🎡 Q Is Asking You, Hive People - "Who Are Your Top 3 Lead Singers?" - Well, Here Are Mine! 🎀😩

in Your Top 3 Contest β€’ 4 years ago

YT3 July 2020.jpg

Your Top 3

That most lovable of contest mascots - Q (or should that be Freddie Mer-Q-ry as he appears to be in the photo above πŸ™„) - is back with another new topic for this month's @yourtop3 contest as he wants to know who are your top 3 Favourite Lead Singers!

This is a fun monthly contest that @plantstoplanks, @foxyspirit, @cheese4ead and myself organise for Q whilst he's in the shower bellowing his lungs out to various chart topping hits from Queen!

BUT, whilst he's in there warming up the vocal Qords, it gives the rest of us a chance to get a post written and enter our nominations for his contest before he closes the entries with a savage flick from his rolled up towel!

How To Enter

Here's the basics of what you need to do to enter - full info on the contest post here:

1 - Create A Blog Post By The 9th July

Tell us all your top 3 nominations along with your reasoning behind them. Entry posts must have:

  • A minimum of 250 words total and
  • The #yourtop3 tag MUST be in the first 5 tags used
  • Set your post payout To 50/50
  • The deadline for submitting entries is the 9th July 2020

2 - Send In Your Entry Fee By The 19th July

Once the post has paid out, you keep the HP half to power up and grow your own account. Then transfer the HIVE and/or HBD half (whichever is paid out at the time) to @yourtop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee required but you can add as much as you like.

The entry fees contribute to the prize pools for the monthly, quarterly and yearly prizes, which you automatically get enrolled in by virtue of entering each month!

Most importantly though, we encourage you to check out other folks posts and rip in to their choices stop by and comment, have a bit of banter and meet new people!

So without any further ado, I'll crack on with my choices.

I'm not eligible to enter the contest but will contribute to the prize pool from this post payout as usual - feel free to commend me on my awesome choices though 😁

My Top 3 Lead Singers

1 - Keith Flint RIP (The Prodigy)

Thanks to my brother, I was introduced to the Prodigy and eventually the underground music/rave scene which ultimately shaped my fascination and journey in to Drum & Bass that has me firmly in its grip!

Although I discovered one iconic Prodigy tune called Firestarter on a game called Wipeout 2097, it was the instrumental version that lacked the the curious and very "out there" vocal hooks provided by Keith Flint! That made the difference! It was his iconic vocal input in Breathe and to an extent on Poison that makes this absolute legend in the electronic music scene make my Top 3.

In fact, as I was driving back from the bank yesterday, Breathe came on the radio as I was parking up and I didn't leave the car until I had finished blaring this one out, singing along to Keith with a little tear in my eye! RIP

Breathe the pressure, come play my game I'll test ya! Psychosomatic ADDICT INSANE 😜



2 - Christine McVie (Fleetwood Mac)

Alright, so you're probably wondering how I've gone from the underground rave scene to classic pop Rock 'n' Roll from the 70s and 80s... Don't worry, I really do have a wide variety of tastes with music! The fact is, if it's good, it transcends genres and generations!

In any case, I have my parents to thank for the next two choices as they introduced me to sounds from the 60s through to the 80s as I was growing up that I probably never would have heard otherwise. Starting off with Fleetwood Mac's Christine McVie. Her distinctive and powerful vocals lead the way in two of my favourite songs from them - Little Lies and "Everywhere".

In fact, I have heard Little Lies pretty much every time I've gone away travelling and on road trips! Funny thing is, the most distinctive time I remember hearing it (likely the first) was when I was on a road trip in 1999 with my parents going through the Rocky Mountains in the USA. So it really does seem that the mysterious workings of the Universe juju are in full effect - maybe I should go on road trips more often!




3 - Jim Kerr (Simple Minds)

My final choice is the ever present lead singer of legendary rock band Simple Minds, Jim Kerr who has been the voice of some truly epic tracks from the 80s.

I mentioned this song in my road trips post from this time last year with @yourtop3 but the iconic "Don't You Forget About Me" may have not materialised at all had Simple Minds not caved in to the pressure of recording it for the film The Breakfast Club. Legend has it that they recorded the track in 3 hours and "promptly forgot about it". Ironic.

Then the tune that was around the year I was born - Promised You A Miracle - was quite clearly sung live because they knew I was on the way hey hey πŸ˜‰ πŸ‘‰

But I definitely sung along when I was able to speak comprehensibly (about 3 weeks ago) and the other is "Someone, Somewhere in Summertime" which I often find myself bellowing out to, scaring all the cats in the neighbourhood and causing dogs to howl along too in some sort of bizarre street choir!




