The Final Curtain Call {Your Top 3 Contest Decemeber 2020}

This year most certainly will win some awards for all that has happened, though perhaps more of the Razzie sort than an Oscar. Though I think we have all joked around about what a movie this year would make! With that in mind, the crew at @yourtop3 has chosen Academy Award Winning movies for the theme of the final contest. It all began with chats about favorite movies, so why not end it with that same element of fun and entertainment?

The Oscars have been around since the 1920's, so there is a wealth of excellent films to pick from for this theme. In going through the list I had a hard time just choosing three for my own entry. As usual, as a panel member my choices won't count for the contest, though I will forward the payout in to contribute to the prize pool.

As our dear mascot, Q, said in the contest announcement post, this month is a bit bitter along with the sweet. After over a year and a half of hosting this fun monthly challenge, 2021 will see a break of the official Top 3 contest. As much as we have so wholeheartedly enjoyed the journey, a break for other projects is needed at this time. I think I can speak for my fellow panel members in saying it has been a blast getting to know our contestants through their fantastic entries! It has been fun to shell out some prizes, but the depth of some of the stories that have come out in your entries has truly been a joy to read! I certainly had no idea how amazing some of the posts would turn out to be. Thank you all for contributing--whether you only joined for one month or the entire run!

Alright, my 30 seconds of sappiness is done, let's get back to business! Movies, yes, some excellent ones if I do say so myself. It really was a bit challenging to pick, but all of these were ones that sucked me in and I could watch multiple times. A bit of darkness in them all, but that has always fascinated me. My major in college was Psychology, so with that in mind some of these should be no surprise...

Top 3 Logo.jpg

This months topic is OSCAR WINNING MOVIES

My Nominations are:

Nomination Number One

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

My Reasons for the Nomination

I remember reading the book sometime in high school, and as many students were wont to do, also watched the film. I should say a lot of kids would prefer just to watch the movie, but I was (and continue to be) a book lover so didn't mind going into the movie knowing what was to come. I still have it in my collection 20+ years later I enjoyed it so much.

IMG_20201202_101136019.jpg

Once I started college, I began my major field of study in Psychology. The stories of how mental health has been treated (if you can call it that) over the years was always fascinating and partially frightening. This story sheds light on some of the ways the system failed in the past. Jack Nicholson was fantastic as McMurphy, though I always thought the Chief was my favorite character. Nurse Ratched was quite the villain in her own right, and it was interesting to see the character resurrected recently (if only as a whisper of the original) in the Netflix adaptation Ratched. I really like Sarah Paulson, especially in her many roles in American Horror Story, but I think Louise Fletcher will always be the epitome of the character for me.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/One_Flew_Over_the_Cuckoo%27s_Nest_(film)

Nomination Number Two

The Silence of the Lambs

My Reasons for the Nomination

Another one for my fellow psychology enthusiasts, Hannibal Lechter is one of the most interesting characters I have ever "met." Profiling has always fascinated me, and it was a field I had a fleeting thought to enter. Eventually I realized while I am intrigued by the dark side of human nature, I'm not well suited to live there. So I'll stick to the periphery as a voyeur, if you will.

IMG_20201202_110131901.jpg

Anthony Hopkins and Jodie Foster are spectacularly matched for both their individual roles, and to play off of each other. I did enjoy Red Dragon, as well, with Edward Norton equally engaging in his role in the series. I can watch this one over and over. And who hasn't joked around about putting the lotion in the basket or fava beans and a nice chianti on multiple occasions? Horror done exquisitely, in my humble opinion.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Silence_of_the_Lambs_(film)

Nomination Number Three

The Departed

My Reasons for the Nomination

Back to my pal Jack for the last pick! Coincidentally I don't think I would pick Nicholson as a favorite actor, but he really has had such a fantastic career and played some iconic roles. This cast is stacked with the A-team all around. Crime, drama, power, rats--Scorsese had it all in this one. Some of the mob movies are hit or miss for me, but this was definitely a hit in my book. Some parts were possibly a bit over the top or somewhat predictable, but not so much so that it didn't keep me intriqued to find out how it was all going to wrap up. This is on my list of movies where if I see it on tv, I'll stop and watch it, no matter what part of the movie I land on. With a glass of cranberry juice in hand. ;)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Departed

top3 divider 2 logo.jpg

That's all folks! The last entry for me. A fun one to end off with, but I'm sure there will be some more good posts to enjoy before the 9th. We definitely hope you get a chance to join us for one last round here in 2020! Check out the entry post to hop on in with your own picks. Plenty of good ones on the table, it will be a nail-biting dpoll for sure!




