My Top 3 Favorite Video Games

in Your Top 3 Contest4 years ago


This is my second participation in the monthly contest by @yourtop3 and quiBoldte an interesting topic this month.
This brings back good memories. I used to play lots of video games. It would not be an exaggeration to say that I was quite addicted. My very first console was the following device.

.
















Source: https://i1.wp.com/www.oldschoolgamermagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/12

I don't even know the name of this console, but I used to play for hours with my brother. Contra used to be our favorite and I think we beat every version of it we could find. We were really close back then. 😶

I didn't really play other consoles and went straight to PC. I played lots of games on PC like Pokemon, Starcraft, Age oF Empires, Call Of Duty, and many many more. I like games that are competitive and have multiplayer over the internet. Back then, where I lived, the internet was not cheap, so I used to go to Gaming Cafe where we could play competitive games over LAN with other players. I made lots of friends and also spent a hell lot of money than I should at the time.
Now, the internet is cheap, I have a powerful computer, just not much time and motivation to play those games.

Enough of stories, here are Top 3 of my Favorite games

1. Dota 1 / Dota 2


Source: https://images.firstpost.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/

Without a doubt, Dota is my favorite game of all time. I actually spent 6 years of my life playing this game competitively. I still play it from time to time, but back then I was really crazy about it. It's a Multiplayer online battle arena (MOBA) where there are two teams with 5 players each on both sides. Every player chooses a character called Heroes. Each hero has their own spells and power and each has their own playing style, strength, and weakness. Each player tries their best to level up and buy/build good items as fast as they can. The aim is to destroy the opponent's base, but before that you have to face the opponent by strategically planning, executing, and coordinating with other team members. Teamwork is very important in this game

2. Counterstrike Global Offensive


Source: https://expectnothing.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/01/

I played Counterstrike at the same time as Dota. Counter-Strike didn't have good graphics back then. I don't think there are lots of people who haven't played or heard about Counter-Strike. Counter-Strike Global Offensive has really good graphics and gameplay. So basically, it's a multiplayer first-person shooter game where there are two teams, Terrorist and Counter-Terrorist. The goal of the terrorist is to plant bombs, capture hostages, and assassination. The goal of Counter-Terrorist is to prevent that from happening. Counter-Strike used to be very popular and has lost its popularity gradually as more and more games are being introduced.

3 GTA SAN Andreas


Source: https://i.ytimg.com/vi/_ezSasVcogQ/

Grand Theft Auto San Andreas will forever be my favorite among its series. It may not have stunning graphics, but for the time it was introduced, it was among the best. Its a third-person game and I'd like to think that this game popularized this type of gaming. The newer version of the series has better graphics but San Andreas is still considered the best one. It has the biggest map and the story/plot is really interesting. The characters had their own stories and the gameplay is designed pretty well. The gameplay had lots of things, from racing, action, adventure, arcade, and even sex. You could even make girlfriends, not bad for a teenage boy's fantasy back then. I don't know why but the current series of GTA seems really short. San Andreas was really big and took really long time to complete. There were many missions. The weapons were also fantastic. I really liked using jetpacks and killing people from above. Okay, I can't resist, I'm gonna download and start playing this again. 😆

So, this was my list. These are my favorite games and writing this post made me want to play them again.

If you want to join in the fun, here is how you can join.
https://peakd.com/hive-186561/@yourtop3/your-top-3-monthly-contest-june-2020-what-are-your-favourite-video-games

Sort:  

Grand Theft Auto is such a great series, nice selections

Yes, definitely. I still enjoy playing that game.

GTA SA is one of my favorites, mainly because of all the mods for it. Playing the game with mods adds so much more playability towards with new stuff.

Yes, there are lots of great and funny mods. Did you try the Street Love mod? 😆. I hope you did.

No I haven't. Might need to get the game again to try it out.

That console looks to be like a the first Playstation, but I never seen the gun for it. Very cool.

I haven't heard of DOTA but you reminded me of a computer game I played so long ago and I totally forgot about it!! Startcraft!!! OMG I lost so many hours playing that game. I loved it!

I couldn't wrap my head around GTA, there were things in there that aren't made for me lol, but I did enjoy seeing how many cops I could get to come after me before I die lol.

No, the console is way more primitive than a PlayStation.
You have mentioned League of Legends. DOTA is kind of same but better in my opinion. 😄
Starcraft is a great game. I wonder if there will be the third one. There are rumours going on though.

If it is better than I must check it out. I have to be careful though, I do have a history of game addictions..

