Crank Up The Radio {July Your Top 3 Contest: Lead Singers}

IMG_20170708_211909684.jpg

Happy July friends! A new month means it is a new theme for the @yourtop3 contest. I slacked off last month and didn't put out my own choices, but this month is a prompt I absolutely couldn't miss. Even though as a panel member my choices don't count for the dpoll. As we always tell everyone, for us it is all about the fun. If you would like to join in with your own top picks, check out the intro post for the month here with all of the details!

This month the topic has come back around to the musical side of things. Specifically to your favorite lead singers. I have lots of bands I really enjoy listening to, some for the music but plenty for the killer vocals. As always with these topics, it was really tough to narrow down my top selections. There are quite a few ladies and gents that could have easily topped my personal charts.

My header picture for this post was taken at a concert maybe four years ago that I went to with @dksart and my sister. I thought the snap I took of Brandon Boyd from Incubus was a great image to lead off with, and I also really enjoyed the show and his voice. The same show we also got to see my absolute favorite band, Jimmy Eat World, of which the front man Jim Adkins also could have made my short list. I spent a lot of time in my college years going to live shows, which I'll touch on in one of my choices below. My parents were also avid music lovers, so as I'll also hit on those earlier influences that have stuck around for a lifetime.

That is one of the things I know many of us are missing during 2020--live music! I had plans to see Jimmy Eat World this spring, as well as a few of my beloved Emo bands from those college days who were all trying to start touring again (20 years later). As much as I lament the loss of those experiences, it's nothing compared to the thousands upon thousands of jobs lost due to no shows going on. When you think of all the people behind the scenes getting your favorite musicians on stage, it is quite staggering to think about how many people are struggling to stay afloat. Just one of the many industries hit hard currently, but I can only hope some day soon we can all show our support again and commune over the joy of dance and song together.

Until then, I'll enjoy from afar and look forward to sore feet and ringing ears from standing and rocking out to a full set...

Top 3 Logo.jpg

This months topic is FAVOURITE LEAD SINGERS

My Nominations are:

Nomination Number One

Chris Cornell (Soundgarden/Audioslave/Temple of the Dog)

My Reasons for the Nomination

The only nod I didn't struggle with on this round was my first choice. Chris Cornell was my very first rock star crush. My pattering little pre-teen heart started beating looking into those dreamy eyes and longing to touch that beautiful head of hair he had. Though I think more than anything his voice pulled me in from the first time I heard it. Born in the 80s, I started coming of age in the 90s when the Grunge scene also came of age. Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Soundgarden were on constant repeat. My first CD I bought was Stone Temple Pilots. Of course I had photos pulled from the latest Rolling Stone issue plastered over my bedroom walls. I may have shared before, I even cut my hair short when Chris Cornell chopped off his long hair. Though his looked MUCH better than mine (oh the hair faux pas of youth).

Though Soundgarden was my first taste, I continued listening and fan-girling when he joined Audioslave and of course stayed on the bandwagon when he did anything solo. I had the pleasure of seeing him live fronting Audioslave and absolutely adored an acoustic solo show where his full vocal range was front and center. Then when Soundgarden announced a reunion in 2010, my dad and I jumped at the chance to see them at the local gem of a venue--The Tabernacle--live a few years later. What an amazing show!

The music industry is riddled with stories of losing artists to drug abuse and/or suicide, but the loss of Cornell in 2017 hit really hard for me due to his lifelong presence in my life's soundtrack. Someone please put Eddie Vedder in a safe bubble. I could have picked many of his performances to share for this post, but his cover of Prince's song is just perfection.

Nomination Number Two

Ann Wilson (Heart)

My Reasons for the Nomination

As I mentioned above, my parents were always playing music around the house or in the car. Dad favored the likes of Jethro Tull and Frank Zappa, mom and dad both loved Jimmy Hendrix and Janice Joplin. Mom's all-time favorite and the artist she's seen most live is Eric Clapton. They danced to a Cream song at their wedding. However, the powerhouse vocalist I most enjoyed from growing up was Ann Wilson as my mom always had a Heart album in the car. Her sister Nancy was no less talented and also in the band, but Ann's voice just takes the cake for me.

If I had to pick a female vocalist I would love to be able to sing like, it would have to be Ann. Though Annie Lennox is prettty high up there, too. I tend to listen to a lot of male vocals just due to the type of music I most enjoy, but I couldn't get away with a list without throwing in a bada$$ lady. Heart has an extensive selection to pick from, but Crazy On You is one I will always turn up the volume and sing to (preferably when no one else is around to hear)!