Banners by @woman-onthe-wing and @dksart

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

Sort:  

Hello clarice, slurp slurp slurp slurp! I haven’t seen the coocoos nest I’ll have to add that to my list to check out what all the fuss it’s about but it’s I am not rewatching silence of the lambs I was still pretty young at the time so it really freaked me out and those memories remain

As for the DePaaded, loved that movie it’s my go reference accent for anything @cmplxty writes! I’d happily rewatch it again and again

Haha, that Bahhston accent is pretty recognizable. You definitely have to watch Cuckoo's Nest and report back. I think I'm going to have to watch it again myself. It's probably been since high school that I've seen it!

LOL I might not be able to match the accent but I’m keen try their lobster rolls and crab cakes! I need to if the hype is real

Hahah wicked awesome bruh! The depahted was mahvelous.

I finally started watching movies here and there. I watched Avengers infinity war and end-game the other day some pretty awesome flicks. Slowly getting up to date on some of the blockbusters LOL

Lol 2020 has been a good year to catch up on movies! I am not the biggest marvel fan but those movies where one hell of a ride saw them in the cinema and it’s such a thrill ride the level of action is almsot too much

Yeah I was a little confused at how at the end of Infinity war Thor was such a fucking boss with that axe, fucking him up but in End Game he was a little flea with it. Shocked me though, but righteous that captain america started using it the hammer and axe! Was pretty ballsy lol

LOL yeah I never really understood the power dynamics now one really explains who is now more powerful its just too much going on, I guess its not the type of movie to get technical. I mean Black Panther kicked everyone's ass in Civil war and vision was all powerful in age of Altron and then they just get knocked aside in the final movies

That moment cap used the hammer there was legit people standing up and cheering in the cinema it was epic.

Hahaha I definitely gave a "fuck yeah" fist in the air when he picked that shit up successfully!

These movies are just meant for the sheer testosterone and blowing shit up, so I guess we might just be nerds now blabbering over pointless shit hahaha

You're probably right but I enjoy it none the less, always fun to debate these things. Have you seen the trailer for the new Batman movie? It looks freaking epic

Oooh, Departed. Good one. You know it's good when Scorsese did it. Did he do Usual Suspects?

I had to look that one up, but he actually didn't. You would have thought so as that is another excellent film with a great cast!

Really interesting selection. I have read, not seen One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, but not seen the movie. Silence of the Lambs, I have. Your last, not. I like the way you have a thread. Not sure I could do the same...

It doesn't always work out that way, but I tend to like patterns. I almost didn't realize I almost had a full house of Nicholson, as well. Again, three's feature constantly... ;)

Hmmm...I am going to have a hard time...

Good picks! Nice to "see" you. Still running?

Thanks! Ehh, this year has been a bit hit or miss with the running. I'm still doing most of my corporate fitness classes online, which means I actually workout with the group. Which also means sometimes I'm too tired to get a run in addition to the workouts! Plus not having races on the books tends to mean I'm less motivated, too. I'm still trying to get some runs in a few times a week since it really does lower my stress levels and I just enjoy it, but I'm trying to not get discouraged with myself for not being as well trained as I was for a while there. How about you?

It's been a fun 21 months working on Your Top 3 with you and the team! We came a long way from just chatting about our favourites to being a fully fledged contest, over run by the most fun overlord of them all - Q! 2020 does have a lot to answer for and we'll see how Q feels when he gets back from his grand adventure!

I don't think I knew that you studied Psychology, I thought it was mostly sports but maybe you mentioned at some point before and I just didn't remember (likely)! These are some interesting, psychological choices and probably Silence of the Lambs is up there as one of the best. Going to have to dig that up again and remind myself of the mind bendery :)

Crazy how the time has just flown by! I can definitely say I got a lot out of the experience, and not just because I have a better appreciation for spreadsheets. 😉

Yep, major in psych, minor in sociology. It actually comes in handy dealing with clients and trying to coach them into changing habits. I had no idea I'd become a trainer way back in school. I definitely still get intrigued by the psychological thrillers or even true crime type stuff. I still don't understand a lot of people, but at least I am a lifelong observer and learner, haha.

Posted using Dapplr

Not just that but it's probably the main reason right?! If you have managed to ditch that "pen and paper" (whatever that is) then it's been a worthwhile venture 😆

Yeah it sounds like knowing a bit more about people helps in a profession like yours and you can adapt different techniques to suit your clients persona. You're right though, there are just some people we'll never understand hey 😉

Not familiar with "The Departed," but well-acquainted with the other two. !BEER !tan

It's a good one! Probably a little adult for the girls just yet, but I imagine you'd enjoy it.

Posted using Dapplr

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)

That's a very good trio here, @plantstoplanks.

The Silence of the Lambs, in particular, is just amazing!

Thanks @wiseagent! That one definitely ranks up there with my favorites, regardless of winning an Oscar. :)

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 64000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Saint-Nicolas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
HiveFest⁵ badges available in the HiveBuzz shop
The new HiveFest⁵ Attendee badge is waiting for you