I have only played the 3rd one but I am intrigued to see about the 2nd and curious for the 3rd. So many games to play, not enough time!

I think I found the name of that console. It is a Ty-398 and the gun is called a light gun. It was bugging me to find out what it is so I had to go on the hunt lol.

Wow, you're right that's the one 😄. It used game cards to load up new games, similar to Gameboy. Each one would cost me weeks worth of savings at that time. It was worth it though.
Yup, you might end up getting addicted to Dota as I was. It's on Steam and its free, more reasons to maybe try it out.

Oh don't tell me that! If it's a free game, I'm screwed lol.

You didn't hear that from me. 😄

Hey, it’s Q here - the mascot of the Your Top 3 Contest - just swinging by to say thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! I've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on my blog for the dpoll post!

Make sure you set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the HP and then transfer the HIVE and/or HBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @yourtop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Hive Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.011 HBD and 6.441 HIVE over to the @yourtop3 account as your entry fee. I take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to SBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

image.png

Q

image.png

Awesome to have you back this month! I've only ever heard of GTA, but always fun to hear about the memories people have with different choices. Some of those games definitely take up a lot of time if you really want to get into them, so I can see why a lot of people fall off playing them as responsibilities pile up as we age. I do remember playing GTA once or twice, but I can't remember which one it was. Might well have been San Andreas for all I know, haha.

Yeah, from 12+ hours a day gaming to 2-3 times a month now. How time has changed. If you've played GTA, I'm pretty sure its either Vice City or San Andreas.
Have a great day :)

Hmmm yes. Graphic have improved a lot since I was playing video games.

20200611 10_28_49Window.png

Cheers for sharing this, I didn't know there was such a contest. I do enjoy these posting initiatives, but alas, I'm too late for this one. I might just make my own Top 3 Games, just for fun, eh? I've already got a solid set of contenders in my head, though choosing between all those great games isn't particularly easy, I find.

I'm not much for fast-paced online games like Dota or CS:GO, but they're pretty neat games. Certainly, it's a great way to find and meet new people, while having fun in the process! I know this from my days playing Team Fortress 2... Ah, what a nice time that was, but detracted somewhat from all the pay-to-win perks and weapons that I never had.

But... I do have an extensive amount of experience with GTA San Andreas, and oh my goodness it's bringing me back memories of my childhood playing this on the PS2. I've since replayed it more than once on the PC, too. It's such a great game, with a wide-open world to just let you do whatever you want. I remembered once the game was over, I just entered a butt load of cheats and fought wave after wave in 6-star mode.

Just a friendly competition to see who can last the longest between me, and my little brother. On that note, I've been watching some interesting videos of secret missions and other ways of completing the storyline. Even after a decade of San Andreas, plus at least two dozen re-plays, I've never realised they existed. I'm going to need to replay them now...

You can always join next month. This was my second participation, which means I'm already a month old on HIVE. Yes definitely make your own top 3 Games, I know you'll have some unique choices.
I was always a bit competitive person. I don't show it outside but when I do feel it, I practice a lot. That's why I really enjoyed 6 years of my life playing DOTA and CS and really good at it. I remember my username being "Noob_tooPro4U" 😄. Cringy stuff.
It's amazing GTA has so many hidden missions and easter eggs. I really didn't know about the two variances that you linked above. Mostly I was either trying different mods or killing cops like you. I've completed the game 3 times I think. The third time I challenged myself to not use any cheat codes. Good Times :)

I remember my username being "Noob_tooPro4U" 😄.

Oh my god, you're on of those people aren't you 🤣😂?! The one that's going to snipe me from across the map a mile away, and headshot me with the starter pistol as I turn around the corner!

Indeed, it's pretty to amazing to see a game with so many different little details that I never noticed before. Modding was something that I tried a bit, before it broke the game entirely. I have tried to complete GTA without cheats though, but that's hard to do when you can just spawn a tank in the middle of a firefight. Makes things easier, and more fun 😁

Welcome back @the100 good to have you with us again.

Great post. I love the old console. I bet, for the time, it was awesome. I think Sony definitely stole the design!

I used to have GTA when it was a plan view game. I have never owned any of the others personally. My mate has all of them and I have had a go. Huge world's, Very impressive.

Good luck with the contest.

Gaz

Thanks for having me. Yeah, the old console was awesome for its time. I have some really fond sibling bondings with that console. 😄


Congratulations @the100!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

this games i killed my gold times
i wasted my life sooooooooo baaad