Who Are Your Top 3 Lead Singers?

Let me know and looking forward to/bracing myself for the onslaught in the comments - let's have it haha!

Nicky

P.S. Don't forget to write a post if you want to enter - open to everyone on HIVE - here's the intro post and follow @yourtop3 for the latest news!

Sort: Β 

Great selections, The Prodigy is awesome! :)

Haha thanks Dave! I can only agree with you about the Prodigy! They really have come out with some belters!

I'm sure Q will find these more than adeQuate for the current theme. ;) Dang, I forgot Fleetwood Mac, too. Nice choice on that one. I remember plenty of those tunes in the car with the parents here in the US myself, haha. That Simple Minds track is of course iconic. Kind of fun to hear the back story on it. Fate was in their corner that day. Can't argue with your first choice, either. Reminds me of another topic Q could easily choose--musicians gone too soon.

That's a great shout for a topic, @plantstoplanks

Unfortunately a lot of options on that one, right?

Sadly true

Haha, aQutely observed there @plantstoplanks πŸ˜ƒ

Great to hear that the Mac gave you some listening joys over there across the pond too! I was reading up about the back story to the Simple Minds track earlier and it's amazing that they really didn't want to be a part of it, yet turns out to be their most iconic songs of all time!

As for a future topic, I agree with you and @cheese4ead there, I'm sure Q would too (seeing as he decides everything ultimately πŸ˜‰)

Well, Fleetwood Mac's going to feature in mine, too. Definitely😊

Great ideas for music topics. I was also thinking about epic guitar players, and duos and singing couples....and...πŸ’ƒπŸ€£

A man after my own heart, Mr Havey! Great choices as we come to expect but choices from right out of my little old history, too.

Simple Minds was my first experience of a live gig in 84. Jim is an exceptional frontman. Keith Flint and the Prodigy boys were, and still are, a love of mine. I saw them live in a Bristol nightclub in 91. Amazing.

Although I am a Peter Green, Fleetwood Mac fan I still appreciate the quality of the Buckingham/Nicks/McVie version. Actually, The Chain is arguably my favourite Mac song of all time.

Great job buddy.

Ah man, would have loved to have been around in the 80s to watch Simple Minds live and Prodigy - that must have been some experience (if you can remember it and weren't monged out of your face)! I heard the live recording on a CD my brother had of Poison and it sounds like it was a blast with the crowd singing along!

I think I only ever heard the McVie version, it was well drilled in to my head and seems to have burrowed deep inside. There is a pretty good uplifting trance remix that compliments it well by JPL - I had this on repeat back in 2010 when I heard it!

Prodigy I shall have to check out. Fleetwood Mac is also on my list,but a different person...🀭

And you have really muddied my waters mentioning Simple Minds...😩

Great choices...πŸ₯‚πŸ’ƒ

If you haven't heard of the Prodigy, they might surprise you if you're not used to them! Definitely full of energy and expect underground rave scenes there.

Yeah Fleetwood Mac changed hands with their lead singers a few times, offered very different dynamics but I'm sticking with my guns there! Mum may have gone for Stevie Nicks but will be interested to see who you pick.

What do you mean about Simple Minds? Do tell!

I'm with your Mum...Stevie Nicks all the way!

What do you mean about Simple Minds? Do tell!

Just another one to add to the 14.... πŸ˜€

Working against the clock to "make" time to do my post... I'm determined....

Haha, yeah thought you'd be a Nicks fan!

Ohhhhh, it's going to be a Fiona Special then πŸ˜„ I'm sure you'll make it there, looking forward to seeing who you decide on your Top 3!

Monged! Haha. I just about remember them.

Actually the Prodigy gig was and still is like a dream. They were already reasonably well known in 91 and they played this tiny little venue and blew the roof off. It was so weird, Ritzy as the club was known then, was a thre floored club with the balcony in the middle. The boys were on a makeshift stage at the back of the 1st floor, so everyone was on these different level watching a getting into it. I've never bounced up and down so much in 2 hours in my life. I didn't realise the enormity of the event until after.

Nice picks....
I really need to get to writing again.. but first I need to decide which ones to choose

Haha thanks! I actually found that my choices just came in to my head as I started typing! It's a risky strategy but that's just how I roll πŸ˜ƒ

I'm sure you'll think of some good ones being the musical whiz you are!

Musicians: We just opened a World of Music Community on Hive. I invite you to join and share your music there!

You can cross-post this there too. I'll be upvoting at 100% to every post/crosspost there.

We are happy to welcome all types of music from all over the world πŸŒπŸŒπŸŒŽπŸ•ΊπŸ’ƒ

Link: World of Music Community