he has got his bucket list sorted out for next year - more on that later.

I'm not really a horror or scary movie fan but have seen a couple of films that branched in to the scary side of things and I probably wouldn't watch them again! However, for the sake of Q and the contest, I'll put myself through the torture this time around and share my top 3 Halloween/Scary Movies with you!

The liquid part of the HIVE post payout will be contributed towards the contest prize pool and I'm not eligible to enter

Shaun of the Dead

Yeah this one again! Out of all the "Halloween Characters", zombies are probably my "favourite" and so any films that feature them in would likely be something I'm interested in. And as I like Simon Pegg and Nick Frost (with the Cornetto Trilogy being one of my favourites), I have to include this in my list. It is a zomromcom (Zombie Romantic Comedy) in which the main character is trying to woo back his ex with the world around them changing minute by minute as almost the whole village turn into zombies. The comedy element turns in to zombie about 30 minutes in.

I remember being invited by an ex to see the "alpha" showing of this at the cinema before they launched it and I gave feedback on the movie. It wasn't that constructive though as I just said I really liked it! In any case, they made a couple of tweaks such as a bit more gore in the Winchester Pub scenes and have seen it a few times since with it being on a very well used DVD!

Image Source

30 Days of Night

Yep, another repeat showing here but it's got to be the most shit scary vampire film I've seen and I've not bothered to watch any more since this one, back in 2007 lol! My friends and I were hungover after a night on the tiles at Uni and it was Halloween weekend so one of them was adamant we must go to the cinema to watch a scary movie. I wasn't really feeling it as I'm a bit more of an emotional wreck after lots of alcohol but went ahead with it.

Shit man, this was a disturbing movie. The vampire characters look so damn freaky! The plot is about an oil digging town somewhere in the arctic that gets plunged in to darkness for 30 days in the bleak mid winter. And it is bleak. These vampires come out of everywhere and they take no prisoners. For some reason I bought the DVD, probably because I couldn't watch it all in the cinema but I sold it pretty quickly once I pieced the missing plot together. Wasn't worth it for the sleepless nights but it makes the list as that's what horrors are designed to do!

Image Source

Nightmare on Elm Street

I was late to watching this but I lived with a guy who had an eclectic mix of DVDs and he decided to slap this one in the PS2 tray and away we went. I hadn't seen it before and glad I didn't watch it as a child as this would basically end any chance of sleeping forever! The plot, from what I remember, is about a menacing bloke called Freddy Krueger who haunts teenagers in their sleep before bringing them to a brutal end in their dreams... which also filters through to real life!

The concept behind it is terrifying and I'm glad I watched it later in life, rather than as a kid back in the day but it is an absolute classic and rounds off my selection nicely! I admit that I did have nightmares about this one for a couple of days afterwards but thankfully I woke up and, being a total badass, used jedi mind tricks to sort Freddy out in the dream world... I think...

Image Source

Q's Last Stand

Well, it's been a really fun ride getting to know Q these last 7 months since moving over to the HIVE blockchain but after he put his bucket list together for 2021 from last month's topic, he mentioned to myself, @plantstoplanks, @cheese4ead and @foxyspirit in this morning's meeting that he is going to be sun-setting the Your Top 3 contest and December 2020 will be the last month it will run.

The good news is that there's still 3 months left to get involved with the monthly, quarterly and Champions League by getting your nominations in for this final quarter of the year. Full instructions on how to enter this month can be found here but you only have until the 9th October to get your post in!

So which 3 movies make it to the top of your Halloween pile? Any that gave you nightmares? Or do they still give you nightmares?? Haha! Let me know in the comments and/or entry blog!

Nicky

Sort: Β 

Congratulations @nickyhavey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

LOL you literally pick Shaun of the dead for everything favorite scary movie, comedy, zombie movie, English movie, movies based in England, movies with beer, movies with Simon pegg lol it’s always in your top 3

Lol, I don't see a problem with this? Panel perks mate πŸ˜†

Actually first time hearing of any of theseπŸ€”πŸ˜‚ but then again, not really a watcher. 30 days of night looked interesting

Haha, they are old but gold mate! I don't watch films these days, I just don't have the time I used to but if you like your vampire horror movies then I'd recommend 30 days of night - it's gruesome but tense!

OMG! Q running out of steam? Well, it's been a fab run and since I'm not much of a horror movie fan, and given not just 2020, but the last week, I'm not sure I could go dredging up horror movies... Besides, I'm not really a fan... But count me in for the last stand...

That said you, and your team (@plantstoplanks, @cheese4ead and @foxyspirit) probably need a break. IMO part of what made this contest the best on the blockchain was not just the team, but the thinking that went into it (and which it made the participants do) but that it was nuanced and well managed.

Tell Q that he should be careful not to get lost or drown in his bucket. Speaking for myself, I'd like to see him back. At least. Occasionally.

I think Q's just inspired from everyone's choices last month that he needs to see all those places for himself (in a social distanced way of course)! You mustn't be a fan at all as you said it twice!

Thanks for the staunch support throughout our endeavours and kind words, we've had a lot of fun working on the contest over the last 18 months and have been through a LOT but it's all been worth it!

Nice selections, I like all these, 30 days of night is really good! I would not be surprised if someone makes 2020 the horror movie eventually, lol

Hahaha well there are probably loads of similar films like Contagion which would depict the pandemic. As long as there isn't a sequel next year "2021: Shit's Still In The Fan", we'll be happy with that!

Love to see Shaun make the list again, haha. It really is a classic. The other two choices definitely scared me pretty well, too. I remember sneaking downstairs when I was a kid while my older sister was watching A Nightmare on Elm Street one night. I quickly regretted that decision. Not much sleep after that! Still such a classic, though. That tattered sweater, hat and iconic gloves will always be a "killer" Halloween costume. Think I've just about got mine picked out, but I am having a tougher time than I thought narrowing them down!

Haha, well, you had Shaun of the Dead last time, I'll have it this time! Freddy is such an iconic Halloween costume, there will always be one person who turns up in Kruger attire!

Just caught up with your post now!

We'll just keep passing ol' Simon around. ;) I'm sure there were plenty of Halloween costumes modeled after Shaun over the years, as well! Gotta love the easy ones to replicate when you're in a pinch for that last-minute costume party.

Hahaha yeah, office shirt, bit of red paint (ketchup) and job done with that!