Nomination Number Three

Dave Elkins (Mae)

My Reasons for the Nomination

Early on I developed my love for alternative music, but once I hit high school and college that extended into the Emo/Pop Punk scene. With a set of keys to a car came the freedom to go to plenty of live shows. That's when Jimmy came into my life, along with other loves like Sleeping At Last, Dashboard Confessional, The Juliana Theory, The Spill Canvas, Something Corporate, The Format and soooo many others I'm forgetting at the moment! I still have many of them on my usual driving playlist. We had a local skate shop that also sold music and my best friend and I loved to go and pick out an album based on the artwork. Some were total misses, but plenty became favorites. Yes, you remember when you actually had to go to a store to buy music? I do actually miss that. Ripping open the cellophane to listen from the first song to the last...over and over again.

IMG_20200702_091048650.jpg

The one that I'm choosing for this purpose is Dave from Mae. I seem to have an affinity for Daves in my life. ;) As you can see from the photo above, I still have some Mae swag from my concert-going days. A while ago I got rid of a lot of the old t-shirts, but that adorable bag was something I didn't want to part with. I do still actually use it on occasion.

I adore their whole discography, but the song below is a particular favorite. He probably would never be put in the same category of vocal prowess as my choices above, but I just adore the sound of his voice. Many songs are tender and melodic, some a little more upbeat, but all are filled with emotion. I tend to put Mae on a lot in the car, especially if I'm driving for a while and just want to cruise with my own thoughts.

top3 divider 2 logo.jpg

Alright friends, it's your turn! Let us know your choices to just join in on the joy that music brings and maybe win a few prizes if you pick some fan faves. 😉 Myself and the rest of the panel and other participants will surely look forward to your picks!

Delegate to @yourtop3:

5HP 10HP 25HP
50HP 100HP 150HP
200HP 250HP 300HP
400HP 500HP 1000HP



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart



Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Sort:  

Just wanted to say big thank you for spreading HIVE vibes on Twitter.

Our collective efforts are compounding every single day. It’s gonna bring huge value to our hive ecosystem

Doing what I can. Glad to see the hustle is alive and well. :)

(she must not’ve heard)

Oh snap!!!! Not only do I see a notification that the man himself has popped by my post, but that he's left this gem for all to marvel in. Damn, totally missed this one, too. I was thinking of dropping a line to say hello to you and Pura just the other day, so you must have felt the spidey sense tingle. ;) Hope you both are doing well.

There's our friendly little mascot! ;)

Q's got the moves like Jagger! 😀

There's Freddie MerQry! Rocking out!

So here's the thing! I love pearl Jam and Nirvana, my hero Dave Grohl was a massive fan but I have never really listened to Soundgarden. I know I know! I will rectify that immediately. My excuse; and it's a bit shit but aren't all excuses, is that I didn't really get into Nirvana and Pearl Jam until a lot later than most, so I kind of missed the Soundgarden thing. 😳

I'm with you on Heart and Annie Wilson. 'Alone' is an awesome track. I'm actually shocked at all the Heart tracks that I know and really like, a lot.

I know zero about Mae but I like that track.

Oh man, you definitely need to go back and give Soundgarden a chance. Some great tracks in their mix, and then Cornell does them even more justice after he went back and did some acoustic versions. "Black Hole Sun" acoustic is pretty fantastic!

Mae is definitely a bit more obscure. They're a band I keep going back to. While typing this up I put on the YouTube playlist with most of their stuff and some similar artists thrown in. I need to do that while blogging more often, haha!

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 44000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

If you properly got in to video games, I think you'd have really liked the Burnout soundtrack as Jimmy Eat World features on there a lot and after listening to Mae's track, it has a very similar vibe to it.

I've not actually come across any of these bands you mentioned but after listening to all three, yeah those voices are amazing and distinctive! I can't say I'd cut my hair the same time as Chris Cornell would though haha!

Plantstoplankstoemorockbandgroupie - new user name? 😃

Haha, oh gosh, people already have a hard enough time with my user name as is! Jimmy Eat World has had their stuff spread around all different places that people wouldn't realize. I'm sure if that soundtrack has a lot of Jimmy, I would enjoy it. Mae is definitely in the same genre.

Yeah, I was only 13 I think when I cut my hair. It took me until about high school to start making better hair decisions (no more perms, bowl cuts, or bangs), but I stand by my music choices, haha.